The compost heap…

is, undeniably, one of the most important components of any allotment or garden. Mine comprises four upright pallets tucked away between the shed and the blackberry bush.

Compost bin between shed and blackberry bushI really end the plotting season with the compost heap as anything to go on it now I’ll put into old plastic compost bags which will start the new heap off in the spring. The foliage under the blackberry bush on the right are all the pot marigolds which I’ve been pulling up over the past few weeks, which will also go onto the new heap.

There are only a few things that I don’t add to my heap, such as blackberry and rose prunings, blighted potato and tomato plants and cooked food.  Just about everything else does, and I don’t bother to fork it over.  Here’s the excellent Garden Organic webpage on How to make compost.

Come late February or early March, if the weather is okay and the ground isn’t soggy, I’ll empty it out onto the plot using a borrowed wheelbarrow. That really will be the start of next year’s plotting season.  When I do I’ll no doubt have a robin keeping me company. This is the one I mentioned last Sunday perched on top of the bamboo canes singing away.

Robin perched on the bamboo canes

Tuesday’s Sofa flying blog post was Current reading November 2011.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to The compost heap…

  1. Everything seems nice and tidy,Flighty. I am presuming that is not a real fox posing for the camera.:)

  2. Jo says:

    I really need to give my compost bins some attention, they need sorting and emptying. That’s a lovely photo of the robin, he looks a well fed chap, I bet he hangs round the allotment waiting for worms.

  3. Joanne says:

    The fox does look real? My bins are full so we have had to start a pile on one of the veg beds. Several turnings will be needed I think.

    • Flighty says:

      Joanne he was given to me by Mary, a plot neighbour, when I took the plot on and he’s been resident ever since. It sounds like you’ve plenty of compost on the go. xx

  4. nikkipolani says:

    Sounds like you’ve got a good system for your compost needs. And cute chubby birds to accompany you all the way!

  5. glo says:

    Lovely to see the robin, and it must be a good feeling to know that the compost is preparing itself for next year’s plotting.

  6. Doris says:

    I love that sweet little Robin. 🙂

  7. snowbird says:

    Lol, glad to see Junior is taking care of everything. What an adorable little robin, they are such cheeky birds aren’t they….xxx

  8. Mark Willis says:

    I concur: compost is the mainstay of my garden’s nutrition too. I usually distribute the finished compost from my bins during the Christmas holiday, so that it has time to be worked into the soil by worms etc. I hope the weather during the holiday period allows this to happen…

  9. menhir1 says:

    Little birdie seems to be comfortable on the plot, or does it just seem that way because of the variety of pictures here?

    You get an awful lot of therapeutic activity and time at the plot, also, the fruits of your labours. It is interesting what can be done in a confined area with a certain amount of thought and planning. xx

  10. CJ says:

    The robin photo is fantastic, well done you for capturing it so perfectly. There was one following me at the allotment on Tuesday, but I didn’t get a decent shot at all. I love the plot photo as well, I always like a view of other people’s plots. The compost heap made from pallets is a great idea.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ thanks. I was lucky as they can often be difficult to get good photos of. It’s nice to know that you like the plot photo. The other good thing about using pallets is that they last for years. xx

  11. Isn’t compost wonderful? I love that waste turns into plant food, and with no effort from me at all – apart from occasionally mixing in some cardboard or paper if it is getting a little sludgy.

  12. elaine says:

    Like you I will be spreading my compost before the start of the planting season – it always amazes me that all the old rubbish can turn into something so useful – p.s. I still have marigolds flowering but the nasturtiums have now hit the dust.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine well done, it amazes me as well. I just have a couple of pot marigolds still flowering, but the nasturtiums went mushy after a really frosty night. xx

  13. Carlie says:

    So lovely to see the Robin. What a great photo x

  14. Sharon says:

    That Robin is lovely, I have a tame blackbird that follows me around waiting for me to turn up worms. The photo of the plot is great and I love the baby fox, he looks so real. Compost is gold!
    Sharon

  15. A truly beautiful picture of your Robin Flighty. Well done for capturing him at just the right moment. xx

  16. Liz says:

    “Black gold” is a good description of compost. One of the best Christmas presents I was given one year was a 3-tier bin which can be moved, tier by tier, to permit access to the compost within. There are vents all around and a lid with holes for aeration.
    Do you gather your bamboo canes at the end of the season and tie them together? That is the impression I get from the robin perch.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz all gardens and plots should have a compost heap. That’s a proper gardener’s present!
      Yes I do. The six and eight foot canes stand tied up next to shed, which are what the robin is perching on and the shorter ones go in the shed. xx

Leave a Reply

