On and off plotting

Much of last week was dry and sunny but rather chilly in the wind. Even so I did some plotting a few mornings once it had warmed up slightly. I tidied up the strawberry patch which had disappeared under lots of pot marigolds back in the summer, and dug up the dahlia Caribbean Sunset which has put such a colourful display this year.

On Thursday I planted some white perennial cornflowers (Centaurea montana Albawhich I’d bought. I already grow the blue one but really like the look of this one.  Another white cornflower that I’ll be growing next year is the annual centaurea cyanus Snowman, the seeds of which I shall sow direct in the spring.

The recent cold and damp weather has finished off the last of the flowers with just these nerine bowdenii left to linger on for a while.

Nerine bowdenii

Following on from Thursday’s post The Allotment Planner Glo (Porcelain Rose) did this hilarious post Camp-a-Plot which made me laugh out loud. I emailed the link to Jessica at Aurum Publishing who said the same, and added that it was the first time that she’d seen a poem about any of their books.

Glo has just also given me this award for the I, J and K… post that I did back in April.  I see that I started these Plot A to Z occasional series of post three years ago and haven’t yet reached halfway!  Hopefully I shall do a few more over the coming months when I’ll be doing fewer plotting posts.

The week ahead looks like staying dry, but cold with temperatures only a few degrees above zero and feeling even colder.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to On and off plotting

  1. CJ says:

    Beautiful nerines, I’ve seen a few lately and been trying to remember what they’re called. The colour is so unexpected in autumn. I loved Glo’s poem, it’s funny and clever. The idea of camping at the allotment scares me a bit though, I think I read too much crime fiction. I’m quite jumpy down there at dusk as it is!

    • Flighty says:

      CJ I can never remember the name of them. Glo certainly has a delightful way with words. I was going to set my crime mystery on the allotments, perhaps next year. I don’t blame you I wouldn’t want to camp on mine. xx

  2. Jo says:

    Glo’s poem is so funny, I wouldn’t fancy camping out on my plot. The weather has certainly turned much colder here over the last week, though we had a lovely day yesterday, it was quite mild and perfect for a walk.

  3. Caro says:

    I was out tidying up the strawberries yesterday, Flighty, and came across a very active ladybird! I now think it best to leave well alone and let the ladybird find a home for the winter. I won’t get much done now in the veg garden until next weekend (due to work) so I hope it stays dry until then! My nasturtiums are all still going strong but will be knocked back by the cold weather very soon so I’m off to gather the seeds today … and yesterday I managed to get my tulips planted with the help of some neighbours! All in all, a very good weekend! Wishing you a good week!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I’ve seen a few lately as well. Lucky you with the nasturtiums, I guess that you’re more sheltered than my rather exposed plot. Well done with the tulips. It looks like we both had a good weekend. Thanks, and you too. xx

  4. wellywoman says:

    Centaurea montana alba is a favourite of mine too. The pink of your nerine is stunning – definitely on my list of plants to grow in the future. It’s been nice to have a much drier week and I’ve made progress with the tulip planting but still more to go in. Just hoping the snow doesn’t come to anything. Have a good week and stay warm. x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly as you’ve mentioned before. Grow nerines in a pot, where they generally do better. Good luck with the tulips. I hope so to, it’s much too early for snow. Thanks, you too and I sure will. xx

  5. snowbird says:

    I love the colour of that Nerine….It’s a great time now to plan for the spring, I always end up with far too many seeds. I must sort my strawberries too.
    Lovely to hear of your award, and that post of Glo’s was wonderful.xxxx

  6. Hannah says:

    The nerine bowdenii, is so pretty! I managed to pick some very leggy looking Sweet Peas yesterday, I don’t have the heart to clear them yet.

  7. Glo says:

    Thanks for the links to my blog Flighty ~ very good of you to share the fun and laughter ~ even with the publisher of the book! Glad to hear you are out and about and not strictly stuck to the sofa writing your novel.
    Thanks to your readers for leaving such kind comments about my posts. Sharing smiles is one of my greatest pleasures.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo you’re most welcome, and I’m always happy to do so. I like to get out most days if I can.
      They’re all lovely folk aren’t they. That sounds good to me. xx

  8. NorthernTeacher says:

    Hi Flighty – must try and get hold of some white perennial cornflowers as they are gorgeous!
    Best, Jane

    • Flighty says:

      Jane hello, I think that J Parker list them in their catalogue. Otherwise look at the RHS link for it which shows suppliers. I’ve never seen them for real but they look as you say, gorgeous. xx

  9. Sounds like a good plotting session, I like the sound of the white perennial cornflower too. Wonder if my nasturtiums are still looking as healthy as they did yesterday, it certainly got a lot colder last night, though no snow here.

  10. nikkipolani says:

    Mmmm, plotting with vibrant colours to delight your eyes. Wonderful.

  11. Liz says:

    What a hilarious post from Glo, with all the camping equipment pictured and the poem to accompany it! All courtesy of an Advanced Reader Copy (ARC — they are called here) of The Allotment Planner!

Leave a Reply

