Much the same

Thanks to everyone who commented on my Wishing everyone… post, and especially to the two people who’d not commented here before. Plants journal Thanks also to those of you who sent me cards or e-cards, and a special mention to Alison, over in New Zealand, who not only sent me a card but also one of her lovely handmade journals, the cover of which shows various plants and flowers.

Chiltern Seeds 2014 catalogueThis morning I was pleased to receive the eagerly awaited Chiltern Seeds 2014 catalogue which I spend the next few days perusing before placing a small order, which will include at least one annual flower that I’ve not grown before.

I’ve no doubt that this year will be much the same on the plot as previous years,  and consequently here on the blog as well, but it’s never quite the same thankfully. I don’t make New Year’s resolutions but I’m determined, as always, to do better than I did last year.

Happy New Year!

[Click on either picture to see a larger image] 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Much the same

  1. Joanne says:

    I will be perusing seed catalogues myself, a very enjoyable January activity. Happy New year!

  2. Jo says:

    I shall look forward to hearing which new flower you’re going to grow this year. I think the thing which keeps us interested in gardening is how different each year is, even though it’s essentially the same.

  3. Chloris says:

    I love Chilterns catalogue. I always like to try something I’ve never grown before too. I’m rather taken with the one on the cover this year, Scabiousa stellata ‘Sternkugel’. I’ll be interested to know which you choose.

  4. Charlotte says:

    Happy new year, Flighty! May you have a fabulous growing year and your allotment is full to brimming with food and flowers!

  5. Have a great New Year, Flighty. I’m hoping that we have a warm spring which will lead to a lovely summer. I want lots of kindness so our bees and butterflies have a great season.

  6. Caro says:

    There’s nothing like a new seed catalogue to get the year off to a good start, is there! (Having followed your link, I’ve now ordered a copy, thank you!) I love the idea of growing something new every year; two years ago, your post about the Poached Egg plant sent me in that direction and now it self seeds every year which is great! I don’t make resolutions either but do look forward to the challenges a new gardening year brings. Wishing you and the plot well for 2014, Flighty – Happy New Year!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I’m sure that you’ll really enjoy looking at this catalogue. Me too, and just wish that I could try lots of new ones. Good for you, and there’s always plenty of challenges.
      Many thanks, and to you too. xx

  7. Glo says:

    How lovely to receive a handmade journal all the way from New Zealand 🙂 Alison has a lovely blog so thanks for the link. I can imagine that you will enjoy searching the pages of the seed catalogue. I find that they are also a great way to learn to recognize plants that are unfamiliar. Seeing all the pictures of flowers brightens up the day, I’m sure, and adds some anticipation of spring. Wet here today, and a possibility of snow around the 7th, but it will probably be just a slight covering. The ski mountains are hoping for more as some of them aren’t even open yet because of lack of snow. All the best for 2014!

  8. snowbird says:

    Ah yes….I could look at seeds forever! A guy and a gal can never have too many. What a beautiful homemade book, and what a lovely thing to do to send it all that way.
    You best hang onto your hat, I hear more storms are going to batter us tonight.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird me too. That’s true. It sure is, totally unexpected but most welcome.
      I better had, as it looks like staying very unsettled well into next week. xx

  9. Julie says:

    Yes it’s that time of the year again.. seed catalogues popping through the letter box. What a lovely journal Flighty :o) xx

  10. CJ says:

    What a lovely journal. I’ve ordered myself a Chiltern’s Seeds catalogue on your recommendation. If it ever stops raining for a couple of days in a row I may even go down to the allotment!

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it sure is. I’m sure that you’ll find it really enjoyable to look through even if you don’t order anything. I looked round mine yesterday but it’s well squelchy. xx

  11. pianolearner says:

    That journal, is so pretty. What talented followers you have 🙂

  12. wellywoman says:

    Spent the last few days making an ever longer list of potential seeds from my Chiltern Seeds catalogue. It’s a perfect distraction from the seemingly endless rain. Hope you have a great 2014, Flighty. x

  13. Happy New Year Flighty.
    We have the sun today which is a great start!!!
    I’m stunned you are so abstemeous when it comes to seed orders! That particular catalogue is like an Aladdins Cave!!

    And thank you for continuing to write your blog. It brightens my day considerably!!
    V xx

    • Flighty says:

      Vanessa and to you too. Make the most of it as it looks like there’s lots more rain and wind to come.
      Sadly with only a small flower patch on a half plot I really do have to keep myself in check when it comes to ordering seeds. It sure is.
      You’re welcome, and that’s nice to know. xx

  14. Alison says:

    Another year of planning and gardening, what to grow this year?
    All the best and happy gardening! xx

  15. Liz says:

    That is a nice-looking gardening journal all the way from New Zealand. You have poets and all sorts of craftsy people following your blog. It’s amazing to see what they do.
    Enjoy the Chilterns seed catalog.

Leave a Reply

