Plotting of a different kind

Unlike today it was dry and sunny on Monday when I picked the last few tomatoes, then pulled up the plants to put on the compost heap and dug the ground over. I’m really surprised at how well they did considering what I said in this It’s mostly tomatoes… post which I did nearly two months ago.

Tomatoes 'Red Robin'At home I’ve had two plants on the windowsill. There’s this Red Robin which produced a few fruit ages ago then nothing until now, with the biggest of these three being about an inch diameter. Although the plant is still growing and flowering I’ll be surprised if there’s any more fruit.

Tomato 'Tumbling Tom Yellow'The other one is a Tumbling Tom Yellow which has only started flowering is recent weeks and now has this one tiny fruit which is less than half an inch diameter.

Does anyone else grow tomatoes at home on the windowsill, and if so what variety and do you have any tips.

It’ s overcast and raining today, with more of the same forecast for the coming week, so I guess that I’ll be doing some plotting of a different kind in preparation for November when I will be having another go at writing a 50,000 word novel in 30 days.  Glo (Porcelain Rose) has given me some light-hearted encouragement with her Boot up … post. What I can tell you is that the provisional title is The Missing Sunglasses, and I’ll be posting more about it and how I’m getting on, or not, in the coming weeks over on Sofa flying. This post is 306 words long, which compares with the 1667 words that I will need to average daily throughout November. I think that I’ll be drinking lots of cups of tea and eating far too many biscuits!

Have a good week!

[Click on either picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Plotting of a different kind

  1. Jo says:

    I don’t grow tomatoes on a windowsill, but I did once have some seeds passed on to me which had the name Micro Tom. I had a very good harvest from the plant I grew, yet it was tiny, certainly suited to a windowsill. Good luck with your novel, I look forward to hearing all about it.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I usually prefer quality to quantity but so far I’ve really had far too few tomatoes off my windowsill plants.
      Thanks, and I look forward to telling you all about it. xx

  2. elaine says:

    I have been sorting my tomatoes out too – and have a trayful of green ones in the greenhouse – after a very slow start the plants have come good but then the sunshine ran out. Good luck with the other kind of plotting – I am starting a new story – I know the begining and I know how I want it to end – it’s the middle bit that will take some sorting out – I should order industrial quantities of tea bags if I were you I think you are going to need them!

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine I think that it was the same for all of us this year.
      Thanks, I’m having the self same problem with my story. I’ve been stocking up with extra tea bags the past couple of weeks. xx

  3. Mark Willis says:

    In the past I have had success with a tomato variety called “Wilma” (aka “Vilma”), which is very compact and suitable for windowsill growing.
    Good luck with the novel! (and I hope you find your sunglasses…)

  4. Sorry Flighty, can’t help you with windowsill toms, but I am sure someone will, that’s the beauty of blogging! Good luck with your writing Flighty!

  5. VP says:

    What a spooky coincidence! I’m contemplating growing my tomatoes on a windowsill next year. Outdoor ones have succumbed to blight and we don’t have room for a greenhouse. Mark’s suggestion looks a good place to start.

    In the past I’ve done Nablopomo instead of a novel. I salute you for trying again this year 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      VP I’ve grown just a couple of windowsill tomatoes the past couple of years but feel that I could do better. It does indeed.
      I did that one year. Thanks. xx

  6. CJ says:

    Drinking tea, eating biscuits and writing all day during November sounds wonderful. I’m wondering if they’d miss me…

  7. snowbird says:

    I often grow cherry toms in hanging baskets among flowers….

    I loved Glo’s poem and look forward to reading your story. I shall go and follow you on sofa flying….xxxx

  8. Flighty says:

    Snowbird that’s a good way to grow cherry tomatoes.
    Me too, and I hope that you’ll enjoy it. Thanks. xx

  9. Glo says:

    Couldn’t resist writing a little poem once you brought up the mystery novel! Glad to send a bit of laughter your way 🙂 I wonder if tea and biscuits will be mentioned in the novel, or if they’ll just be an external component. Have fun plotting your way through November.

  10. nikkipolani says:

    Goodness… tomatoes on the windowsill! I’ve never had any luck growing anything on the sill except spider mites. And as far as the tea and biscuits, you may need to have something a little more substantial to plow through 50,000 words!

  11. Sharon says:

    I have recently brought two mini tomatoes to grow on the window sill in my studio. One is yellow and the other is red, they already in flower and I noticed this morning there are tiny fruit on the first truss. Will blog about my progress. I say good luck with your novel/mystery, once you get into the swing of it the words will flow and you will be surprised. (This is from a person who has been writing a novel for the last 4 years! haha) It is the editing that is the hard part.

    • Flighty says:

      Sharon I’ll be interested to know how they do. Thanks, I hope that you’re right. I’m sure it is but that’s something that comes later, if at all. xx

  12. Liz says:

    Growing tomatoes indoors on a windowsill — successfully — is beyond my imagination!
    Good luck with “the missing sunglasses”,

Leave a Reply

