Mornings this week…

have started off  dull and overcast although it has brightened up later, and it has remained dry and been relatively warm.

Log seat covered in sunflower seedsOn Monday I found more that sunflower stems had been broken off with bits of seed heads and seeds all over the place including on the log seat, which it seems that a pesky squirrel has been using as an eating table.

Spider's webTuesday morning was quite misty and the allotments were festooned with spider’s webs. I don’t think that I’ve ever seen so many and although I not keen on spiders I have to admire the webs that they weave like this one.

The nasturtiums are still flourishing, and how about the long eyelashes on this orange one.

Orange nasturtium

Comon darterWalking along the roadway to the gates I noticed this dragonfly,  a Common Darter, sunning itself on the ground.

I usually photograph the willow tree from outside the gates on the way in so just for a change here it is on the way out.

The allotment site willow tree

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image] 

[Please note that my Sofa flying blog has now changed URL’s as you’ll see in these posts This blog… and Welcome…]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Mornings this week…

  1. Jo says:

    That’s a beautiful tree, I remember it from your earlier posts, I love willows. We’ve had similar weather to you this week, I’m just pleased that it’s still quite warm, I hate it when the cold weather arrives. You were lucky with the dragonfly, I never see them still enough to take a photo.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it sure is, so I post photos of it a couple of times a year. It was sunny early today, but slighty cooler. I’ve only seen a few dragonflies on the allotments and this is the first one that I’ve photographed. xx

  2. Maggie says:

    I love that the squirrel has made himself at home on your plot, very cheeky! The spiders have been very busy, they’ve obviously had a good year. Love the willow tree photo with a beautiful blue sky in the background, perfection. X

    • Flighty says:

      Maggie well at least I didn’t have any sweetcorn for it to eat this year. I didn’t actually see any spiders but there must be lots around. Thanks, I’m well pleased with that photo. xx

  3. Awesome post Flighty. I love some of the willow leaves and steams for making homemade rooting gel. Have a good week.

  4. Misty and foggy here all the week,it has only just dried up this afternoon. Love the long lashed nasturtium. We don’t see many dragonflies here unfortunately. I love the towering willow tree,majestic 🙂 Have a good weekend ahead,Flighty 🙂

  5. menhir1 says:

    The Dragon Fly is a good weather watcher; dare I say, discerning, even. Spiders webs never cease to amaze me. Their complexity, beauty and ‘darker’ purpose increase the fascination and admiration for the spider’s innate skill to craft a web.

    Your remaining blooms are doing well. With so much seed, you can see why the sunflower is good for harvesting its oil.

  6. I noticed the spiders webs on the hedges whilst taking my daughter to school, I even stopped the car to show them to her. I love how something so simple can be so special x

  7. CJ says:

    Spiders webs are wonderful aren’t they. I crashed through one in the garden the other day. When I went back later, it had all been made again. They just keep spinning and spinning – amazing. I love the nasturtium. They are something I meant to grow this year but didn’t get around to. Maybe next year…

    • Flighty says:

      CJ they’re really magical. I was doing that on the plot even though I was trying to avoid them. You should grow nasturtiums, they’re a good flower to have on the allotment. xx

  8. Doris says:

    Wow – what a gorgeous spider web! I was looking for them in a field near home for some early morning “dewy” shots but couldn’t find any. Then I found a spider spinning one but by the time it was finished there was no more dew! 🙂

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Lots of spiderwebs here, too, though none so picturesque!

  10. snowbird says:

    What lovely images, the spiders’ web is gorgeous, they are such clever little critters aren’t they.

    I love the dragonfly and those eyelashes are very flirty!!!xxxx

  11. wellywoman says:

    Seems like you have had the best of the weather over there. Here in the west it’s generally been dull or wet. Still there have been a few dry patches which has meant I’ve got some tidying up done on the plot. I really love the nasturtium and those eyelashes. 🙂 I’m not a fan of spiders either and any gardening activity at the moment is done with trepidation. There are spiders everywhere. I agree though their webs are beautiful, especially when glistening with rain or dew.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly last week maybe, but it’s been a bit damp and dull this week. I shall be looking out for other nasturtiums like that. At this time of year spiders can be a problem can’t they. The webs sure are. xx

  12. Liz says:

    I enlarged your spider web picture — it is exquisite, although I agree w/ you about the spiders that spin them! “Come into my parlour, said the spider. . .”
    Using willow stems for rooting gel. I’ll have to look into that.

Leave a Reply

