Pot marigolds Flighty’s favourites 2013/3

Pot marigold 12-13I know that there are plenty of gardeners who aren’t too keen on, or don’t like, the bright hot orange pot marigolds as they find them too garish for most planting schemes. I have no such qualms on the plot where it’s generally a case of anything goes.

Pot marigold 9-13

Pot marigold 14-13There are dark and orange centred ones which range from all orange to ones where the petals go from gold-yellow to orange, with numerous variations.

Named varieties available include Dandy (blazing orange with a green centre), Indian Prince (deep orange flowers with a red centre) and Orange Porcupine (vivid orange flowers with quilled petals).

Pot marigold 15-13

Julie, a recent new blog friend and lawn lounger, also likes these flowers as you can see over on her post It’s All Happening In The Garden on her lovely blog Dragonfly Gems. As you’ll see she shows a montage of different twelve colour variations that she has in her garden.

Pot marigolds Flighty’s favourites – 2013/1  and  Pot marigolds Flighty’s favourites – 2013/2 are the two previous posts.

Have a good weekend!  

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Pot marigolds Flighty’s favourites 2013/3

  1. Joanne says:

    I rather like them, they are such a cheerful looking flower & the seeds you sent are doing well in my plot.

  2. Maggie says:

    I think they are great and are a lovely addition to my garden supplying constant colour over the past month or so (and still going). Thanks Flighty. X

  3. snowbird says:

    I absolutely love them, they last for ages and are so cheering! Yours are coming on a treat, and I’m enjoying them daily.xxxx

  4. CJ says:

    I love them, especially on an allotment where they seem just right.

  5. Sue Moir says:

    Have a border of them at the lottie, they are just like a ray of sunshine.

  6. Orchardier says:

    They are wonderful, a little splash of sunshine

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Well, you know I’m not one of the haters! I love orange and your marigolds fit right in! I’ve been going through some paperwork and came across a birthday card you sent perhaps last year. It’s of a black and white kitty asleep among the flowers. SO LOVELY! I may have to take a pic of it and post 🙂 Happy weekend!

  8. Flighty says:

    Nikki good for you. I keep meaning to have a sort through my paperwork and cards, I wonder what I’ll find. I remember that one. That’s a good idea. Thanks, and you too. xx

  9. Julie says:

    Just lovely flighty and thank you for the mention xx

  10. I love marigolds, in all their garish colours, they are such happy plants, and look great in a vase too. I keep trying to photograph the “Flighty’s Mix” flowers that I sowed, but they have been buried under mange tout and then it has been too windy. Funnily enough I got really confused because a lot of “Indian Prince” came up and I had sown some of these myself, but then another kind popped up alongside them, I’ve only just realised that these must be from your mix and not from my own sowing!!

  11. elaine says:

    I’m afraid the ones you sent and my own are all mixed up now – but I do love a bit of orange in the garden – especially the veg patch, with everything else being more or less green, they cheer it up enormously.

  12. Sharon says:

    I love pot marigolds. Where I live they can be a nuisance as they seed all over the place, but I learnt to live with them. Especially as they are one of the bits of colour in garden at the moment – we are in the thick of winter (NZ). Nice to see the yellows, golds and oranges from the window on a drab wintry day. And they do keep some pests away from the veggies.

    • Flighty says:

      Sharon hello and welcome. Me too. I think that they do that anywhere. It’s nice to see any colour in the garden during the winter. They do indeed. xx

  13. Liz says:

    What a wonderful display of pot marigolds. The older I get, the more I like bright colors!

Leave a Reply

