Reasons to be cheerful

I have to say that I’m not too keen on this glorious weather which I find rather hot and humid, and the air quality has become noticeably worse. However there are plenty of reasons to be cheerful during my early morning visits to the plot.

Here’s the first of this year’s sunflowers,

This year's first sunflower

and how about these nasturtiums.

Nasturtiums

Lychnis coronaria Rose campion'The stachys lanata Lamb’s Ears is in fact a lynchnis coronaria Rose Campion which as you can see is now flowering.

I’m pretty sure that the other unknown plants are phlox paniculata.  They’re not far off flowering so I’ll wait until they do to confirm that.

Small skipper butterfly on a 'Tidy Tips'

The mystery flower buds that I showed in the post  Just a few more photos…  are now flowering and are layia elegans Tidy Tips. That’s a Small Skipper butterfly on this one. The new header picture also shows this pretty annual.

There was also a Small Tortoiseshell on one, as well as several on the nearby lavender.

Small tortoiseshell butterfly on the lavender

It’s been really pleasing to see so many of these butterflies this week, and to take a few photos of them. Here are a couple I took earlier in the week.

Small Skipper butterfly on the dogwood rose  Small Tortoiseshell butterfly on a backberry flower

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Reasons to be cheerful

  1. nikkipolani says:

    Well, DEFINITELY some pretty things to cheer you. I’ve just been admiring Rose Campion at a nursery and wondering if I could squeeze it in somewhere. Looks like everything is loving the sunshine.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki yes indeed, and all most welcome. I like the look of the white variety so may try some growing it from seed. Most things are but with higher temperatures over the weekend some may start wilting. xx

  2. sophiecussen says:

    Lovely photo’s. Great reason’s I’d say. What is that butterfly on the tidy-tips? It looks huge! Or is it just that flower head is small? I’m not sure but it’s very colourful 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Sophie hello, and thanks. That’s a small skipper, which due to it’s small size and the way it rests with wings at an angle often gets mistaken for a moth. The flower head is only 1 to 2 inches across. xx

  3. elaine says:

    You are definitely way ahead of me in the sunflower stakes that one is lovely. Still haven’t seen many butterflies yet but a few more bees are about – no ladybirds though! Hope you are able to keep cool this weekend.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine this one is way ahead of all the others. I’ve seen more butterflies on the plot this week than ever before, as well as plenty of bees and some ladybirds. Thanks I’m sure I will, and you too. xx

  4. Jo says:

    You may not be keen on this weather but your flowers definitely are, they’re all blooming wonderfully. I thought your mystery plant was lychnis, as I mentioned in the comments. I have it in my garden, in fact, it’s bidding for take over, it’s self seeded all over. I have a white vatiety too which I never planted so I presume it’s self seeded from somewhere. How lovely to see so many butterflies, I’ve only seen the odd white one about this year, definitely in short supply.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it’s been a brilliant week. I looked back and you did indeed so well spotted. I like the look of the white variety and may grow some from seed.
      It’s really been amazing seeing butterflies on the plot every day. xx

  5. menhir1 says:

    Delightful variety of life in your plot.

  6. Caro says:

    You do have some lovely flowers growing, Flighty! No wonder the butterflies are visiting you. I’ve only seen a few whites so far but noticed masses of tiny caterpillars under the Orach leaves. I know they’re a nuisance for most gardeners but I recall one sunny morning last year when all the whites were in flight over the veg patch – it was a glorious sight and one that I’d like to see again! (I think they had enjoyed the bolted PSB that I’d left for them. 🙂 )

  7. Jenny Aspin says:

    Your flowers are indeed lovely, Flighty. I have to agree with you about the weather, although today has been a little more manageable. The dogs are not keen on it either. Still, it’s definitely better than rain!

    • Flighty says:

      Jenny thanks. It looks like it’s going to get hotter here over the weekend. Dogs, and cats, do suffer a bit when it’s like this don’t they. It is, but I really could with some as the plot really needs a good soaking. xx

  8. It’s lovely to see your flowers blooming well. I know what you mean about hot and humid,even though it is nice to see a decent summer at long last. I only hope my hubby is able to cope with all the watering and jobs necessary,while I am away with my daughter and family until Sunday 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Cath thanks. Must as I’m not keen on this weather a descent summer is welcome.
      I’m sure that he has. Enjoy the rest of your holiday. xx

  9. Still waiting for sunfloo’ers to form. Have a few roses and anemones though

    • Flighty says:

      Horticuturalhobbit hello, and welcome. This one is way ahead of all the others. I’m sure that you won’t have to wait too long for yours. Both nice flowers. Cheers.

  10. snowbird says:

    Lovely to see your delightful blooms, my first sunflowers are out now as well, such a cheering plant and one that is good for wildlife.

    Those butterflies are WONDERFUL such a treat for me. I haven’t seen too many this year which is a shame, still, I suppose it’s early days.

    I’m hopeless in the heat but I’m too scared to complain as I don’t want the endless rain back, it sure takes a long time to get everything watered though! xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird I think that there should be sunflowers in all gardens and plots.
      I was well pleased, and rather surprised, to see so many butterflies.
      I sympathise, and feel sure that plenty of people feel the same as we do. xx

  11. Maggie says:

    That’s a lovely nasturtium variety. My sunflowers are almost there, two of which are from the seeds you sent me. The butterflies are gorgeous. Nice post Flighty. X

  12. Doris says:

    Lovely flowers and those butterflies are an added bonus!

  13. Liz says:

    Great pics with the butterflies. And the sunflower and nasturtiums are magnificent.

Leave a Reply

