The Allotment Planner

The Allotment PlannerA few weeks ago I was delighted to receive an email from Jessica at the Aurum Publishing Group asking if I’d like to read and review a copy of this book by Matthew Appleby.

On receipt I found that it’s an A5 sized hardback with solid covers that have rounded corners, which is a nice touch. It’s a book that despite being often used should stand the test of time and not fall apart.

I’ve always said than I’m a fun gardener so I knew on reading Alys Fowler’s introduction that I’d enjoy this book as she starts off –This book is an irreverent look at keeping an allotment. Despite all it’s tongue in cheek cynicism, there are very good ideas here…

The book subtitle is More than 200 ways to enjoy your plot month by month and includes such diverse sections as Grow something new to eat, Camp on your plot, Gardening by the moon and Guerrilla garlanding in winter.

I think that this is the first gardening book I’ve read that includes a section about blogging and tweeting. It’s titled Share your plot with the world where it suggests starting a blog on WordPress, and also joining Twitter.

This was a most enjoyable book to read,  has plenty of good pictures, includes monthly diary pages and has a full index.  I know that it’s a book that I will take off the shelf time and again in years to come. It’s also the perfect companion book to Cleve West’s excellent Our Plot which is a touch more serious, and is from the same publishers.

Don’t just take my word what a really good book this is as other plotting blog friends including Jo over on The Good Life and Karen, The Garden Smallholder have also done excellent reviews.

To order The Allotment Planner at the discounted price of £12 including p & p* (RRP £14-99) telephone 01903 828503 or email orders@lbsltd.co.uk and quote the offer code APG34. Alternatively send a cheque made payable to Littlehampton Book Services Mail Order Department, Littlehampton Book Services, PO Box 4264, Worthing, West Sussex, BN13 3RB. Please quote the offer code APG34 and include your name and address details. (* UK only, please add £2-50 if ordering from overseas).

Happy reading, and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to The Allotment Planner

  1. CJ says:

    It is a nice book, I was lucky enough to win Jo’s giveaway, and it arrived a couple of days ago. I love Cleve West’s book as well, it’s one of my favourites. I remember you mentioning that you’d read it too. I just wish my plot looked like his…

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it should you give lots of ideas for your plot for next year. I’m not surprised that Cleve West’s book is one of your favourites as it’s one of mine as well. Me too… xx

  2. Jo says:

    I’ve really enjoyed reading my review copy and can recommend it too. It’s a book that I’ll keep dipping it to, there’s so many ideas in it. Thanks for the mention and link.

  3. Almost makes me wish I still had an allotment Flighty! It may be the first book you have read that talks about social media and gardening, but I bet it isn’t the last.

  4. snowbird says:

    It does sound like a smashin’ little book!xxxx

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Nice to have a sturdy book that’s meant to be used and enjoyed again and again. So is camping on your lot even permissible??

  6. Glo says:

    Hey Nikki! ESP going on here! Camping indeed! Well, there will be a posting on my blog all about this little book, what happened next, and deja vu….;)

  7. Glo says:

    It’s me again ~ Here’s a belated Award for I, J, K of Plots A to Z

    • Flighty says:

      Glo hello again, and many thanks for this award. There was a recent comment on that post, so what with that and this I must think about doing the next one. xx

  8. elaine says:

    sounds very interesting – I particularly like the idea of guerilla garlanding whatever that may be

  9. wellywoman says:

    Sounds like a great read, Flighty and glad you enjoyed it. I agree it’s good to see a book cover social media in relation to gardening. Have a great weekend. x

  10. Caro says:

    Thanks for this review, Flighty – you’ve highlighted several sections that have piqued my interest! I recently came across a copy of Our Plot in a charity shop which was my good luck – how could anyone give away such a great book! I’ve seen The Allotment Planner at a discount from an online book club so I’ll be ordering a copy for my own christmas stocking!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro my apologies I missed replying to your comment! You’re most welcome, and I hopefully chose some less obvious sections. Lucky you, that is a terrific book and one of my favourites. Buying this one as a Christmas present for yourself is something I would have done had I not got this review copy. I’m sure that you’ll really enjoy reading it. xx

  11. I enjoyed your review, many thanks for linking to mine x

  12. Matt Appleby says:

    Thanks for kind comments. Book featured in Guardian today with 10 winter plot ideas.

  13. Liz says:

    Your review of The Allotment Planner makes it sound like a good investment for plotters.
    Glo’s IJK award is great. From a much earlier blog of yours I ordered a packet of Jersey kale from an Oregon nursery and am looking forward to see if I get a walking stick from it!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz it’s a good book but there are probably better ones for serious plotters.
      Glo’s awards are always good, and much appreciated. Good luck, I’ve tried twice without much success. xx

Leave a Reply

