Foggy and frosty

Yesterday was foggy all day, which is a rare occurrence here nowadays. It finally cleared in the evening leaving it clear and cold overnight, so it was frosty this morning.

I had a quick look round earlier today and took these photos which show that there is still some colour to be seen.

Dripping sloe on the blackthornThere are still a handful of small, dark purple sloes on the blackthornΒ tree.

Strawberry leavesThe strawberry leaves are particularly colourful, ranging from green through red to yellow.

Dogwood rose hipsThe bright red dogwood rose hips really stand out.

The last pot marigoldAnd I found one last pot marigold Flighty’s favourites.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Foggy and frosty

  1. Jo says:

    My Flighty’s Favourites are still going strong, they’re amazing. There’s still lots of colour to be found, it must be down to the mild weather we’re having, though strong winds are forecast again for the weekend.

  2. snowbird says:

    I have one last marigold flower too, they certainly were long flowering! xxx

  3. wellywoman says:

    I heard the fog was bad over by you. We’ve had little frost but it’s that start of dank cold which gets into your bones at the moment. It is surprising how much colour is about if you just look a little bit closer. Have a lovely weekend. x

  4. CJ says:

    Beautiful rosehips. The ones in the back lane are all quite dog-eared now. It was foggy here too yesterday morning. I’ve just heard rain lashing against the window as well. An excuse to stay in tomorrow I think!

  5. Sharon says:

    Love the bright red rose hips. Could do with a bit of your cool weather, by 9.30 the heat of the sun sends you indoors here. Think we are going to be in for a long hot summer. Have a great weekend.

  6. Glo says:

    How lovely to focus on the colour you found on your plot ~ and you have spring budding there as well. Fog and frost are quite well known in this area!

  7. Glo says:

    That anonymous comment was from me ~ I forgot to put in my name! Talk about foggy! πŸ˜‰

  8. nikkipolani says:

    I love the little bursts of colour in this post πŸ™‚

  9. elaine says:

    I think because the weather has been so much milder this winter everything is hanging on longer.

  10. Julie says:

    We had a couple of frosty, foggy mornings but today it’s raining. I still have a few pot marigolds giving the garden some colour. I also have quite a few marigold seedlings…free flowers what more you ask for πŸ™‚ x

  11. menhir1 says:

    It’s great to see that there are still signs of last season’s life. πŸ™‚
    xx

  12. I love your hips and colourful stawberry leaves. I still have marigolds growing strongly, including my favourite pale yellow ones from “Flighty’s Mix”, and yesterday I did a little light pottering in weather so warm I didn’t really need a coat, let alone a woolly hat. Very strange weather, I am expecting it to change dramatically some time in January and give me some frosty days and finally finish off the marigolds and nasturtiums.

  13. Caro says:

    Reading comments above, it seems we’ve had it a little bit chillier than some – my nasturtiums have had to be pulled up but my strawberries have got lovely pink edged flowers on them! They’re in for a big shock, I think! I rather enjoyed Wednesday’s mist with the sun breaking through, it made gloomy old Camden nicely soft focus! I don’t mind a bit of frost now, it will make the run up to Christmas seem more appropriate – and next Saturday is the solstice with lengthening days. Seems to have come round quite quickly!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro some people haven’t had any frosts yet.
      It stayed gloomy here all day Wednesday. Like you I don’t mind a bit of frost.
      Yes it does, and it’ll soon be the the new year. xx

  14. Liz says:

    What lovely red rose hips!
    I remember pea soup fogs back in the 1950s. Once I had to walk in front of the car with a torch (flashlight) to guide the way along London streets. Glad those days are gone!

Leave a Reply

