Beans and teasels

I’ve been well pleased with the runner beans St George which are now just about finished. There have been plenty for me and more that I’ve given away.  I’ll  be growing this variety again next year.

The dwarf French beans Canadian Wonder also did well and I shall grow more next year but a different variety, perhaps Safari.  I’ve grown some climbing French beans Borlotti  Lingua di Fuoco,  which have distinctive green and red pods, but another unknown variety have appeared as well. These have much bigger, darker leaves and the pencil shaped pods are dark green and purple. 

Borlotti bean and others

The old teaselsI’ve always grown a few teasels on the plot, mainly in the hope that one day I’ll see a goldfinch eating the seeds. The present ones are by the dustbin lid pond on the flower patch. I shall leave these be through the winter when they will still provide some interest

Teasel flower head

There must have been some teasel seed in the wildflower mix that I sowed by the log pile as some have appeared in just the right, out of the way, place.

New teasel plants

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Beans and teasels

  1. Awesome post Flighty thanks for sharing

  2. I love french beans, I grew the dwarfs this year, but lost some under all the foliage. So I am going to try the climbing french next year. Have a great week end you too, Flighty 🙂

  3. NorthernTeacher says:

    I thought all borlottis were climbers, Flighty but mine were lucky to reach a foot high!
    Lovely teasels – I’m hoping to have goldfinch on mine too. Had a common redstart in the garden this morning – very exciting! J

  4. Adoo, Teasel is a worthwhile food source, you will be rewarded for allowing it to stay. BUT, be prepared for many seedlings as a result. Simply remove these as you feel best.
    Moonshine, a new variety of self setting runner bean, has filled my freezer and more again this year! You will have to buy this via the net, as it is/was an f1 variety. Whatever the weather and with NO bud loss problems, its worth a try.
    Do well and ta xx

    • Flighty says:

      Andrew hello and welcome. Mine tend to seed over the neighbouring plot, so I weed them for him.
      Thanks, I’ll bear that variety in mind as it sounds like a good one. You too. Cheers.

  5. Polythene Pam says:

    I think your post should be called Beasels! Mainly because I like the word Beasels.

  6. CJ says:

    Lovely photos, and lucky you having teasels. Your borlotti beans look good. Any day now I am going to pick mine and see what the beans inside are like.

  7. Sue Moir says:

    Strange I had similar results with my dwarf French beans. have no idea what they were as they were a freebie. So tasty though so am saving some seeds and crossing my fingers that we get the same again next year

  8. Jo says:

    I’ve grown St George runners this year too, and shall also grow them again next year, they’ve given a worthwhile harvest though mine have just about finished now, like yours. I’ve grown Safari dwarf French beans and I’ve been really happy with them in the main, the favourite bean I’ve grown actually, but they came to nothing this year.Do you have a tree near your plot where you could hang a bird feeder? I’ve tempted goldfinches to my garden with niger seed, they absolutely love it.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo we made a good choice with that variety. Shame that your Safari beans didn’t do well this year.
      No trees on or near the plot so I’ll have to have another think on this. xx

  9. snowbird says:

    I do love all things beans, but those green and red ones look the business!
    Yes, as Jo says niger seeds will have the goldfinches pouring in.xxxx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    How nice that you’ve provided for the birds. I hope they appreciate it and take you up on your offer!

  11. Mark Willis says:

    I have grown “Lingua di Fuoco” a couple of times and found the colour of their pods to be very variable when immature, but they all went red/pink in the end. The dark green and purple pods in your pic look very like the variety “Selma Zebra” which I grew in 2011. Maybe a couple of “unauthorised” beans of a different variety snuck into the pack of Borlotti?

  12. Safari are a brilliant French Bean – thoroughly recommended. I really enjoyed your Marigold Seed Mix, especially the different yellow shades. They grew up around the bottom of my Sweet Pea display at home and lasted a long time. I still have some seeds left, so I shall grow some more next year. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Sam that settles it I shall grow Safari next year. That’s good to know. I’m sure you know that that they self-seed, and the seed is also easy to collect. xx

  13. Canadian Wonder did amazingly well for me last year and is one that I’d grow again. Is there a reason that you’ll try a different variety next year?

  14. wellywoman says:

    French beans are a great addition. I had some dwarf ones and some climbing ones but think I will stick with the climbing ones. The dwarf ones have their beans knobbled by slugs. 😦

  15. Liz says:

    Green beans are so good. I love to buy them fresh at the farmers’ market and I’m sometimes the lucky recipient of friends and neighbors’ bounty! Right now (February 2015 with snow, icy streets and Arctic blasts) fresh green beans seem a lifetime away!
    The city’s Parks & Recreation department are returning areas of our parks to meadows instead of mowing everything. I walk my dogs along the different park trails and have noticed that teasels are growing in those areas. A good thing!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz they are indeed. As I don’t sow the seeds until late May or early June they certainly seem a long time away.
      That’s good news as it will encourage wildlife. I wish that more places, here and there, did the same. xx

Leave a Reply

