All rather frazzled

Sweet peasI’ve certainly been feeling frazzled for much of this week thanks to the hot weather so my only plot visits have been for an hour or two early mornings.  All I’ve done when there is water and harvest some potatoes, broad beans, raspberries and sweet peas.

A young plot fox.On Friday I sat and watched a rather wary young fox drinking from the nearby pond.  Here it is elsewhere on the site a bit later.

StanleyThis morning I saw Stanley who I’m sure is feeling just as frazzled. He snaffled a couple of biscuits, had a drink of water then mostly sat or stood fairly quietly which is unlike him.

Red nasturtiumsThere’s plenty of colour on the plot, including cornflowers, love-in -a-mist, nasturtiums, pot marigolds, sunflowers and the layia elegans Tidy Tips, but overall it’s all looking slightly frazzled.

Red & yellow sunflower

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to All rather frazzled

  1. It’s cloudy and a more manageable 23/24 today over here 🙂

  2. Mark Willis says:

    In current weather conditions I’m quite glad I haven’t got an allotment to maintain. It’s very convenient having my veg plot in my back garden, and even a small plot needs a lot of watering when the temps are 30C+ !

  3. Joanne says:

    It has been a little overcast here for the past couple of days, which me & the plot have been thankful for.

  4. elaine says:

    Much cooler this weekend, thank goodness, managed to get loads done, jobs that have been waiting whilst I have been hiding indoors or sitting in the shade.

  5. nikkipolani says:

    While you’ve got all the too-hot-weather, we’ve had a much appreciated cooling trend. Well, cool by our usual July standards! Good thing you’ve still got a few things blooming. Flighty’s Favourite marigolds are still blooming away. I haven’t seen any of the other varieties germinate, but then you know my usual luck with seeds….. Hope you get a little less frazzled in the new week.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I bet that you’re thankful for that. There’s plenty blooming but they’re all too soon gasping for water. My pot marigolds now need dead-heading! Thanks, it looks like being cooler later in the week. xx

  6. CJ says:

    I went to the allotment on Wednesday at 2pm and did a load of watering in 30 degree heat. Felt a bit ill the next day. After that I am trying to go early or late. Hope you are feeling a little less frazzled soon Flighty.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ I’m not surprised that you felt as you did. I’m sure you know that it’s better for you and the plants if you can water early or late. Thanks, hopefully I will later in the week. xx

  7. snowbird says:

    Oh the fox is wonderful, I haven’t seen one close up in ages, so I can imagine how lovely it was for you to see it.

    Stanley is adorable, I pity him in this weather too.

    Your blooms look lovely, not at all frazzled, but I know what you mean, the ground needs a good soaking for sure.xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird we’ve always had resident foxes on the allotment site so I do see them quite often. We think that there’s just two young ones at present so they’re a bit wary.
      He’s a lovely dog, but like me not enjoying this weather.
      There’s plenty of frazzled blooms as well. There are cracks all over the plot, biggest are over an inch wide and a foot deep. xx

  8. Doris says:

    Great pictures and so nice to see the young fox! I am just de-frazzling too after a week long heat wave here in Montreal. So nice to finally get a reprieve from the humidity!

  9. Julie says:

    Loving the fox photo.. sometimes I see one when I’m walking the dog across the field near me.

    I’m feeling frazzled too because of the heat.. I’m not good with it! It’s going to be a hot one today and then thunderstorms.. as long as the rain doesn’t come down too hard and flatten everything it’ll be ok.
    Have a good week flighty. x

    • Flighty says:

      Julie thanks. I’m always pleased to see them.
      I sympathise. Very hot and humid here, with some heavy rain showers forecast later in the week.
      Thanks, and you too. xx

  10. menhir1 says:

    Keep up the fluid levels, your own levels, pets and plants, Mr F. Even for being frazzled, the blooms look to me as if they are revelling in the warmth/heat and sunshine.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I make sure that any pets, wildlife and me have plenty of water. Some of the plants are doubtless struggling a bit as I only water all round every few days. Everything is blooming okay but then finishing too quickly. xx

      • menhir1 says:

        My peony rose bush is fecund at this time of year, come what may, as are other perennials. Anything else has yet to flower, if they survive the winds. Enjoy your flowerings however brief. xx

  11. It has been rather frazzling, hasn’t it – the watering takes so long too, but lovely to see that you have so much colour. My mange-tout supports have collapsed all over the marigolds, so I mostly just have phacelia and sweet peas. Next year I will know to build sturdier supports! Stay cool Flighty, and enjoy the harvests.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet it sure has, and as you say watering does take time. Some of the flowers have been brilliant. That’s a shame.
      Thanks, I’ll try and I will. You too xx

  12. Maggie says:

    Hope that cooler weather is definitely on the cards and you feel less frazzled Flighty. I think we’re all in the same boat. x

  13. Liz says:

    Good to see Stanley and your fox friend. If I read the comments correctly, you are experiencing mid 80s F. I’m frazzled too, when it goes much over 75 F! Still, the flowers look as though they are keeping up with the heat. It’s the humidity that gets you.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I’m always happy to see my four-legged friends. Like you I don’t like it over 75 F, and I really don’t like the humidity. We also get the problem of poor air quality when it’s like that. xx

Leave a Reply

