On to ‘L’…

continues with my, all too occasional, Plot A to Z series of posts.

I don’t grow leeks as I’m not that fussed about them, and I do usually get given some.  However I like leek and potato soup so I suppose that I should really, and if I do they’d probably be the popular variety Musselburgh.

Then there’s the ubiquitous lettuce, of which there are four main types and lots of varieties.  If, like me, you don’t have a favourite then buy a packet of lettuce Mixed Leaves, and sow small quantities every few weeks.

Small skipper butterfly on a layia elegans flowerHoneybee on a poached egg plant flowerI grow lots of lovely flowers such as lavandula angustifolia (lavender), layia elegans Tidy Tips, limnanthes douglasii (poached egg plant), linaria maroccana, and lychnis coronaria (Rose campion).

The one flower that I do cut for home is lathyrus odoratus (sweet pea), which many people grow on the allotment or in the garden. Next year I’ll be growing the fragrant varieties Hunter’s Moon which is deep cream, and the dark blue Old Spice Lord Nelson.

LadybirdInsects that are always good to see on the plot are ladybirds, although there weren’t many about this year.

Have a good week!

Thanks to Glo (Porcelain Rose) for this award for this post

L is for... Award

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to On to ‘L’…

  1. Caro says:

    The way you put it, Flighty, the flowers are a much better bet than veg for your L series! I agree with you about leeks, I don’t eat them often enough to grow them but do enjoy them chopped into a shepherd’s pie or soup. Sweet peas are such a joy to grow – I’ve grown Hunter’s Moon, it came up tinged with pink which was delightful! Oh, you’ve got me all excited about growing sweet peas next year now – and I’ve still to clear the nasturtiums from this year! Have a good week! Cx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro it is a bit uneven isn’t it. It seems that leeks are a so-so vegetable.
      It’s always good when someone has grown a variety that I’ve not tried before like these sweet peas.
      Thanks, and you too. xx

  2. CJ says:

    Great “L”s, I’ll be trying leeks and sweetpeas next year. I’ve heard that the poached egg plants are excellent for insects as well, so I might look out for some of them.

  3. Sharon says:

    I love leeks and grow them every year, I had forgotten all about poached egg plant, thanks for the reminder. Have a great week.

  4. Jo says:

    I love leeks and I did sow some this year but I never got them planted out at the allotment. I’m regretting that now. Both those sweet pea varieties sound lovely, I look forward to seeing them next year.

  5. menhir1 says:

    Not quite an alphabet soup! xx

  6. snowbird says:

    I saw a ladybird today while in the garden, maybe because it’s so mild at the moment. I do love a poached egg plant, I have little seedlings everywhere.xxx

  7. I love leeks, but TNG isn’t keen so I don’t bother to grow them either – the flowers, on the other hand, all deserve space in any garden. Lovely post Flighty!

  8. gaiamethod says:

    I’m still trying to find leek seeds here in Luxor!!! I know they grow them…
    The flowers are beautiful.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    What a luxurious list of lovelies. Did you have a good crop of sweet peas this year? Nice of your plot neighbors to share.

  10. Glo says:

    Hi Flighty ~ I had hoped to include a link to a Lovely Award for this lovely post, but so far it’s still running around in my brain. You did very well with your L’s ~ of course Lounging would be on your other site. 🙂 Soon…

    • Flighty says:

      Glo that’s okay, it’ll be much appreciated when you do it. By the way we do, of course, all ‘lawn lounge’ here, which I completely forgot to mention! xx

  11. wellywoman says:

    Leeks are one of the few winter veg I bother with. Last year they were badly damaged by leek moth and I ended up with none that we could eat. This year they have been shrouded in enviromesh which has worked. Really like the sound of that Old Spice sweet pea.

  12. Liz says:

    I’m following the parade of leek-lovers, although I don’t grow them. Leeks have such a delicate flavor and make a wonderful, subtle addition to soups, stews, savory tarts, almost anything I can think of!
    The weather in Kentucky is so variable that sweet peas are an iffy proposition. We so often go straight from cold, damp winter into oppressive heat and the pretty annual sweet peas just can’t cope. Same with edible “English peas.”
    Lavender, lovely lavender. That is another plant that occasionally has problems here. I can have a shrub that goes gangbusters for years and then for no apparent reason it dies (usually after a particularly harsh winter.)

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I don’t grow leeks as I’m not not fussed about them.
      It’s a shame that you can’t grow sweet peas.
      The blue lavender really attracts the butterflies, which is why I have some. xx

Leave a Reply

