This year, next year

A shadow selfie!Although it’s been rather chilly it has remained dry over the past few days so I’ve been doing the last plotting for this year. As you can see from this shadow selfie picture the three vegetable patches are now virtually clear and have been dug over.

Next year in the top area I’ll be growing sweetcorn, tomatoes and onions. The middle area is for all the beans – broad, dwarf and climbing French and runner. The bottom area is for the potatoes.

The flower patch is also clear although I do leave the old love-in-a-mist stems.  Around the dustbin lid pond this picture shows some of them at the top left, new poached plants which are light green and over on the right the collomia grandiflora all of which have self-seeded and started growing again.

Around the dustbin lid pond

This year's plot robinIt was nice to have this year’s robin keeping me company for much of the time. It was mostly perched on top on the bamboo canes, that are now upright and tied up next to the shed, singing away or tending to hide in the blackberry bush or hawthorn.

This is one of the two clumps of crocosmia that are still providing interest as the leaves change colour.

Crocosmia leaves

Matthew Appleby, The Allotment Planner author, kindly made a comment on that post. In the Guardian a couple of days ago he did this article which will be of interest to anyone who does carry on winter plotting.

Have a good week!  

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]    

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to This year, next year

  1. Love the crocosmia foliage Flighty, it really does add a dramatic touch, and so many lovely seedlings to provide colour next year too. Am very impressed at how tidy your plot is looking, I haven’t even cleared my courgettes and sweetcorn yet!

    • Flighty says:

      Janet me too, it really catches the eye in the sunlight. Thanks, I’ve been lucky with the amount of time that I’ve been able to spend plotting which makes all the difference. xx

  2. Jo says:

    I haven’t even started getting my plot ready for winter. Family commitments have taken precedence just lately and the allotment has been neglected but I’m hoping to get on with it very soon. How lovely to have a little robin watching you work, and very kind of Matthew Appleby to leave a comment on your review post.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo never mind it could even be left over the winter if need be, although I’m sure that you will get it ready beforehand. The robin has only appeared during the past week. Yes Matthew’s comment was much appreciated. xx

  3. menhir1 says:

    The plot is at rest, a repose to gather strength for next year’s blooms.

    It is interesting see hear and to see how much longer you can carry on gardening where you are, in comparison to where I am. Any tidying I did, was completed at the beginning of the month, when the weather permitted. Even the last garden refuse collection for the season has been and gone.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir both the plot and myself!
      Having plenty of dry weather has made all the difference. Had it been wet, and the plot soggy, it would have been a very different story. xx

  4. nikkipolani says:

    How nice to get a comment from the author himself. I’ve been tidying up this weekend as well, though not nearly as much as you have with your planting beds all ready for the winter.

  5. elaine says:

    As usual you have been working hard to get your plot tidy – nice to see so many seedlings – I know your flowers give you so much pleasure – have a good week.

  6. CJ says:

    It’s all looking very neat and tidy Flighty. I have a robin watching me whenever I’m at my plot too, they are so attentive, always looking for grubs. Quite fearless as well. I shall have to make a big effort to find the time to get my plot a bit more in order. I don’t think I’ll ever have an immaculate one though. But so long as there’s fruit and veg, that’s enough.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ thanks. It’s always pleasing to have a robin around. I think that a productive plot is far more important than an immaculate one. I’m just lucky enough to have the time to keep it looking reasonable. xx

  7. Joanne says:

    It looks very neat, mine is looking rather tatty but that can’t be helped. I had a rather fat robin in the garden the other day, probably puffed up his feathers with the cold but it looked happy. Such cheerful looking birds I always think.

    • Flighty says:

      Joanne thanks, I wouldn’t worry about it looking a bit tatty. Yes they do that in cold weather, and look very roly-poly don’t they. They are indeed. xx

  8. Hi Flighty, Rather jealous of your robin. I’ve hardly seen any birds in the garden yet. Although the feeder is topped up. They must still be enjoying all the food in country! Plots looking in good shape for the onset of winter. I’ve managed to get back to blogging after a break, so pop over and check the garden out, it’s been a while! All the best, Steve

    • Flighty says:

      Steve hello, it’s good to see you commenting again. It’s a shame that you see so few birds in your garden. Thanks, the dry weather has certainly help.
      I’ll stop by your blog later on and have a nosy round the garden. Cheers.

  9. snowbird says:

    Lovely to see all your beds prepared for spring, and that little robin is adorable. I have poached egg plant seedlings too, I’ve popped some in the greenhouse in case of foul weather. How nice to have the author respond.xxx

  10. annie_h says:

    Hi Flighty, you are definitely ahead of me in getting your plot cleared for winter. I’m struggling to find the time as so weather dependent now its dark at night. I’ll get there though. Must be satisfying so that you can now relax and have a break over the winter. Good that you are already planning for next years crops.

    • Flighty says:

      Annie being retired gives me plenty of time to spend plotting. I sympathise with people like yourself who are time limited and weather dependent. It is, but I shall still potter pound most days. Thanks. xx

  11. glo says:

    The author’s shadow adds to the plot ~ missing a deer stalker hat, though 😉

  12. Liz says:

    Now Glo has a double entendre. Does she mean plot as in allotment, or plot as in storyline? Or both?!
    Your poached egg seedlings reminds me that, along with the Jersey kale, the seed company (in Oregon), sent a mixture for a pollinator garden that includes poached egg plant seeds. We shall see. . .

Leave a Reply

