Summer’s ending…

but there’s still plenty going on and until today, when it’s raining, it has been good weather.

The first tomatoFurther to last Sunday’s post I’ve since picked, and eaten the first ripe tomato, a marble sized Gardener’s Delight.

I was keeping an eye on two more cucumbers to see if they’d grow just a bit bigger before picking them and found another one which at over eight inches long, and round, is the biggest one yet.

Linaria maroccanaTheΒ Linaria maroccanaΒ is still flowering, and the small various coloured snapdragon-like flowers are a real delight. I’ve also collected some seed for next year.

A nibbled sunflowerThe sunflowers are now being got at by parakeets (?) unless someone tells me otherwise.Β  Some are now like this whilst others have been completely stripped of petals.

I’ve seen plenty of white butterflies and got another picture of one on the blackberry bush.

White butterflyI replanted my one dahlia, Caribbean Sunset, earlier in the year then watched as the growing foliage was ravaged by snails (?). However it survived and this week the first of several buds flowered.

Dahlia 'Caribbean Sunset'

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Summer’s ending…

  1. Jo says:

    The dahlia is a stunner, such a gorgeous colour. Glad the tomatoes are coming good, mine are all starting to ripen in earnest now. I’ve seen so many white butterflies about this year, more than I’ve ever seen before. There were dozens on a neighbour’s lavender bush all flitting about, though I haven’t seen so many of the other varieties about this year.

  2. Joanne says:

    Luckily I’m far away from parakeets here in Wales. That is a lovely looking sunflower even though some petals are missing. I only seem to have the yellow ones in my garden.

    • Flighty says:

      Joanne don’t be surprised if you do see one sometime as they’ve been seen in every county in England. It was but is now completely petal-less. I like the yellow ones. xx

  3. Mark Willis says:

    I hope you mean that the Dahlia was ravaged by slugs, not ravished! (Unless you have some very naughty slugs..?)

  4. menhir1 says:

    What an interesting variation of growing events down at the plot. πŸ™‚ xx

  5. CJ says:

    Last year in the rain my dahlias had nothing left above the ground at all. And it was a slow start this year as well, but I do have some flowers now. How exotic having parakeets nearby, although I’m sure they’re a complete nuisance, and I don’t really like to see non-native species getting too much of a foothold. Hope you have a good weekend Flighty.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ I only grow one or two and always have these problems. The parakeets can be a nuisance, and it’s a bit late as they are well and truly established now.
      Thanks, you too. xx

  6. lindasgarden says:

    Awesome post thanks for sharing

  7. snowbird says:

    Jolly glad to hear you finally got a tomato! I hope the rest start to ripen now.

    Oh wow, that cucumber sounds wonderful….I wish I could see a pic.

    Struth…..something is certainly up to no good with those poor sunflowers….I didn’t know the birds eat the petals…..whatever next.

    It’s lovely to still have some colour isn’t it, here’s to a mild autumn.xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird me too, and picked a few more tiny ones today.
      The cucumber tastes good, and hopefully there’ll be a picture in the next post.
      We know think that it may be the grey squirrels. I’d rather that it was parakeets!
      It sure it, there’s still some more to come, and I hope so. xx

  8. Maggie says:

    Love the photos Flighty, especially the dahlia such lovely colouring. Well done on your success with the cucumbers, hope they are tasty. x

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Gorgeous dahlia. Hope you’ll be doing more of those! Nice to have some tomatoes that escaped blight this year. Linaria is very sweet.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it sure is. I’d like to so will have to have a think about them. They have so far but it could still affect them in the coming weeks. It is, and I’m going to grow again next year. xx

  10. Sharon says:

    Love the dahlia, one of my favourites. I am putting a couple of new ones in this year, I love them because they give colour right up to the frosts. So pleased you got some tomatoes, hope you have many more.

  11. elaine says:

    My tomatoes are coming along slowly too – but at least they haven’t had blight so far this year – I suppose that’s something to be grateful for. Love love love that dahlia it is gorgeous – I didn’t have any luck saving the tubers from last year – this year I have grown them in containers and didn’t suffer any slug damage at all.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine let’s hope that we both get plenty of ripe ones then. I’m glad that I dug this one up and saved it. I might put it in a container next year. xx

  12. Damo says:

    Lovely looking Dahlia Flighty, they are my favourite flower!

  13. Glo says:

    Didn’t summer just get here? How can it possibly be ending? The colours of your fruit and vegetables look like summer is still with us…I hope so. Lovely photos, Flighty and I, too, love the colours in the Dahlia. Pleased to say that number two pot marigold is now blooming…at this rate it’s a good job no one is relying on me to distribute their seeds πŸ˜‰

  14. Liz says:

    That is a lovely dahlia. The white butterfly appears to be posing for its portrait!

Leave a Reply

