Plot neighbours

I mention various of my plot neighbours now and again as they’re generally a good crowd.  Some like Joe, John and and Trevor I see, and chat with, most days whereas there are others that I hardly ever see.

'Irish' Brian's carrotsOne of my adjacent neighbours is Irish Brian who is very much a traditional vegetable grower.  He digs, weeds, sows, waters and harvests two or three mornings a week growing mostly potatoes along with some beetroot, cabbages, carrots, parsnips and runner beans.  On Friday he very kindly gave me these carrots.  They’re something I’ve never grown well, if at all, although I do have a handful that I’ve still to harvest.  Next year I’m going to make yet another determined effort to grow some, after all if Brian can then I don’t see why I can’t.

Cosmos on Fran's plotFran has a very small plot directly across the roadway from mine where she grows a wide range of flowers, fruit and vegetables.  She works full time and lives in one of the flats that overlook the allotments. Among the various flowers she’s grown this year are cosmos, mostly white with some crimson and lavender ones. She’s happy for me to collect some seed later on, and in return I’ll give her some back to sow for next year. I didn’t grow many cosmos this year but will make up for that next year.

What's thisAround the stone feature on my plot is this low growing plant that I don’t recognise. I don’t recollect it flowering this year and it certainly seems to have spread somewhat recently.  Can anyone tell me what it is please?

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Plot neighbours

  1. Lovely post and thanks for sharing Flighty

  2. Once you know what that mystery plant is, Flighty, I’d dearly like to know for myself! I have come across it in the veg patch and have no idea what it is. The leaves are very similar to a geum but I don’t recall it flowering this year which would have given a further clue! That’s a great gift of carrots that you’ve been given, I’m sure your perseverance will pay off in the end!

  3. nikkipolani says:

    I agree with Caro — your mystery plant has leaves very similar to geum. Nice of your allotment friends to share their bounty. I love it that gardeners are often some of the most generous people.

  4. menhir1 says:

    Carrots do seem to be a touch and go veg. Bro-in-law seemed to have too many wee visitors enjoying his carrots, and it was an effort to get substance from them when preparing the carrots. By contrast, a friend tells me she has good carrots, she covers hers; the neighbour, a farmer started commercially growing on a small-ish scale last year. The carrots looked lovely but were without any flavour. It does seem to be a pot luck veg.

    You could do well with a happy carrot grower ask your neighbour to give you good tips. Go for it!

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir carrot fly is the problem here. I’m never worried about looks as it’s the flavour that’s all important.
      All he does is dig the ground over then sow a packet of seeds. Perhaps I faff around a bit too much. xx

  5. Paula says:

    It might be herb bennet I have some in my garden which I have to pull out as it spread. It has small yellow flowers on it. In the 15 cent they use to hang it over doors to keep out the devil as it was considered to be one of the most powerful charms against evil spirits.

  6. pianolearner says:

    lots of sand for the carrots. a guy on our plot grows them in large barrels of sand and not much else..

  7. Jo says:

    The leaves look like a geum but I don’t suppose you’ll know for sure until it flowers. Enjoy those carrots, home grown are so delicious.

  8. elaine says:

    Your plot neighbours sound very nice and generous. Your mystery plant could be a mallow of some sort.

  9. Glo says:

    Those carrots look like carrots with a crunch! Yum… Very thoughtful of neighbours to share…harvesting time is here! Cosmos are very pretty and good for cut flowers too…I must remember to plant some next year!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo they are as you say. Yes there’s been lots of giving, and swapping lately. Yes they’re a good all round flower. I’ll try and remember to remind you. xx

  10. snowbird says:

    Lovely to hear more about your plot friends….now if Brian can our Flighty CAN too!!!! I shall cheer on your carrot growing next year.

    I love the way you all share the produce and seeds….marvellous! I have that plant, and it has a large yellow daisy like flower but I don’t know what it is….but I shall soon find out now.xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird I do mention them now and again. I’m going to make a determined effort next year.
      It’s just something we do as part of allotmenteering. You’ll see tomorrow what I’m fairly sure it is. xx

  11. CJ says:

    No idea what your mystery plant is I’m afraid. Wonderful carrots. I shall also give them another go next year. I sowed a whole row (or maybe two or three rows, I can’t remember), but I only had one bunch. Where do they go??? It’s a mystery. I shall persevere though. As you say, if Brian can do it, then surely some of the rest of us can too.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ that’s okay. They sure are. That sounds just like what happens to mine. Let’s hope that we all do well growing carrots, and everything else, next year. xx

  12. wellywoman says:

    I’ve had limited success with carrots too which is annoying as I would love to be able to grow them well. The most success I’ve had is growing them in pots in the garden at home. The allotment is riddled with carrot fly so I’ve given up trying them there. That plants does look very much like a geum, but no flowers. Very strange! 😉

  13. Flighty says:

    Welly I’m just the same. Carrot fly is the main problem here as well. See tomorrow’s post re the mystery plant. xx

  14. I, too, have given up on carrots thanks to carrot root fly, though one of these years I hope to be organised enough to try sowing some late enough to miss the blighters. Nattering to – and learning from – plot neighbours is one of the things I miss about allotmenteering. I love the seed collecting and sharing deal you have!

    • Flighty says:

      Janet that’s a shame. I’m going to try sowing some early and some late next year.
      I’m not surprised as it’s something that I always enjoy doing. It’s all very informal but works well. xx

  15. Liz says:

    What a lovely gift of carrots. The cosmos are pretty. I do grow cosmos, but not every year and I know that I would not be a successful carrots grower. Good luck w/ that in 2014!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz unlike me he generally does okay with carrots. Cosmos, especially white ones, are one of my favourite flowers. Thanks, but sorry to say had no luck but will try again this year. xx

Leave a Reply

