A touch of shed envy

Since my recent Wishing everyone… post I’ve noticed that sheds have been mentioned in a few other recent blogs.

There is Something Funny in the Tool Shed is a post that new friend Chloris did last Wednesday. Her unusual blog name means Goddess Nymph of Flowers, and if you look at her blog you’ll see that’s very appropriate.

Jo didn’t have a shed on the plot that she’s just given up but there is one on her new plot. I had to smile at her comment What is it about men and sheds?

CJ has a picture in Sunset at the allotment, New Year’s Eve of her favourite shed, and I can see why she likes it so much.

Flighty's 'sentry box' shedMy own shed is, as most of you know, a sentry box in which I keep most essential tools including two each forks and spades, hoe, rake, watering can and various other assorted items.

I have to confess that I do have a touch of shed envy at times.

Combined greenhouse and shed

I don’t have a greenhouse and think that a combination like this is a great idea.

The Readersheds.co.uk is the website to look at if you’re a sheddie. Perhaps you’ll even enter yours in the Shed of the year 2014 competition.

Have a good week!

[And  E-what! was Friday’s Sofa flying post.]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to A touch of shed envy

  1. CJ says:

    What a wonderful shed and greenhouse, it’s a great idea. Yours looks immaculate inside, I love how neatly the chair fits in there. Thanks for the mention and the link. There is indeed something magical about a shed. I could do with a really nice one in the garden. In fact I’ve seen just the thing, a nice pale green/blue summerhouse-type one. I’m sure it was under £10,000 too… Aah, how nice to dream of summer days and unattainable sheds.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it sure is. Thanks. You’re most welcome. There are lots of really nice, and rather pricey ones, aren’t there. I guess we’ll just have to go on dreaming. xx

  2. Chloris says:

    Thanks for the mention Flighty. Having a small shed does force you to keep it tidy. I am very impressed at how neat it is. Anyway, I am sure you deserve a nice big shed with a greenhouse attached.. It does look rather lovely; if it was a bit bigger you could spend your holidays in it..

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris you’re most welcome. It does indeed. It’s only neat because nothing is being used at this time of year. I’ll go on wishing, and if I had one I’m not sure that I would spend my holidays in it. xx

  3. Must admit our shed is really a retreat from the bad weather in which to sit and have a coffee. It featured in this post http://glallotments.blogspot.co.uk/2010/04/shed-time-story.html on my blog. The guy in the carpet shop looked at me strangely when I said the vinyl floor covering was for the shed!

  4. Now that’s what I call a shed 🙂

  5. Debbie says:

    Oooooh I am definitely a sheddie and would love one with an integral greenhouse. Ah well I can but dream.

  6. Lovely post Flighty and thank you for sharing with us have a good and Blessed week

  7. snowbird says:

    I love the shed you chose, wouldn’t it be great to have one like that!!! I enjoyed reading the blogs you mentioned too. My shed is stuffed full of pots and Curly cat lives in the other one.xxx

  8. Sharon says:

    Gosh your tiny shed is so neat and tidy! I have a case of shed/greenhouse envy with that combination! My shed has a case of wood rot caused by bora attacking it, sigh it will have to be replaced as bora has got into the supports. Maybe it will last another year.

  9. Joanne says:

    I agree with Jo’s comments about men & their sheds. We are in the process of having a new one built & it has been a very drawn out process to get the right one.

  10. Caro says:

    I frequently succumb to shed envy, Flighty. I have no shed and no greenhouse – both would be a source of temptation for vandals (or worse) so I have to resist. I do, however, dream of having my own garden – with a greenhouse! – one day. And, I have to say, I like your sentry box shed, somehow it seems very apt!

  11. Jo says:

    Thank you for the mention and link. Your sentry box does its job, we used to have to carry everything with us when visiting the plot, at least now we can leave some things down there. There’s some really lovely sheds when you start looking, I like the one you’ve found with the attached greenhouse.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo you’re most welcome. It does indeed, although there have been a few times that I’ve wished it were bigger – a ‘tardis’ shed would be ideal. There sure are, me too. xx

  12. wellywoman says:

    No shed for us on the plot which is a pain as I inevitably forget to take something up there. I agree the shed/greenhouse combo is a great idea. I’m envious of your neat shed. My shed at home is in it’s usual state of messiness and flooded out at the moment too. I think a lot of things have soggy bottoms in there. Hoping it all dries up soon.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ I sympathise, and I’m sure that I would be forgetting things all the time. Isn’t it just. Thanks. I hope that you find all is well when it does dry out. xx

  13. Glo says:

    I must say that since reading this post and looking at the photos, I have been thinking quite seriously about the ‘shed’ in my back garden. It is supposed to be a greenhouse idea, with wavy plastic type panels on it, but it does need a good redo or replacement. It has a grape vine growing inside it that ventures out of the roof, and the rest of the shed is filled with garden supplies and empty plant pots. If one did manage to get inside, I’m not sure one could escape! The photo of the shed/greenhouse combination has tickled my fancy and I’m now going to see if I can figure out some way to acquire such a creature. I have until spring, at least, to do some more pondering. I too, have shed envy!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo that all sounds rather interesting. Good luck with whatever you decide to do and please let us know how you get on. It seems that quite a few of us have shed envy! xx

  14. nikkipolani says:

    That shed-greenhouse combo is quite fetching. But I have to say, I love how you’ve maximised every inch of your sentry shed.

  15. Liz says:

    A week for sheds! The one with greenhouse attachment is very fancy! I had a look at Jo’s and CJ’s and read Chloris funny post. Yours is as immaculate as ever.
    There is a shed at the bottom of my garden, but it is home to accumulated “stuff” and now raccoons and groundhogs and sometimes snakes have taken up residence. The dogs like to have a good sniff around, and woof. I’m rather thankful for the wild grapevine and the hazelnut trees that grow in front and disguise its presence.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz there are some wonderful sheds around that’s for sure.
      Snakes give me the heebie-jeebies so I’mm thankful that we don’t get them hereabouts. Woofing dogs and disguises make me smile. xx

Leave a Reply

