A quick look round…

the plot on the way home at lunch time today.

Potato 'Vales Emerald' flowersI hope that the first early potatoes Vales Emerald will be as good as the flowers are!

Green salad lettuceI sowed some Lettuce Mix Red and Green Salad Bowl but only the Green ones have appeared.

Leaf Beet 'Bright Lights'These are Leaf Beet Bright Lights which I’ve not grown before.

Nigella flowerI mentioned on Thursday that I’m going to sow some more Nigella Persian Jewels. 

Nigella 'Persian Jewels'Some self-seeded from last year with this white flower being the first to appear with lots more to come soon.

Dogwood roseThe dogwood rose has started flowering, although I hadn’t realised it as this flower was almost out of sight under the leaves.

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to A quick look round…

  1. elaine says:

    Lovely to see everything coming into flower – especially the potato flowers, they are pretty aren’t they. The sun has just come out briefly here so I’ve been planting out cosmos and lavatera in the front border now that I have removed the bluebells and forget-me-nots. It looks very bare now.

  2. Jo says:

    It doesn’t look long until you’ll be enjoying the taste of home grown potatoes, mine look nowhere near ready to flower yet. I’m a fan of Salad Bowl. We’re not huge salad eaters so I prefer the cut and come varities so there’s no waste.

  3. snowbird says:

    How wonderful that your potatoes are flowering, that bodes well. They are such pretty flowers too.

    I do love the Dogwood rose, it’s so pretty. Everything is coming along nicely, I think the glorious sunshine helps.xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird I hope so. They are, but many people remove them.
      So do I even though I bought it as an ‘Iceberg’ which reverted! It sure is, and it sure does. xx

  4. Flighty…..just heard blight is on the way to Ireland. We sprayed this evening!..Just a heads up for you 😉

  5. Doris says:

    I like those Vales Emerald flowers! They remind me of Bittersweet Nightshade flowers and I saw some today. 🙂

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, look at your plot coming to life with all those flowers! Just when mine is taking a short nap 😉 Hope those potatoes do well. Flowers are sure sweet.

  7. I found some potatoes growing in the garden (again!), and have decided to leave them be. They’re not flowering yet though. It looks like you’ll have a nice early crop.

    I do love Nigella, it’s so pretty when it self seeds in large amounts.

  8. menhir1 says:

    Surprising and delightful floral display from the potatoes. I am growing mixed leaves, there are a good number of rust coloured seedlings popping up amongst various green shades. Mine are not as far on as yours. I live in hope! Some of the seeds were a few years old.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir people tend to remove the flowers which seems a shame. Lucky you as I can’t see any red ones among mine. The seed is good for three years. xx

      • menhir1 says:

        I’m not sure how old my seeds are, I’m pretty sure that some of my seedlings, including cornflowers and other flowers, are older than three years; that’s why I live in hope.
        I guess with flowers and removal of them, on potato plants, it might have something do do with the vigorousness of growth and palatability of the final product. Hubby has three varieties of potatoes growing, two varieties are unusual ones; so far, I have not seen flowers on any of the plants, but again, it could be that your plant growth is ahead of ours. I must ask him how he would deal with any flowers that might appear.

        • Flighty says:

          Menhir it’s always worth sowing any seeds, but obviously the older they are the less viable they’re likely to be.
          People also remove potato flowers as the green fruit that forms is poisonous. I shall remove mine before that happens. Some varieties don’t seem to flower much, if at all. xx

  9. maggie says:

    The nigella look lovely Flighty, great photos. x

  10. Beautiful flowers on those potatoes! I really must make a note to get some nigella seed for next year, it would be perfect in the front garden, and could self seed around to its hearts delight alongside the forget-me-nots, picking up the baton so to speak. Its all looking good Flighty.

  11. annie_h says:

    You’ll be enjoying your potatoes soon Flighty, thats great. Lovely to see the Nigella flowers, I’ve some that have self-seeded on the allotment and a few in the garden, but not quite flowering size yet.

Leave a Reply

