Just a few more photos…

taken around the plot during the week.

Blue lavenderI bought some blue lavender plants late in 2011 which are only now starting to flower, which isn’t surprising as I moved them a couple of times last year. Even with my poor sense of smell I catch a whiff of them as I walk past, or work close by.

I replaced the crocuses in the long planter with nasturtium seeds which have grown well, and should be flowering soon. Meanwhile the leaves look good being bright green and rather different in shape to most plants.

Nastrtiums in the long planter

Common mallowIn complete contrast the common mallow (malva sylvestris) has rather tatty pin-holed leaves but the numerous flowers, which the bees like, more than make up for their appearance.

These plants have grown well from seed and I can now see flower buds forming. As to what they are I’ll tell, and show, you once they flower.

Flowering soon

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Just a few more photos…

  1. Caro says:

    How tantalising! Flighty, you’re teasing us with your mystery plant! I have no idea what it could be, although the leaves look a little like rocket? I love it when the nasturtiums and lavender flowers appear – although the nasturtiums here are always a surprise as they’re self-seeded so I never know whether I’ll get white, orange or red! (All are welcome!) I’m growing mallow from seed for the first time (it’s quite large, isn’t it!), the flowers are edible. Good to know the bees love it – my garden should be positively buzzing! Caro xx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I don’t think that you’ll have long to wait. It’s the same with my nasturtiums.
      Yes, one variety grows to around 5 feet. It also self seeds easily as I’ve never planted or sown it but have always had several plants on the plot. xx

  2. Jo says:

    I dug up my lavender as it had got so woody, but I bought a new plant which is now in flower, I just love the scent. I’ve stopped growing nasturtiums as they end up taking over if you don’t stop them from self seeding, though I do love the flowers and the strong colours they come in.

  3. Maggie says:

    Lovely photos Flighty. I like the mallow, pretty flowers. Have a good week too. x

  4. CJ says:

    Wonderful lavender, it’s just about my favourite scent. I’m wondering what the mystery flowers are. Not cosmos I think – the leaves are too solid, but maybe something similar. Hope you have a good week too.

  5. Julie says:

    Love lavender, I have several in my garden. There are several mallow plants in the field I walk my dog…totally buzzing with bees today. Have a great week. x

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Lavenders are wonderful — glad they have survived the moves and now seem to have settled in. Those malva blooms are quite nice. I like them though their stems and leaves make me itch 😦

  7. snowbird says:

    Oh I do love the scent of lavender….gorgeous!
    My nasturtiums are at the same stage as yours….I love to eat their flowers….they are edible and lovely in salads.

    Ahha…the mystery plant has me flummoxed…it does look like rocket, but the leaves are too thick and the bud is more like a type of cornflower or marigold….xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird you, me and most gardeners I reckon. It looks like the nasturtiums will be starting to flower this week. That’s something I keep meaning to do.
      I’m not surprised, but another week or so and all should be revealed. xx

  8. Doris says:

    I am always happy to see your photos! Have a good week too!

  9. Liz says:

    We all love lavender, it seems! I wish nasturtiums would self seed with abandon here, because they are so attractive, and edible! The mallow is pretty too. And the mystery plant is. . . ?!

Leave a Reply

