White…

is my one of my favourite flower colours. I think that’s because it shows up so well against green foliage.

White love-in-a-mistLast year I grew a group of white love-in-a-mist (nigella damascena) that I mostly left to self-seed which have now flowered and Β look reallyΒ good.

What I hadn’t realised before is that there are singles as well as the more familiar doubles. A couple of the former can be seen at the bottom right of this picture.

The few blue interlopers will be dead headed before they get a chance to self-seed.

Other white flowers that I grow include cornflowers, cosmos and the dogwood rose. The latter’s flowers don’t last long but it keeps on Β blooming for a good while.

Dogwood roses

Another white flower that I like to see is the blackberry.

Blackberry flower

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to White…

  1. menhir1 says:

    There are mood songs about colour; Over The Rainbow, Black is Black, but, you know, I cannot thing of a title that specifically focuses on white. There probably is one, if so, it just does not present itself to me. xx

  2. Jo says:

    I love the dogwood rose. I also grow cosmos Purity, it’s a lovely flower. I’ve grown more and more fond of white flowers over the last few years.

  3. Harry says:

    I remember ‘Snow in Summer’ from childhood, and forgot that my mother kept it in large pots. So when I had my first garden I got a bit from her. However I planted it straight into the garden, and from henceforth, I had a tenacious weed on my hands. However it is a lovely plant.

  4. Doris says:

    Wonderful white flowers Flighty!

  5. maggie says:

    They do look stunning Flighty. x

  6. snowbird says:

    The white love-in-a-mist looks so pretty, as does the blackberry. I have double anemones this year which I’ve never had before, and big strong blooms too.xxxx

  7. annie_h says:

    Love-in-a-mist, a haze of lovely flowers and then you get the lovely seedpods which are almost as nice as the flowers. My white flowers of the moment are some white foxgloves and white sweet rocket, both which readily self-seed.

  8. CJ says:

    White flowers are my favourites too. The love-in-a-mist is lovely. I’ve got a nice white rose which is blooming at the moment which would look lovely mixed with some of them. Hope you have a good week Flighty.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Whites have a special freshness about them. I like the few brave blue nigellas that have joined the mostly-white crowd.

  10. Joanne says:

    Lovely photos, for some reason I have a pure white lupin this year. I shall have to take a photo.

  11. NorthernTeacher says:

    Hello Flightly, I was surprised to find 3 white digitalis appear from ‘nowhere’ this year! Nature is so clever πŸ˜‰ Love your pics!

  12. There are no flowers on my blackberry yet, but I can see them blossoming in the nature reserve behind my garden. That means crumbles will be on the menu soon πŸ™‚

    I love white flowers in the garden too, for the same reason as you, that they really stand out. My favourite one this year has been my Shirley Temple Paeony. Your Love-in-a-Mist looks just beautiful in white.

  13. Liz says:

    White flowers carry so well into night. I love the moonflower vine, Ipomoea alba, that open up in the summer evenings.

Leave a Reply

