Warm and sunny…

was the forecast for today so I went to the plot early to be greeted by one of those rare occasions when it was noticeably quite.

Autumn plot

WelcomeOpening the shed I was greeted, as usual, by Welcome The Music of a Garden are the Songs the Birdies Sing, which always makes me smile.

I spent several hours happily plotting before it got too warm so I decided to pack up and head home for a cup of tea.

Before doing so I picked plenty of blackberries,  some more runner beans St George and a few now ripe tomatoes Gardener’s Delight.

Tomatoes 'Gardener's Delight'Tomorrow looks like there’ll be heavy rain most of the day so I shall spend some of the time starting to sort out the various flower seeds that I’ve been collecting during the past few weeks.  It’s rather fiddly and time consuming but well worth the effort.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Warm and sunny…

  1. Charlotte says:

    Your plot looks *so* gorgeous! Looks like you got that fog this morning too, I love it when it’s like that.

  2. Mark Willis says:

    I love the misty September mornings! — “Autumn, the season of mists and mellow fruitfulness”.

  3. elaine says:

    Your plot is looking well-cared for, not a bit like mine – which has gone feral. The weather has been gorgeous this week I love late summer weather.

  4. Must have been nice and tranquil,up there with nature !

  5. snowbird says:

    What a lovely little sign and gorgeous sunflowers, yes, it would make me smile too. Isn’t it amazing to have weather like this in September, I’m hoping to get a little rain as it’s taking ages to water everything.

    Glad to hear you’re getting more tomatoes, and I too am enjoying collecting seeds, including your lovely marigolds.xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird the sign was a present from Nikkipolani a few years ago. It sure is, and like you I would welcome some rain.
      Thanks, I’m hoping for at least a few more, and good for you. xx

  6. Sharon says:

    Your plot looks good and I see lots of lovely sunflowers, it looks like balmy weather, sigh, we have gone back to wintery weather since spring officially started, there was snow on the ranges yesterday! Pleased that you are getting tomatoes ripening now and clear of blight!

    • Flighty says:

      Sharon thanks. I like sunflowers but have many last year so I’ve made up for it this year. It’s dull, wet and considerably cooler here today. It sounds like your spring is a bit reluctant to show so far. Me too. xx

  7. Maggie says:

    It looks so green and lush! It is nice to be able to potter when no one else is around. After a day like to day I reckon most of us will welcome it being a little cooler. x

  8. menhir1 says:

    I haven’t collected seeds before, however, I have some pods from rocket. I am assuming that letting them dry might be sufficient to produce some seeds. I’m not doing anything special with them. The pods look like skinny miniature mange tout.

    You must have quite a collection of seeds to work through Mr F. How do you store and identify your seeds; do you catalogue them?

  9. Debbie says:

    Looking good, Flighty. Thanks for sharing x

  10. CJ says:

    That first photo is absolutely beautiful. I think I’ll be a little bit glad of some rain – no need to water! Hope you have a good weekend Flighty.

  11. nikkipolani says:

    Glorious view, Flighty. Perfect illustration of your warm and sunny morning. Hurray for those ripening tomatoes! I have some tomato news myself… in a few days. Happy weekend.

  12. Jo says:

    Your photo shows your plot looking very tranquil. The sunflowers dotted around are just lovely. Glad to see that your tomatoes are ripening, Gardeners Delight are so reliable, it’s a variety I grow every year. Funny how two days can be so different, we had a similar day here yesterday but it’s pouring down today.

  13. bholberry says:

    Lovely sunflowers, ours have been a bit disappointing this year.

  14. That first photo is really magical flighty. Enjoy your seed collecting and sorting, it is indeed fiddly, but so worthwhile. I just need it to stop raining for long enough to collect the next lot of seeds.

  15. Liz says:

    That sounds like a perfect Sunday morning!

Leave a Reply

