I’m looking forward…

to doing the RSPB’s Big Garden Birdwatch sometime over the weekend Saturday 25th and Sunday 26th.  I’ve done it for some years now, usually from home but also at the plot a couple of times when the weather has been good.

Typically I often end up seeing fewer birds than I usually do and have only once seen a bird that I’d not seen before, or indeed since, which was a male blackcap.

I know that other friends here, such as Karen, will be doing it as well. Let’s hope that we all have a good count and see lots of birds, including something less common.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to I’m looking forward…

  1. Caro says:

    I’ve recently written about the chopped trees outside my window so I’m definitely not seeing as many birds as before! Possibly I may see birds on the Heath but the main ones there are the big black crows and I think they (and the people) scare other birds off. I’ll obviously have to go in deeper … ! Good luck with your bird count!

  2. menhir1 says:

    Let’s hope the weather is conducive to sightings xx

  3. snowbird says:

    I’m in this year too…I’ll have to make sure I have every type of seed to encourage a diverse range of birds.xxx

  4. Marc Mordey says:

    Hello and thanks for the reminder
    Hope you are well and not got washed away!
    Cheers
    Marc

  5. Damo says:

    I’ll be manning a stall at the Hampshire Potato day that weekend. Hope you have plenty of visitors!

  6. CJ says:

    I’m sure we’ll be doing it here. We made cranberry bird food at Slimbridge at the weekend (lard, seeds and cranberries, mixed together and pressed into pine cones) and I’ve hung one up so hopefully the birds will find it. It’s part of a partnership between Ocean Spray Cranberries and Slimbridge, I don’t think we’d be feeding cranberries to the birds otherwise, they’re a rare treat even for us!

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Here’s to hoping you see *more* birds this year!

  8. Jo says:

    I’ve got the date in my diary so I don’t forget. It would be lovely to see something different for a change. I’ve never seen a blackcap, you were lucky with that sighting.

  9. Many thanks for the mention, I hope you see some interesting birds during your watch. Crows tend to chase everything off here (especially the resident Heron that’s always trying to steal our fish!).
    xx

  10. wellywoman says:

    Hopefully we’ll get a chance to do it this time. We haven’t had many birds in the garden at all this year. I suppose the mild weather and plenty of food in the hedgerows has meant they’ve stayed away. I hope that’s the reason anyway. Have a great weekend.

  11. elaine says:

    I don’t think we have seen as many birds in the garden this winter but will still be giving the bird count a go.

  12. Glo says:

    Looking forward to the results of your bird count. Apparently there are 428 species of birds on Vancouver Island and I’ve just found from the same site that the London UK area has 369. Here is the site where you can choose a location to see the list of birds. http://avibase.bsc-eoc.org/checklist.jsp?region=uken07&list=clements

    • Flighty says:

      Glo me too. Goodness me that is a lot of birds! I don’t think that I’ve seen more than perhaps 25 or so here. Thanks for the link, it’s most interesting. xx

Leave a Reply

