Back to flowers

New growth on the oriental poppyAfter the oriental poppies had finished flowering in the summer I cut the stems and floppy foliage back to ground level in the expectation that new growth would appear, which it didn’t. Not that it really mattered as a few weeks ago I dug it up and, after dividing it, gave a bit to plot neighbour Margo then replanted the rest elsewhere.  I’m relieved to see that it’s now showing some new growth.

Over the past few days I’ve been (re)planting lots of bulbs starting with the crocus.  The white crocus Jeanne d’Arc and yellow ones that were in the long planter last year are now in the ground near the rose Pretty Lady. Replacing them are twenty five of each Blue Pearl and Cream Beauty.  Some daffodils now fill the square planter with loads more in two beds alongside the top, road edge.  I won’t be replanting the yellow tulips until November.

Chinese lantern plantThe physalis alkekengi Chinese Lantern has been a bit neglected and, at times, looked rather sorry for itself. However yesterday I noticed there are now two lanterns,  a still green one and a bright orange one.  I really must plant this out somewhere!

The nerine bowdenii leaves have now died back but it remains to be seen if the flower stems will appear then bloom like this in time for my birthday again!   

A ravaged sunflower!The pesky squirrels (?) have really had a go at this sunflower with nearly all the stems now broken off and the seed heads missing, bits of which were scattered all over the place.

Thankfully most of the others are still okay, and still flowering. How about this little beauty which is just a few inches across.

Sunflower 'Autumn Beauty'

Pot marigolds 'Flighty's favourites'As you can see in the above picture the pot marigolds Flighty’s favourites are still happily flowering away.  Here’s a closer look at some of them.  I’ll be doing one more specific post about these next month.

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image] 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Back to flowers

  1. Mo says:

    You have a plot neighbour named Margo? How wonderful 🙂 Lovely post,I always enjoy your flower photo’s.

    • Flighty says:

      Mo I do indeed. She’s a lovely lady from Barbados (I think) who, as she says, likes a colourful, pretty plot. Hers certainly is as she grows California poppies, pot marigolds, lots of violas and more. Thanks, that’s nice to know. xx

  2. Lovely post Flighty and lovely flowers

  3. Jo says:

    I haven’t started thinking about spring bulbs yet, though I noticed them in Wilko’s yesterday, I just didn’t have time to look. I must get my skates on and buy some before they’ve all been picked over. I lost the Chinese Lantern I had in the garden. The lanterns were so pretty when they’d been left on the plant for some time and became quite delicate looking with lots of lacy patterns.

  4. Hi Flighty. It might be parakeets eating your sunflowers, as they had a good munch on mine last year. I have some Chinese lantern seedlings waiting to be transplanted into individual starter pots. I am looking forward to seeing how they turn out. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Sam the parakeets have tended to just chomp the flower heads in the past, and I’ve not seen any around the allotments this year. Good luck with your Chinese lanterns. xx

  5. Caro says:

    Excellent post, Flighty. A timely reminder to get any crocus in the ground and to order bulb catalogues. You know the sorry tale of my edible physalis; I’m hoping it will resprout or I’ll have to go back to my seed box. Deadheading is the job for today; I’m told that the squirrels were running up and down my sunflowers last year helping themselves to the seeds – and burying some in the lawn area! I was hoping for a field of sunflowers as a result but, sadly, it didn’t happen.

    • Flighty says:

      Caro thanks. It’s the ideal time to do both. Yes fingers crossed that it does resprout. I’m finding bits of sunflower heads and seeds everywhere at the moment. That’s a shame, it would have looked great wouldn’t it. xx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Planting and sorting already? I’ve ordered more daffs and ranunculus but they don’t arrive for a few weeks yet. How nice of the sunflowers and marigolds to keep blooming.

  7. snowbird says:

    Lol….I smiled at the Margo neighbour too. Your marigolds are amazing, such a long flowering period. I always mean to get one of those Chinese lanterns, I think they’re really pretty.

    My sunflowers are being eaten too, but by red squirrels. We used to have lots of them at one time then they totally disappeared so it’s great to have a few back.

    Ah yes….I should be sorting bulbs too.xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird I think everyone thinks of Margo from The Good Life when I mention her. Yes they started in June and should keep going for a while yet. The Chinese lanterns are certainly different, and colourful.
      Lucky you having red squirrels, needless to say here it’s just grey ones.
      Ah yes…you should. xx

  8. CJ says:

    What a lovely post Flighty, so nice to wander round with you and see what’s happening. A beautiful little sunflower – perfection I think. Your marigolds are still looking fantastic, really worth growing I think. Nice that you are thinking of spring – all of those bulbs will be wonderful.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ thanks, that’s nice to know. I agree, the smaller ones tend to get overlooked. For colour over a long period they really are unbeatable. I hope that they’ll provide a good show. xx

  9. Sharon says:

    We thankfully dont have squirrels savaging our plants, instead we have opossums, they can strip plants in a night. Your flowers look lovely. Great post.

  10. menhir1 says:

    The Marigold is very pretty. There are lovely merging shades.

    My orange/yellows and Calendula are doing okay, just. The weather is changing now, so, I expect to see a great Marigold chill and shrivel. It will probably happen to the other annuals I have planted, too.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it sure is, and yes there are.
      Fingers crossed that that last a bit longer. The nasturtiums will be the first to go here when we get a really cold night. xx

  11. wellywoman says:

    I planted up a few crocus in pots the other day. They worked really well last year. I kept them in the green house and then put them on my kitchen windowsill. They lasted about 3 weeks. they always seem to get damaged so quickly in the garden, whether it’s wind, rain or snow. But I know bees love them so I’ve got some left to go in the front garden. I’ve got a Chinese lantern too. I planted it in spring and it’s OK. I think once it’s established it will have a much better year. Mine is in the ground but I have heard you need to be careful with them as they can become invasive and hard to get rid of. Mine is a dwarf variety so might not be so vigorous but possibly restricting it somehow like mint is a good idea. I was meant to be bulb planting today but it’s very wet and grey so I’m staying dry indoors and catching up. Have a great weekend. x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly that’s a good idea with the crocus which I might well do.
      I was warned that the Chinese lantern might be a bit invasive in the ground, so that’s why it’s still in a pot.
      I wasn’t plotting yesterday, but spent the morning there today. Thanks, and you too. xx

Leave a Reply

