Into October…

and the Michaelmas daisies have started appearing.

Michaelmas daisies

It seems that last Sunday’s mystery plant is ground-ivy (glechoma hederacea), which can apparently be eaten according to Eat Weeds – a wild food guide to the edible plants of Britain.

I’ve done two posts over on Sofa flying this week both poetry related. Tuesday’s was Dust if you must, and today’s which celebrates National Poetry Day 2013.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Into October…

  1. Jo says:

    What a lovely colour your Michaelmas Daisy is, it’s nice to have some autumn colour on the plot.

  2. What a lovely aster, isn’t it wonderful to have such cheerful flowers blooming this late in the year. Just what one needs to boost the sprits as the days get shorter and more grey. Glad you have successfuly identified your mystery plant!

  3. elaine says:

    What a coincidence – I just bought three of the very same plant this morning from the farmers market in the hope of cheering up the back garden this autumn (I have very little else in flower and its all beginning to look a bit drab out there). I can’t understand why I don’t get the Sofa Flying updates when you post – will have to check out why.

  4. snowbird says:

    How lovely to have such a pretty plant in bloom this late in the year. I’m glad you solved the riddle of your mystery plant.xxxx

  5. Our Michaelmas daisy have been magnificent, they’ve attracted dozens of insect and butterfly, maybe ours are a different type, because ours are nearly over

  6. CJ says:

    Beautiful Michaelmas daisies. I love flowers that start blooming at this time of year, when everything else is getting old and tired and scruffy. Do you know if bees like them?

  7. Glo says:

    Well, your favorite time of the year is here 🙂 Purple isn’t the usual colour I think of when autumn arrives, but your Michaelmas daisy is lovely, and reminds me of spring … Is there a link on your flightplot blog to your sofaflyer blog?

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Mmmm. Pretty flower and a pretty welcome for fall!

  9. Julie Wells says:

    Such a pretty flower and gorgeous colour.. I’m a purple girl :o)
    Julie xx

  10. Wonderful colours Flighty! I must check this plant out as it would look gorgeous next to my orange nasturtiums which are still going strong. Thanks for the heads-up on the mystery plant; it’s quite a pretty plant, even though a weed, but will be dug out in due course from the veg patch.

    • Flighty says:

      Caro there lots of varieties, and colour variations, so I’m sure that you’ll find one you like. You’re welcome, I’ll probably keep mine but make sure that it doesn’t spread. xx

  11. Sharon says:

    Love the daisies, they are such a reliable colour source for those autumn days when summer seems to have disappeared. I have heard that ground ivy is invasive as ordinary ivy?

  12. Flighty says:

    Sharon me too, and they sure are. You could well be right so I’ll be making sure that the ivy doesn’t get out of hand. xx

  13. Hannah says:

    They’re very pretty:)

  14. Liz says:

    Ground ivy. . . Can’t get rid if the stuff. It is everywhere in my garden. I think I’ve cleared it out of an area and it’s back before you can say “Jack Robinson!” It smells to me like cat pee! Glad to know it has medicinal value!

Leave a Reply

