A plot potter

The weather has been mostly cool, damp and dull the past few days but this morning it dawned breezy, fresh and sunny so after breakfast I donned my wellies and old fleece jacket and went for a plot potter.

Tomatoes 'Gardener's Delight'I picked these tomatoes Gardener’s Delight along with a few more Golden Sunrise like these ones which had been at home on the windowsill ripening. I took this photo a couple of days ago, and have since eaten most of them.

Tomatoes 'Golden Sunrise'

The grapes are gradually changing colour –

The grapes are ripening

The dogwood rose has masses of bright red hips –

Dogwood rose hips

These sunflowers Autumn Beauty are aptly named –

Sunflowers 'Autumn Beauty'

Sunflower 'Autumn Beauty'

It was too soggy underfoot to do any plotting, besides which it soon started clouding over, so I harvested some borlotti and runner beans and took these photos before heading for home. By the time I’d got in and made a cup of tea it was raining.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to A plot potter

  1. lindasgarden says:

    Awesome post and thank you for sharing

  2. Caro says:

    Same story here, Flighty – a lovely daybreak followed by rain/drizzle. Managed a bit of clearing up (the one advantage of having lots of concrete around!) and cut a few herbs, tomatoes and flowers for indoors. I was hoping to get a lot more done but even a couple of hours outside in the garden sets me up for a good day! I love the look of your grapes, hope you get a bit more sunshine to ripen them!

  3. Love your grapes too. We have gales and heavy showers today 😦

  4. snowbird says:

    Great to see you enjoying your toms, and those grapes look brilliant. I never seem to get any grapes, even when the vines are in the greenhouse…..

    The dogwood hips look really Christmasy….ooops, sorry for using that word in September!xxxx

  5. elaine says:

    I have one bunch of grapes this year and they are still very green! Hope you enjoy yours when then ripen. It has been appallingly grim here today so no outside work for me – I am hating being stuck indoors – I want the summer back.

  6. Doris says:

    Great photos Flighty. Now I am hungry!! 🙂

  7. Alison says:

    A good harvest and good day.

  8. Sharon says:

    Great harvest, those grapes look wonderful. Hope the weather picks up for you. We had a great day, spent it salvaging my greenhouse after the massive storm we had last week. I was lucky lots of people had windows and roofs off!

  9. Hannah says:

    I have Golden Sunrise too. I’m not sure where I planted them though, so I don’t know if they’re the delicious one’s I’ve been munching or the watery tasting ones I’ve been flogging to the rest of the family 🙂

  10. Jo says:

    I expect your plot potter set you up for the rest of the day. It’s been so windy here over the weekend, it still is today. It looks like your tomatoes are doing better than you expected them to afterall.

  11. Mo says:

    Ah! I see what you mean about the grapes. Too late for us now as we have picked them. Yours look great!

  12. CJ says:

    Wonderful photos Flighty. You have reminded me that I need to pick my runner beans. Your tomatoes look wonderful. The yellow ones are unusual and look quite delicious. Good to see such lovely fruits grown outside.

  13. nikkipolani says:

    Lovely fall colours, Flighty 🙂

  14. NorthernTeacher says:

    Fab photos, Flighty. I’ve got some Golden Boy toms still ripening and I hope by the end of next week (supposed to be hotter) they’ll be the same colour as yours! J

Leave a Reply

