Still flowering…

are cornflowers, cosmos, the dahlia, nasturtiums, pot marigolds and sunflowers.

Plot October 2013 - 1

Aster 'Lady in Blue'The second Michaelmas daisy, aster novi-belgii Lady in Blue, which is a small plant, has intensely coloured flowers.  It was suffering from mildew quite badly a few weeks ago but doesn’t look too bad now.

Genista flowersThe genista which blooms in the late spring/early summer, and is now covered in dark seeds pods, has produced some new growth and flowers.

I’ve been planting yet more bulbs and now just have the tulips to do, which I shall leave until mid November to avoid them getting tulip fire.

I picked the last few rhubarb leaves and stems, which have gone on the compost heap, and covered the crowns with a couple of inches of horse manure for the winter.

Ripe grapesAs well as eating a few grapes whilst I’ve been plotting I’ve also been bringing some home as they’re now ripe and sweet.

Yesterday I was pleased to see a very large bumblebee take flight right in front of me. Despite getting a good look at it I’m not sure which of the common bumblebees it was.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Still flowering…

  1. Lovely flowers and nice post Flighty

  2. CJ says:

    It’s lovely that things are still flowering and bees are still around. Sometimes I think it’s all over by October, but really it’s not, there’s plenty still to admire and pick. Next month it will definitely all be over though…

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it sure is. We’ve been lucky with the weather which obviously makes all the difference. I agree, what with less daylight and lower temperatures. xx

  3. It is a nice mild October and will make the winter feel shorter !

  4. Maggie says:

    I didn’t know those were Michaelmas daisies, I’ve seen them in gardens around and had been wondering what they were so you’ve answered a question for me. I love that you have grapes, I would love to grow them if I had the space but they would not last long in our garden. Have a good week Flighty. X

    • Flighty says:

      Maggie they used to be seen in most gardens at one time. I only have the one vine, and I’m sure that you could find some space. Thanks, and you too. xx

  5. elaine says:

    Your flowers seem to be hanging on better than mine – I had to cut the sunflowers down as they were flopping about all over the place and I have only one bunch of grapes to my name – pretty pathetic. Not seen any bees but a few butterflies today. The weather has been great this weekend hope it carries on like this.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine there’s been no really cold nights, which will finish the nasturtiums when we do get one. That’s a shame as it’s been a really good year for grapes. I’ve seen plenty of bees but few butterflies. It sure was, and I do hope so. xx

  6. Oh good, I’m glad it recovered from the midlew enough to belt out that colour, wonderful! My nasturtiums are going nuts at the moment,thanks to the absence of any competition from the now defunct beans. Can’t believe you are picking and eating your own grapes, that’s amazing. I don’t think I would have the patience to prune them properly.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet I’m a bit surprised as it looked dreadful at one point. Mine nasturtiums too, with flowers and new growth. It’s been the best year so far for my one vine. Some plot neighbours grow lots of them. A hard prune in late January is all that’s needed. xx

  7. Jo says:

    I’ve seen lots of bumblebees around over the last week or so, I’m so pleased as there’s plenty of flowers left for them at the moment. Lots of things seem to be flowering out of season, I wonder if it’s because they’re muddled up after the cold start to the year. Enjoy your grapes, we eat plenty here but home grown are a luxury we don’t have.

  8. Doris says:

    Everything looks beautiful, and those grapes look delicious!

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Nice to see a bigger view of your plot and that there’s still plenty of color while you’re planning for the next season. Still much too warm here to plant bulbs yet.

  10. The plot is looking lovely with your gorgeous autumn flowers. Just one of the benefit’s of mixing it up a little, when the veggies are all but gone some flowers remain. Same with spring, it’s our bulbs that we see first whilst we wait for the veggies to get going. Well done on growing such perfect looking grapes. I bet they taste wonderful. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Sam thanks. It was a bit too mixed in some places this year. A plot without flowers would look too bare for too long. Thanks, apparently it’s been ideal weather for grapes this year. They sure do. xx

  11. Jude says:

    Love your plot – we’ve had a very long season with flowers this year too and determined to have more next year as a ‘crop’. Just thinking of buying some cheap daffs to put in the cut flower patch as its a good time to be buying them now. Do you do early season flowers or just annuals on yours?

    • Flighty says:

      Jude thanks. It’ll be well worth you buying and planting some cheap daffodils now. I have crocus, daffodils/narcissus and tulips to look forward to throughout the spring before the first annuals, such as poached egg plants and love-in-a-mist start appearing. xx

  12. Carrie says:

    Love, love, love how colourful your plot is xxx

  13. snowbird says:

    Such a lot of colour! You are organised getting your bulbs in, I need to sort mine but haven’t had a chance. I’m SO jealous of your grapes!xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird it’s surprising isn’t it. Most of the bulbs were ones I dug up earlier in the year which needed replanting elsewhere, and which I hope I won’t have to do again. They’re delicious! xx

  14. Caro says:

    Another lovely post, Flighty, keeping us up to date with your plot – that big clump of asters is a welcome sight! I’m intrigued by your grapes; do you grow against a trellis? I’d love to grow some but had assumed a warm wall was needed and mine face in a north-easterly direction. The wall gets about 5 hours of sunshine (when available!), do you think grape growing is a possibility?

    • Flighty says:

      Caro thanks. I dug that clump up earlier in the year, to separate and replant it, and been surprised at how well it’s flowered. I’ve just one vine which grows across the back of the shed, which is south facing. I would say do some research as they do need the sun and warmth which might not be enough there. xx

  15. Julie says:

    Just lovely Flighty.. and grapes.. Yummy! :o) x

  16. annie_h says:

    Those grapes look fabulous Flighty, and its lovely that there is so much still flowering at your plot, I’m the same with still loads of flowers, and the bees and butterflies seem to be really making the most of them.

  17. Liz says:

    How pretty your plot is looking!

Leave a Reply

