Pot marigolds Flighty’s favourites – 2013/1

Regular readers will know only too well that I grow lots of pot marigolds (calendula officinalis) which I call Flighty’s favourites. Last autumn I collected seed, that I sowed about a month or so back, and let some self-seed the first of which has almost flowered.

The first of this year's pot marigolds

This year I’m going to try and take photos of all the distinct colour variations, of which I think there should be at least ten.

I’m going to do separate posts, of which this is the first, as a record of Pot marigolds Flighty’s favourites – 2013.

Here’s another one that’s almost flowering.

And another pot marigold

Chiltern SeedsΒ in their catalogue for their Mixture of all Varieties reads To bring back fun into gardening, this is a jolly mixture of Marigolds to brighten gardens, lives and outlooks.

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pot marigolds Flighty’s favourites – 2013/1

  1. snowbird says:

    Oh I can’t wait for mine to flower….I do hope they look like that. Mine are now grown on and planted in tubs. I wait with baited breath!!! xxxx

  2. Jo says:

    Mine look to be doing well so far, no sign of any blooms though yet. It’s a good idea to document all the different colours you get.

  3. menhir1 says:

    Calendulas can be a great fiery mix of colour and so cheerful to look at. xx

  4. Your marigolds are a beautiful colour,Flighty. Can’t wait to see all the different hues! Mine are the orange ones and I planted most of them in the flower garden, but I have a few in the tunnel near my tomatoes for companion planting πŸ™‚

  5. CJ says:

    Lovely, and they always look so pretty in the vegetable garden. I will wait to see what colour variations you have.

  6. Maggie says:

    I have several all over the garden, many are in bud. Looking forward to them flowering. Must be nice to know you’ll have lots of Flighty’s favourites popping up all over the place. X

  7. nikkipolani says:

    I’ve only recently been taken with the golden to tangerine range in flower colors and these fit right in. It’ll be terrific to see your favourites featured here.

  8. annie_h says:

    They are such cheerful flowers and a must in my garden and at the allotment. I started with a packet of seed of Calendula ‘Orange King’ and I’ve collected seed and its self-seeded ever since. Its a really bright orange. I’ve sowed some of your kindly given seed and they are growing well but not quite ready to flower yet but I’m looking forward to getting some in different hues, the rusty orange looks lovely.

    • Flighty says:

      Annie well done. Like you I started with just one packet of seeds, which were a mix I think. They’re profilic self-seeders if you let them. It’ll be good to see what colours you, and everyone, have. xx

  9. Liz says:

    Your calendulas look so pretty and with a foot of snow outside (Feb 2015), I placed a catalogue order for seeds: calendula touch of red orange, California poppy, and the Jersey walking stick kale! Now to dream of suitable seed sowing conditions and spring!

Leave a Reply

