Tea and biscuits…

are essential for all gardeners when we stop plotting for a well earned break, or when we’re sofa flying browsing through the seed catalogues.

It’s not surprising that I often mention tea and biscuits but I have to admit that when I say a cup of tea I should really be saying a mug of tea. I guess that like most people I have an assortment of mugs, and apart from the ordinary every day ones I have a few that are a bit special.  The latest is Classic Planes ones which was recently given to me, another is a Thrive charity one and I’ve also got a proper, plain white builder’s mug. They’re all seen here, along with a run-of-the-mill blue one which I presently use. 

Flighty's mugsI drink ordinary tea, hot and strong with a dash of milk. I do also drink black coffee, nothing fancy just instant.  To go with my cup of tea I usually have a couple of biscuits, generally digestives but I’m happy to eat any kind.  My favourites are plain chocolate digestives, which I treat myself to occasionally.

On my bookshelf is a copy of Nice Cup of Tea and a Sit Downdelightful book, which I’ll often look at for ten minutes whilst enjoying my tea and biscuits.

Have a good week!

[Yesterday’s Sofa flying post was Wordy Wednesday 2.]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Tea and biscuits…

  1. VP says:

    My favourite mug is my Horatio’s Garden one which I won in a raffle at a fund raising event for the charity. It’s such a wonderful garden and it makes me smile every time I use it 🙂

  2. Harry says:

    Nice to find someone who is easy to please about the container and what goes into it….at least as far as liquid refreshment is concerned!

  3. CJ says:

    The right mug and the right tea – everyone’s is slightly different I think. I don’t have caffeine, so it’s usually Rooibos or peppermint. And I like a homemade cookie. My mugs tend to change fairly often because I’m so clumsy. The book looks interesting, I love looking at the different designs stamped into the biscuits. Custard creams, jammy dodgers, milk biscuits – all with their very own look. They’ve been like that forever it seems! Maybe that’s why everyone is so fond of them. Something that doesn’t change in a scary changing world.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ yes we’re certainly all different in our choices, thank goodness. There are times when I have to change mugs as well. Some biscuits have been around, unchanged for a very long time. I think that we could do with less changes. xx

  4. Jo says:

    I don’t often drink hot drinks, I’l occasionally have a hot chocolate and on the odd occasion, a cup of tea, but I do have a thing for mugs. I don’t like to open a cupboard and see a whole lot of matching mugs, I much prefer lots of different styles and designs. I often buy a mug as a reminder of a visit to somewhere, I have quite a few from different places in Cornwall, and I like fun ones which quirky designs too.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I know a couple of people who don’t either. Good for you, I’m the same and much prefer to see an assortment. I think that lots of people do that, and there are some really good ones aren’t there. xx

  5. Julie says:

    No tea for me can’t stand it.. I do drink black coffee though, no sugar. Decaffeinated instant mainly but I do have a coffee bean grinder and cafetiere when I fancy a proper cup… or I should say mug. My favourite mug that I drink from at the moment is one I bought from a charity shop. It’s bone china with poppies, cornflowers & daises on it, but sadly it now has a small chip on the rim. So I bought 2 more mugs on friday, again from a charity shop, these have flowers and bumble bees on them..I will change to one of these when I can bear to throw away my poppy mug. A man after my own heart, my favourite biccie is plain chocolate digestive.. but daren’t buy them too often! x

    • Flighty says:

      Julie fair enough. I’ve got some flowery ones as well. Charity shops are good places to find mugs.
      Good for you, me neither as when I do they disappear far too quickly! xx

  6. Caro says:

    What a lovely gentle post! I love all hot drinks, especially at this time of year, but it has to be a mug of tea to start the day and mugs of tea when I’m taking a break from gardening. I could give up coffee but not tea, I think! Dark chocolate digestives are also a favourite of mine, but I do like the plain ones with a spread of butter on them! V indulgent!! I have favourite mugs too but the best one I bought came from Waitrose last Christmas; a small porcelain mug with a pink rose design from Kew Gardens that I bought for my mum. She uses it every day and tells me that she thinks of me when she drinks her tea! Such a simple thing but it brings her (and so, me) a lot of pleasure.

  7. snowbird says:

    I loved the first two mugs and I’m smiling at the idea of having a cuppa and biscuits while dipping into a book called the same! xxx

  8. Sharon says:

    I love tea, I think it is in my veins! Fortunately, I dont feel the need to have bikkies with every cuppa or else I would be like a the michelin man! But I do like gingernuts, great for dunking and sucking the soft bits off! Went to that link, that book looks right up my street. Must look out for it. My favourite mug is one that my sister gave me before she moved to Aussie 4 years ago. I dont know how It hasnt chipped or dehandled itself as that is what happens to all my other mugs.
    Have a great day.

    • Flighty says:

      Sharon me too. I try not to have too many biscuits. Gingernuts have to be the best dunking biscuit. It’s a delightful book. I hope that favourite mug stays intact for you!
      Thanks, and you too. xx

  9. elaine says:

    You and your tea and biscuits! I couldn’t get through the day without several cups of tea and only rarely a biscuit – like you I have quite a selection of mugs but no current favourite – maybe father Christmas will leave me a special one!

  10. Can’t beat a good mug of tea and a biscuit. My favourite mug is large – always a good thing in my book – and has a vineyard on it, so very planty. I have recently become slightly addicted to making biscuits, so am eating far more of them than I ever used to and enjoying every mouthful!

  11. Glo says:

    A lovely tea-cosy post!

  12. Doris says:

    I like your mugs and I would say the blue one is my favourite. Hot tea or coffee with biscuits sounds delightful on a cold winter evening.

  13. nikkipolani says:

    Mmmm! A cozy hot drink with a book — and a little something to munch on. I think all you need now is Sammy to come warm your knee.

  14. wellywoman says:

    I’m drinking from a Christmas mug at the moment with a fat snowman on it. 😉 I’m also reading Kate Humble’s book which is very good. Was reading a little too late last night. *yawns*

  15. menhir1 says:

    :)) I reckoned the blue mug was your current one before I read the post! It’s a nice selection and a good number for entertaining fellow allotmenteers, at the point of taking a breathing space.

  16. I do love a cup of Rosy Lee x

  17. Liz says:

    Enjoyable post about an enjoyable topic. What would we do without our tea?!
    One post you had a few years ago had white mugs in three different sizes lined up. Now you’ve brought more out from the cupboard.
    I love my English china breakfast cup and saucer for first thing in the morning and then move on to smaller sizes. I have some Dunoon mugs with charming designs that I found on sale at a local discount store. The one beside me now has cats at play– they have upended a bucketful of apples. It’s delightful!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz thanks. What indeed!
      I remember that post, and still have those three white mugs.
      I use whichever mug comes to hand. I think that we all tend to have, and use, some favourite ones. I like the sound of your cats one. xx

Leave a Reply

