A couple of weeks ago…

I started thinking about next year on the plot. I was digging over a small area where I had been planting odds and sods bulbs in past years. What surprised me was just how many I dug up. Once I’d checked and sorted them I found that there are well over a hundred ranging from small crocus to large daffodils. That’s in addition to quite a few others that were elsewhere and in the planters.

I’ve been wondering where to replant them. They’re all well and good but once they’ve flowered the leaves should be left to die back which usually takes at least a month during which time they look increasingly untidy. Then there’s the question of what, if anything, to grow in the area afterwards.

What I’ve decided to do is to nibble away the already narrow strip of grass along the top edge of the plot which edges the roadway and replant them there.

Much as I would like to grow more bulbs, especially tulips, I’m really restricted by a lack of space and available spending money. I was looking through J.Parker’s wholesale catalogue the other week and the only ones that I did order were crocus Blue Pearl and Cream Beauty for the long planter.

If you’re thinking about bulbs for next yearΒ Peter NyssenΒ is highly regarded.

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A couple of weeks ago…

  1. snowbird says:

    I’m looking to get a load of crocus and snowdrop bulbs to put around the trees in the front garden so I’ll have a look at that link xxxx

  2. menhir1 says:

    It’s a lot to think about Mr F and a few public places with plants flowering, would not go amiss. I am not at the ‘what shall I do next’ stage, yet. That said, the weeds have taken over where I waited to see what might grow, after I planted some mixed seeds that were supposed to attract bugs. Perish the thought I might have planted weeds! xx

  3. elaine says:

    Oh dear – I can’t even begin to think about what bulbs I need for next year – it all depends on whether my stored bulbs survive mouse-attack over winter. I agree that they do look a right old mess when they are dying back – but I wouldn’t be without them would you?

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine it is a bit early to do that I know. I hope that mice haven’t attacked your bulbs. No nor me as they provide much welcome colour when there’s not much else. xx

  4. Jo says:

    I wholeheartedly approve of Cream Beauty. I’ve seen them on many blogs over the last few years and grew them myself this year, they’re stunning. I haven’t even started thinking of next year yet, I suppose I’d better get a move on as the bulbs will be in the shops now.

  5. CJ says:

    It’s always tricky to know where to squeeze things in! Cream Beauty is indeed a beautiful crocus, it should look lovely with a blue one. I’m thinking about next year too, and learning many lessons from my first year of allotmenting. What to do differently – more spacing between things, more variety, and what to plant less of – courgettes mostly!

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it sure is but using some of the grass verge will help. Good for you, you’ll find that you do that every year. Among other things I’m going to try to grow less but better. xx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    My, you’re thinking ahead! I agree that bulbs are quite lovely, but waiting until their leaves die back is not a pretty sight. I’ve had very poor luck with ranunculus this year, possibly because of the source. But I’ve switched back to my usual source (Van Engelen) for next year with high hopes.

  7. Sharon says:

    Because of their untidiness after flowering I have my bulbs on the edges, not such a problem there. I am thinking about what summer bulbs to put in.

  8. Maggie says:

    Hope you have a good week too Flighty. x

  9. annie_h says:

    What forward planning! I’ve not thought about bulbs yet but lots of autumn catalogues have been arriving so it won’t be long. I want some more dwarf narcissus this year, daffs are so cheering in spring.

  10. Hannah says:

    You just reminded me that I need to get my hands on some crocus’s. The blue one sounds lovely.

  11. Caro says:

    On the one hand planning for spring colour is a good idea but it seems a shame to be thinking of spring before we’ve finished with summer! This year I have both my mother’s garden and a client’s garden to think of so I, too, have to get some bulb catalogues ordered! I’ve been advised to plant around dying back leaves in order to disguise them – this would work well in a conventional border but not sure that would be the thing in a veg plot!

Leave a Reply

