I’ve nearly finished…

planting and sowing for this year. One cucumber and various tomatoes have now been planted out, and I’ve sown some more flower and vegetable seeds.

The oriental poppies have been amazing over the past week. This picture was taken yesterday when there were eighteen flowers.

Oriental poppies

Oriental poppy headThere were bees buzzing all over them which was fascinating to watch. Sadly these flowers are short lived and by today one had already lost it’s petals.  I intend cutting them right back as new foliage will grow fairly quickly and there should be some more flowers in a couple of months. I’ve not done this before so I’ll let you know what happens.

This morning I weeded all round the strawberry patch. I’d replanted twelve last autumn, and all but one are growing well. They are well spaced so I should be able to step between them without any problem,  but as you can see I’ve let some pot marigolds grow around them!

The strawberry patchA nearly ripe strawberryThere is plenty of fruit forming with a few looking like this.  As I’ve said before I’m not that fussed about strawberries, and much prefer raspberries.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to I’ve nearly finished…

  1. menhir1 says:

    Your double crop of of poppies: is it dependent on a long warm season? The strawberries do look attractive.xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I’m not sure but I’m told that it needs to be done as soon as these flowers are finished. They’ll look even better when they red and ready to eat. xx

  2. CJ says:

    Raspberries have my vote too, although I am looking forward to the first of the strawberries which are just about ready. I have taken your advice and put in as much as I can at the allotment – carrots, beetroots and peas, plus cucumber and bean plants. Hopefully they will come up faster than the weeds – the carrots I planted a few weeks ago are lost in a row of weeds. Beautiful poppies Flighty, so very exotic.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ good for you, me too even though I’m not that fussed about them. At this time of year it should germinate and grow quickly. As for the weeds…! They sure are. xx

  3. snowbird says:

    Oh my….I LOVE those poppies, I do hope you get a second bloom. It’s wonderful that you are so organised, and lovely that you can now just watch it all grow. The strawberries look wonderful….keep a few for me!!! xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird they are amazing flowers, me too. I think that it’s having the time to plot as I do now as much as being organised. At the moment there’s noticeable changes every day. As I commented above they’ll look even better when red…will do. xx

  4. Love the Poppies and good for the bees. Your strawberry patch looks lovely and weed free and I see your pot marigolds, the leaves are so different from the french marigolds. I see a few nasturtiums in there too 🙂 Nice for you to be able to just watch them grow now,Flighty. I am just starting to get the old potato bed in the tunnel ready for autumn/winter carrots and parsnips and leeks. 🙂

  5. Flighty says:

    Cath there were plenty of weeds before I took the photo. Yes pot and French marigolds are very different plants. I grow plenty of nasturtiums as you’ll see in future posts. Good for you, me and the plot have a break over the winter. xx

  6. Maggie says:

    Interesting what you say about cutting back the poppies, I may try that myself. Thanks for the idea. X

  7. Nikki-ann says:

    Looks like your garden is flourishing… I’m hoping mine gets a move on soon!

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, that patch of poppies is charming indeed. Of the berries, I think blackberries are my favorite. Their flavor seems more intense (at least here) than either strawberries or raspberries. Your strawberries look well on their way 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki they’ve really done well this year. Blackberries come a very close second for me, and one of my favourite puddings is apple and blackberry crumble. They do indeed. xx

  9. Joanne says:

    I was gazing at my poppies this morning & watching the bees too, I agree they are fascinating to watch.

  10. elaine says:

    Gorgeous poppies make a real splash of colour. I don’t think the raspberries will be too long – I didn’t get any last year but the bushes are full of forming fruit – goodee.

  11. Jo says:

    I’m the other way around, strawberries rather than raspberries. Glad to hear that the bees are enjoying your poppies as much as you are.

  12. Polythene Pam says:

    why can’t I grow poppies? why? why? and I love them too.

  13. lindasgarden says:

    Reblogged this on My garden and it's wildlife by wildlife Linda and commented:
    awesome post

  14. I love raspberries too, but strawberries have my vote for home growing as well. They just taste so much fresher straight from the garden/allotment. I hope you get a good crop, I’ve been eating mine for breakfast and desserts.

  15. Flighty says:

    Paula they all taste so much better as well as fresher. Thanks I hope so too. I usually eat my strawberries with my breakfast cereal. xx

  16. Liz says:

    What magnificent poppies! Your strawberries and calendulas — weed free and thriving. Good work!

Leave a Reply

