I’m still armchair gardening

I’ve just finished reading Of Rhubarb and Roses – The Telegraph Book of the Garden – edited by Tim Richardson which I won in Karen’s Blog Giveaway, and will be doing a review post soon.

The last article in it was Spare a thought for the gardener during the coldest months by Ursula Buchan published on 15 January 2005. In it she writes…Mr Willis, my head gardener, told me that he reckoned the days started perceptibly to draw out on January 12 (which is today). He also told her that As the days lengthen, the cold strengthens.

So far this winter has been relatively mild so be warned, and be patient.  Don’t be fooled into thinking that it’s okay to start planting and sowing.

Rhubarb already!Walking round the allotments on Thursday I noticed that the rhubarb has started to appear on a neighbour’s plot, which is way too early.

Despite being mostly mild it has, as you know, been very wet and rather windy at times. So much so that some of the plot has had the look of a chocolate blancmange about it.

I’ve also been browsing through the Chiltern Seeds catalogue. Among other things I’ve been looking for a couple of less common annual flowers that I’ve not grown before. I like the look of Omphalodes linifolia and Saponaria vaccaria, both of which are listed so I may well give them a try.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to I’m still armchair gardening

  1. Jennyta says:

    ‘The look of a chocolate blancmange’ – I like that!

  2. Chloris says:

    The soil might be like chocolate blancmange but the sun has been lovely this weekend. You are right though, it is early days and I don’t suppose we will escape winter all together. Won’t that rhubarb be all right with a bucket put over it?
    It is so hard narrowing down your choice of seeds. Those annuals sound interesting.

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris it was sunny this morning as well but now raining. I’d be surprised if we don’t get some winter weather. That rhubarb stem has now disappeared under more mulch.
      It is indeed. They do don’t they. xx

  3. Jo says:

    It’s certainly colder here today. We’ve been out all day and it’s been freezing, literally. I like the flowers you’ve mentioned, both very pretty. I’m hoping to have a good rhubarb harvest this year, there’s quite a bit already established on my new plot so I should have plenty of stems to pull.

  4. snowbird says:

    That sounds like a lovely book. It has become much colder here too today….I do hope we don’t end up with another rotten spring.
    I do like your choices, I’m ordering wildflower seeds from that catalog. xxx

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Ooh, I’m looking forward to how you and Snowbird get on with your seed choices. And hoping you’ll have a terrific growing season for them and your veggies, too.

  6. CJ says:

    Oh armchair gardening is wonderful, I love it. I got my Chiltern Seeds catalogue last week, so I shall be having a browse through that at some stage. I do like the two you’ve picked out, especially the white one.

  7. Glo says:

    How fortunate to have won Of Rhubarb and Roses book. Now you’ll just have to get a bench like the one on the book cover, and your all set for relaxing on the plot! Oh, and you’ll need a cat as well. Anticipating new seeds and all that goes with choosing them, goes along way to bring on Spring…

  8. pianolearner says:

    Your neighbour needs to get a bucket or empty compost dalek over the top of that rhubarb quickly.

  9. elaine says:

    The book sounds very good glad you enjoyed reading it.

  10. Sheds Direct says:

    It has been way to mild and way way to wet, we are paying for it now and I expect we will pay for it later with a bad cold snap on it’s way. Full of cheer aren’t I.

  11. wellywoman says:

    Chocolate blancmange is the perfect description for the state of our allotments at the moment. I have been wondering if we’ll get a cold spell. Plenty of time for it, especially given last year. Really hope plants aren’t tempted to grow too much. Look forward to reading your review on the book.

  12. Liz says:

    Oh, Flighty. Saponaria–soapwort! You’ll have to tell me if yours is well-behaved. My garden club maintains the herb garden at a local state historic site. I got carried away about four years ago and bought a soapwort plant. Soapwort is still used for cleaning fine linens and therefore a suitable candidate for a herb garden. Or so I thought. It is really pretty, with flowers not unlike phlox. But it has gone crazy and has run rampant over almost every other plant in that quadrant. I have spent hours trying to tame it, but it invariably pops up miles from where it should be. So, please tell me yours is a nice, well-mannered cultivar!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz only a few seeds germinated and grew. As you say they have pretty flowers.
      I’ve had no problems with them self-seeding and spreading like yours have. I think that yours is saponaria officinalis, a perennial, whereas mine is the annual saponaria vaccaria. xx

Leave a Reply

