Butterflies, cucumbers and sunflowers

It’s continued hot and humid through this week but thankfully there was some rain last night so it’s feeling a bit fresher today.

This week I’ve been seeing Gatekeeper butterflies and this morning photographed this one on the blackberry bush.

Gatekeeper butterfly

I looked under the cucumber leaves yesterday and was surprised to find this, which is about 7 inches long, over 2 inches diameter and tastes really good.

Cucumber 'Straight Eight'There are a couple more on the way but they have only just started to form. This is the first time that I’ve grown cucumbers from seed rather a plant that I’ve either bought or been given.

Red and yellow sunflowersMost of the sunflowers are the multi-headed red and yellow ones like these but there are some which only have a hint of red like this one.

Yellow sunflower with touch of redHave a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image] 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Butterflies, cucumbers and sunflowers

  1. Joanne says:

    We cut our first cucumber this week too, have a good weekend.

  2. lindasgarden says:

    awesome post Flighty have a good weekend your self

  3. Beautiful butterfly. Great cucumber, yes they do seem to hide under the huge leaves. Your sunflowers are amazing,Flighty 🙂

  4. snowbird says:

    What a wonderful little butterfly!

    Oh my….that cucumber is really impressive, the size of it!!!

    Sunflowers are such cheering plants and I love the many varieties they come in these days.xxxx

  5. NorthernTeacher says:

    Hi Flighty – have never seen a gatekeeper butterfly – perhaps they don’t come this far north. It’s amazing how far ahead your flowers are, although I was amazed when a poppy opened after a horrendous thunderstorm 2 days ago! It’s rained since and now it looks trashed. Been watching a large white lay eggs on nasturtiums and a small white lay one egg on several different veggies. Grr! I removed what I could find on the watercress and psb. Have a lovely weekend.

    • Flighty says:

      Jane that’s a shame, it’s seen as far north as south-east Yorkshire. I would say perhaps 3/4 weeks ahead of yours. Sadly that’s the problem with poppies. I’ve seen few white butterflies this year but regardless people have to net brassicas, which I don’t grow. Thanks. xx

  6. CJ says:

    Wonderful butterfly picture. I shall try and remember this one; I don’t know many varieties of butterfly. I did see lots of peacocks on buddleia at Slimbridge yesterday though. The cucumber is fantastic. I’m hoping for lots this year, between all of us and the guinea pigs we get through loads, so it would be helpful if we had a glut. Hope you have a good weekend. I think there should be some rain coming, so hopefully not too much watering required!

    • Flighty says:

      CJ thanks. I never remember which is which so always have to look up any I see in my garden wildlife book. It tastes as good as it looks, and unlike you I don’t want too many.
      Thanks again, there’s rain forecast for here tomorrow after lunch. xx

  7. Maggie says:

    What an amazing first cucumber! Lucky you. Great butterfly photo. X

  8. Doris says:

    Wonderful butterfly photo! We don’t have those here (as far as I know). The cucumber looks delicious (such a great summer treat) and I love the sunflower with just the hint of red – it is stunning!

  9. Alison says:

    Love the sunflowers! have a great weekend Flighty! xx

  10. Great buttefly shot, I am never fast enough, but there again, it is mostly cabbage whites in my garden anyway! Love your sunflowers. Hope you get some good plotting and more tasty cucumbers at the weekend.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet thanks, nor am I usually. Whites never seen to settle. I probably won’t be doing much plotting now until after the weekend, and more cucumbers will be a just while longer. xx

  11. annie_h says:

    Ooh I so love sunflowers they are so cheery. I’ve just harvested my first decent cucumber as well this week, they seem to be flourishing this year in the sunshine. Enjoy your weekend.

  12. Jenny Aspin says:

    I’ve never seen one of those butterflies either, but it’s a lovely, clear photo of it.

  13. elaine says:

    Fantastic cucumber – I always think they taste much better and juicier than shop bought ones. My sunflowers have just opened, only plain yellow though. I had three until one of the horses decided to eat one! Have a good weekend.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine thanks. Shop ones are ‘all water’ if you know what I mean! I do like the all yellow ones. That’s even better than a parakeet chomping them. Thanks, and you too. xx

  14. nikkipolani says:

    A friend of mine found some hidden cucumbers, too, but they’d gotten much too big and not particularly edible. Glad you got to yours in time! And very cheery sunflowers 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki what a pity that they weren’t spotted earlier. Me too, and there’s another one on the way which I shall check regularly. They are indeed. xx

  15. wellywoman says:

    Great shot of the gatekeeper. I haven’t spotted any yet this year and haven’t had the chance to do the butterfly count yet either. I plan to do that this weekend. Good to see your cucumbers doing so well.

  16. Liz says:

    A butterfly, good-looking cucumber, and assorted sunflowers. Good combination!

Leave a Reply

