A rather seedy post

Over the coming months gardeners will be drawing up seed lists and browsing catalogues, which will certainly help us get through the winter in preparation for next spring.

Having only a small plot I only need small quantities of vegetable seeds so I usually buy most, if not all, from MoreVeg. All I need for next year, along with a few flower seeds, will only cost me just over £10 post paid.

I always look forward to receiving Chiltern Seeds catalogue during December more to read rather than for what I’ll order from it.

We all have seed suppliers that we like and buy from. One I came across recently that I’ve not so far used is Seedaholic, whilst I was looking at Centaurea cyanus Snowman.

As well as buying seeds I have plenty that I didn’t use this year, and also a lot of annual flower seeds that I’ve collected recently.

I’m sure that I’m not alone when I say that I keep changing my mind. A while ago I mentioned that next year I would probably grow the tall sunflower varieties Earthwalker and Moonwalker, but now I think I’ll grow Autumn Beauty and Music Box Mixed instead.

I never cease to marvel at the fact that I sow seeds which just a few months later have grown to produce beautiful flowers and tasty vegetables.

It started wet here this morning, with thunder and lightning, and there’s rain forecast for most of the coming week so I guess that I won’t be doing  much, if any, plotting.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to A rather seedy post

  1. I save my own tomato seeds as I know they will grow well.I bought a few packets of veg seeds in Aldi for cheaper when they were selling them off.And I buy some from a local seed merchant online as they are heirlooms.So, all in all, I think I have enough for next year.Hope the weather improves, it’s very wet here too !

    • Flighty says:

      Cath good for you. I think that most people do as you do and buy from various places. Are you really sure that you have enough? I hope so too, it’s another wet day here. xx

  2. Jo says:

    I haven’t heard of Seedaholic, I shall click the link and take a look. I’ve got most of the seed I need for next year, as you know, I usually buy in the 50p sale at the end of the season. It’s just things like parsnip which I buy at the start of the season, things which don’t grow well from old seed. It’s bright and sunny here today, but a bit breezy. It makes a change from dull and drizzly.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I hadn’t either until recently but it’s a good website as you’ll see. That’s a good way to buy seeds if you can. Lucky you, it was wet here, and is again today. xx

  3. Lovely post again Flighty I have a brief case full of mixes flower but mainly vegetable seed plus those that come from my monthly mag that comes through the post so my main thing to do over the winter is to get the glass in the greenhouse 30 panes in all and make 3 more raised beds so fingers crossed I should be ready for the new growing season

  4. elaine says:

    I haven’t even begun to think about next year yet! I quite enjoy going through all the seedpackets that I have already to see what is needed, I don’t think I will need much as I bought a lot when Wilko were selling them cheap – I’m such a skinflint!

  5. snowbird says:

    I just love seeds too Flighty and like you I’m always in awe of how seeds, especially tiny seeds grow into such huge flowers like foxgloves. Miraculous it is.xxxx

  6. CJ says:

    I do love looking at seed catalogues and dreaming. I do try to be a bit restrained, but I usually end up with more varieties of tomato than I mean to. I’m trying to be practical now though – I’ve learned a few lessons as to what will actually be enjoyed and what won’t. So no chillies next year!

  7. Caro says:

    Ah, the seed catalogues are my downfall, Flighty! Even if I’m decided on what to grow, if I see an attractive plant (veg or flowers) in the catalogues, I find it hard to resist! I’ve already succumbed to a few packets from garden visits and shows – more sweet peas which I’ll be sowing indoors this week – and, coincidentally, some shorter bronze red sunflowers as I found the ‘earthwalker’ just too tall for my little veg garden! Recent purchases will go into my huge seed box but I also have some saved broad bean seeds which will be sown soon (but not in the forecast rain!) Wishing you a good week too! Caro xx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro surely they’re everybody’s downfall. I’m sure that anyone reading your comment will be nodding in agreement.
      It sounds like you’ve already got lots to look forward to next year. Thanks. xx

  8. I love the Chiltern Seeds catalogue too, a great way to dream, particularly on a wet and windy day like today. Seedaholics are good, but I use Real Seeds more and more they have interesting varietites and lots of information about saving your own seed too. This is the time of year that I start making really long lists of far too many things that I have no room to grow. Hopefully I make it a lot smaller before I actually order any new seed, and I don’t think I will need much for next year. Still, always fun to read about new veg and flowers to grow.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet I find that I refer to it regularly all year. Real Seeds are another company well worth a mention.
      I’m smiling at what you say about long lists, etc. It sure is. xx

  9. Sharon says:

    I am a seedacholic! I have two tins of seeds and still cant keep away from seed stands in nurseries and seed catalogues. Great bedtime reading when suffering insommia!

  10. Flighty says:

    Sharon I’m sure that most gardeners are, even those who don’t admit it. I only have one tin. I agree, and I often read one if I wake up during the night. xx

  11. Glo says:

    Speaking of seeds, and the ones you sent me…the pot marigolds are still blooming and I’ve picked off the seeds of the dried up ones. It’s amazing how many types of sunflowers there are! You’re right ~ seeds are miraculous!

  12. wellywoman says:

    Seed catalogues are so exciting. So many possibilities and temptation. :0 I like the Organic Gardening catalogue. Sarah Raven’s are good too. Some things are pricey but there’s a good variety and some plants you wouldn’t find elsewhere and if nothing else the photos are stunning and help me through the gloom of winter. Oh the rain! Too much of it here. I do hope we aren’t in for one of those wet, mild winters.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly they certainly are, and help us all through the winter gloom.
      Same here. I went to the plot this morning as I hadn’t been since Thursday. Not surprisingly it’s looking rather forlorn and soggy. I hope not as well. xx

  13. nikkipolani says:

    Ah, it’s the best kind of seedy! Happy planning while the plot awaits.

Leave a Reply

