Books, carrots and comments

The Allotment Planner by Matthew ApplebyLast Monday I got an email from Jessica at The Aurum Publishing Group asking if I’d like a copy of The Allotment Planner by Matthew Appleby to read and review here.  I replied yes please and look forward to receiving it.

Of Rhubarb and Roses edited by Tim RichardsonKaren, The Garden Smallholder, emailed me on Tuesday to say I’d won her blog post book giveaway.  That book is also published by Aurum and I received it on Friday. I will do a review post when I’ve had a proper look through it.

Thursday was a glorious day so late morning I went to the plot and dug up the last of the vegetables. Regular readers will know that I don’t have much luck with carrots but a few that I sowed at the end of June actually germinated and grew.  They’re not that brilliant as some have been affected by carrot fly but they’re better than nothing.

Carrots.

Late October nasturtiumsMany thanks to everyone for your comments on last Thursday’s post, they’re all much appreciated.

I was pleasantly surprised to see this comment made yesterday on a post that I did back in August 2009.

It’s blowy, bright and mild this morning so I went for a potter round, and found that the nasturtiums are still doing well.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

[Last Friday’s Sofa flying post was Wearing a poppy with pride ]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Books, carrots and comments

  1. Mark Willis says:

    Today seems like a good day for reading a book. The big storm is brewing, and I’ve tidied up the garden as much as possible to minimize damage, but there’s a limit to what one can do. An 80mph wind will have no trouble shifting my flowerpots!

    • Flighty says:

      Mark it was, and today as well. It’s been wet and windy here but I won’t venture to the plot until tomorrow to see what it’s like. Nor plenty of other things!

  2. Perfect timing, collecting two books to read just as the gardening year is slowing down. Congrats on the carrots, any home grown ones are welcome, even if a supermarket would reject them as imperfect! All my nasturtium flowers are hidden by foliage. Don’t know if that is the type of nasturtium or where they are growing, but very irritating, they would otherwise be providing a river of red and orange across one of my vege beds! Hope your plot isn’t damaged by the storms.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet they’ll certainly keep me happy for a while. Thanks, and I agree. Some of my nasturtiums are the same, including the deep red one that I like. I hope so too, and I shall see tomorrow. xx

  3. Lovely post Flighty it been a bit stormy around here as well many thanks for sharing planted 2 grapevines that I was sold as gooseberry canes fingers cross we get some nice fruit in two years time self pollinating ones

  4. nikkipolani says:

    Now that’s a book you’re sure to review! Based on the cover, it looks like it’d be an informative and beautiful book. Couldn’t happen to a nicer plotter 😉 Glorious autumn days are not to be missed. Glad you could be out in it.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I got the copy of The Allotment Planner this morning and from just reading the first line I think that I’m really going to enjoy reading it. Thanks. Indeed not. Thanks. xx

  5. NorthernTeacher says:

    Hi Flighty 🙂 Belated b-day wishes! Lovely for you to have two new books to read. Been battening everything down – very blowy here as everywhere else it seems. No sign of any birds today and I don’t blame them. Lots of ladybirds crawling around things though.

    • Flighty says:

      Jane hello, and thanks. It sure is. The biggest problem I’ll have on the plot is flying debris from other plots. I’m not surprised. I’m seen some as well over the past week or so. xx

  6. Christine Ashby says:

    Gift books are always welcome don’t you think? I hope you enjoy yours and look forward to reading your reviews in time.

  7. CJ says:

    Your carrot harvest looks exactly like mine. Impossible to know where the other three rows I sowed went. Hope you have a nice time sofa flying with your new books. Nothing so nice on a cold, wild, dark evening.

  8. elaine says:

    Enjoy your armchair plotting and hold on to your hat

  9. snowbird says:

    Looking forward to your reviews Flighty, now is certainly the time to curl up with a good book or two. Your carrots are similar to mine.xxxx

  10. Jo says:

    I’m being sent the same book to review, I’m looking forward to receiving it. I bet those carrots are delicious, I think home grown don’t just taste more carroty than bought ones, they smell more carroty too. I’ve just ordered some nasturtium seeds for next year. I’d seen Peach Melba on a blog or two and liked the look of them, so they’ll be growing around my garden and allotment next year. Hope the storm didn’t hit too hard where you are, just lots of rain here.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I received my copy this morning and it looks really good. I agree about the carrots. Good for you, I’ve grown Peach Melba before. There’s been lots of rain and wind but otherwise not too bad thankfully. xx

  11. wellywoman says:

    Hope you and the plot have got through the stormy weather OK. I never have much luck with carrots thanks to carrot fly. They are one crop I would love to be able to grow well but the allotments are riddled with carrot fly. They have even survived minus 17C so I have given up trying. Yours look so much better than anything I have ever managed to grow. Looks like some great books there for a spot of winter reading. :))

    • Flighty says:

      Welly I’m glad to say that me and the plot are both okay, thankfully. That’s the problem on our site as well, I will keep trying though. I’ve had a quick browse through both books and it looks like I’m really going to enjoy reading them xx

  12. Glo says:

    Very colourful ~ I bet those carrots tasted nice and crunchy and congratulations for harvesting them. Everything is looking good, and hope you enjoy the books…although very soon it is time to get the words rolling off your pen and onto paper! Good luck with that as well.

  13. Alexandra says:

    Wow, what a lovely comment to receive on your post. That is indeed a beautiful poem. And so very true 🙂

  14. VP says:

    Looks like the internet knew it was your birthday last week 🙂

    xx

  15. Caro says:

    Some carrots are better than none, I agree! And lovely to find them unexpectedly! I get a lot of pleasure from anything that’s still growing in the garden at this time of year because I know it will soon be gone. I like the look of the Allotment Planner book and will look forward to your review – happy reading! Tea and biscuits, ahoy!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I’m determined to do better with carrots next year. Me too.
      Thanks,the book is proving as good as it looks, and I hope to do a review post next week. Most definitely! xx

Leave a Reply

