This year’s sunflowers

Last year there was only a handful of sunflowers on the plot so this year I sowed lots of seeds to hopefully have a few more. I thought that I’d included some Giant Singles but if I did they didn’t germinate, but never mind as there are plenty of others.

Most are the variety Ring of Fire which has numerous colourful red and yellow blooms. They grow to around five feet, and one plant has nearly twenty flowers on it.

Sunflowers 'Ring of Fire'Autumn Beauty grows to the same height but has more subdued colours.

Sunflower 'Autumn Beauty'There are a few yellow, dark centred ones, which are taller but I don’t know the variety as these are self-seeded.

Sunflower, yellow

I read this morning that it was the second hottest July on record so it’s not surprising that the sunflowers have tended to struggle a bit as they weren’t watered much. The blooms haven’t lasted as long as usual and the lower leaves died off quickly.  However they’ve been buzzing with bees and have provided lots of colour at eye level.

Sunshine sunflowerNext year by way of a change I’m thinking of growing the taller, up to ten feet, multi-headed varieties Earthwalker, which has darker blooms, and Moonwalker, which has soft yellow ones. I shall probably also sow a few Giant Singles, and there are bound to be some self-seeders from this year.

It’s said that sunflowers bring out the happy child in everyone. I agree wholeheartedly as they certainly do with me.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to This year’s sunflowers

  1. Debs says:

    Your sunflowers certainly made me smile!

  2. snowbird says:

    Oh I totally agree that sunflowers bring out the happy child! I have lots of tall singles, but I do love that ring of fire. What an amazing colour it is, and the pattern is gorgeous!xxxx

  3. bettysquash says:

    I really love the last one!

  4. I never knew there was such a variety of sunflowers, they are gorgeous,Flighty. I gave my few to my daughter this year !

  5. Sharon says:

    So love sunflowers. Yours look lovely. I like the look of the ring of fire variety. One good thing seeing gardens in the opposite season is that it gives you ideas on what to grow. Ive had mexican sunflowers last year and they were stunning, but just plain yellow. So I am on the lookout now for the ring of fire. Thanks Flighty.

  6. CJ says:

    That’s what missing from my garden and the allotment! They’re wonderful. I tried some claret ones a couple of years ago that were nice. But I think the children would probably like the really enormous ones. I’m adding them to my List. And the top two varieties are really stunning. I might have a look for some seeds when they’re on offer at the end of the season.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ I think that they’re a ‘must grow’ flower. Children always find the giant singles fascinating plants. I’m sure that you’ll find some bargain seeds that you like. xx

  7. menhir1 says:

    The ring of fire sunflower is stunning. Who wants size/height when you have something as fantastic as that! xxx

  8. Maggie says:

    Some great looking sunflowers and so many varieties! Absolutely lovely Flighty. X

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Really, as such happy sunny flowers, it’s no wonder they bring a smile. They are looking lovely this year. Do you have to stake them? I’ve a neighbor who’s a bit timid planting flowers in the front garden. She only plants one or two sunflowers and they tend to fall over a bit, being of the 6-7ft varieties.

  10. Plantaliscious says:

    Beautiful, Flighty. I’ve grown moonwalker in the past and really liked it, but I must admit in my garden I prefer the dwarf multi headed rusty orangy red ones, not that I managed to work out where to plant any this year! Have a great weekend.

  11. Jo says:

    I’m a bit of a traditionalist so like the normal yellow ones, but wow, that Ring Of Fire is stunning, I love it. Plus, it’s always nice to have a bit of variety.

  12. Carrie says:

    I need Ring of Fire! Must get seed now….. Gorgeous post xx

  13. elaine says:

    What a lovely selection of sunflowers Flighty. I didn’t grow as many this year – one got eaten by one of the horses so I have only two at the plot – but the three in the front garden are nowhere near flowering yet. I like the sound of the pale lemon one for next year.

Leave a Reply

