Into August…

Runner beans 'St George'and I’ve started picking, and of course eating, the first of the runner beans St George.

Dwarf French beans 'Canadian Wonder'I’ve also picked and eaten the first of the dwarf French beans Canadian Wonder.

The second early potatoes Charlotte that I’ve been digging up have mostly been a really good size. These keep well so I’ll wash them, check them over then store to use during the coming months.

The first blackberriesAs the raspberries have finished so the blackberries have started. These are the first few that I picked yesterday.

At last I got to photograph a white butterfly, which was resting on the blackberry bush .

White butterfly on the blackberry bush

Lastly the crocosmia has just started flowering.

Crocosmia

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Into August…

  1. NorthernTeacher says:

    Hello Flighty – can’t believe my crocosmia is out before yours!! Lovely fruit and veg by the way.
    Jane

  2. snowbird says:

    Goodness me…you are ahead on the runner beans and blackberries, Mine are still in flower.
    Crocosmia is trying to take over my garden, but it is such a lovely vibrant plant.

    Lovely that you are getting to enjoy your harvest, it’s wonderful isn’t it.

    I love your little cabbage white, no doubt it’s after the cabbages!!!xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird yours won’t be long I’m sure. I know what you mean as I’ve two clumps that get larger every year.
      Thanks, yes it sure is. Both plot neighbours grow them! xx

  3. elaine says:

    I love runner beans, and yours look to be a good size.
    Blackberries already – none round here yet – one of my favourite pastimes is blackberry picking.
    Crocosmia, which we used to call Montbretia, are lovely, so exotic looking even though it is fairly common – a lovely addition of colour for your plot.
    Have a good week.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine me too, and yes there what I consider to be ‘the right size’.
      They really need a few days of sunshine to make just a bit sweeter.
      I know it as monbretia, and I agree. Thanks, you too. xx

  4. Doris says:

    I love the name “Canadian Wonder” 🙂 – and congratulations on the butterfly photo. I have been chasing a few of the white Cabbage butterflies with no success!

  5. nikkipolani says:

    So fun to see the summer’s bounty. Blackberries are really my favourites. I have just dug up a pile of over-crowded crocosmias. I should’ve made my family take some when they were here! Too much going on. Hope your week is a good one.

  6. CJ says:

    Lucky you having runner beans already, I’m looking forward to mine, but there’re not there yet. I did pick the first of the French beans last week though. Blackberries are so delicious, lucky you. I rely on wild ones, so I will still have a while to wait I think.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ I’m well pleased as I had none last year. There are lots of wild blackberries around the allotments boundary as well which we all pick. xx

  7. Orchardier says:

    Love runner beans…

  8. Jo says:

    I’m growing St George runners this year too but haven’t harvested any yet, yours are ahead of mine. I was in the greengrocers this morning and nearly succumbed and bought some runner beans but I resisted, I’ll wait for my own. I’ve found that potatoes tend to store better if they’re left unwashed until you want to use them, just dry them out and brush away the soil, though I know I’m teaching my grandmother to suck eggs here. Love the crocosmia, I bought some a few years ago, it’s still in the garden but has never flowered. I think I’ll have to move it and see if it does any better.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I’m sure that it’ll be worth the wait. I impressed with them and will probably grow them again next year.
      I wash the potatoes so I can check that they’re okay for storing. I make sure that they properly dry before I do and then regularly check them as well.
      It’s a shame that your crocosmia has never flowered. I’d move it to a nice sunny spot and hope that it then does. xx

  9. Sharon says:

    Those runner beans look wonderful. I have just dug a trench to put compost in where they will grow this summer. Those crocosmia look interesting, what time of year would you plant them, spring? If so I will look out for them.

    • Flighty says:

      Sharon they taste as good as they look. Yes crocosmia corms are planted in the spring, but established clumps are divided then replanted in the autumn. It’s worth noting that that they increase fairly quickly. xx

  10. Carrie says:

    Eeek! – Blackberries, oh they’ll be ready for the picking tomorrow! What a happy plot you have Mike xx

Leave a Reply

