There was cake!

I have fond, if now somewhat faded, memories of enjoying Sunday tea on the lawn during the summer when I was a young child. There would have been sandwiches, tinned fruit, orange squash and of course cake. Mum was a good cook but tended to keep to pretty basic recipes so it would usually have been a jam sponge with icing on top.

Nowadays the only home baked caked that I regularly eat are those provided by Colin, the horticultural society treasurer, some Sunday mornings when the trading shed is open. Β He does us proud with his almond and cherry, coconut, date and walnut and gingerbread cakes. Occasionally he does almond slices which always seem to disappear far too quickly.

Strawberry gateauxI didn’t think he’d be providing any today so was going to title the post What no cake!Β  However he arrived with a shop bought strawberry gateaux so I’ve had to change it to There was cake!

For other gardening and cake posts have a look at VegPlotting’s post Β I Knew You Were Coming So I Baked a Cake.

Have a good week, and don’t eat too much cake!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to There was cake!

  1. VP says:

    Gosh that’s very impressive πŸ™‚ I’m so pleased some cake did turn up at your allotment today, the actual sharing of cake was one of the things I wanted to be shown in the Bloggers’ Cut.

    I’ve started putting a map together showing everyone’s location and the cake available, just to see where our journey gets us!

    BTW What’s your favourite cake – the almond slices or something else?

    Thanks for joining in today
    xx

    • Flighty says:

      VP thanks. The cakes, and biscuits, are for the shed helpers but often get shared with some of the other members, and any four legged friends.
      Of Colin’s cakes the almond slices are a favourite, otherwise it would probably be double chocolate sponge cake!
      My pleasure. xx

  2. Maggie says:

    Sunday tea was something I always looked forward to, homemade drop scones and treats my Nan would buy from M & S. Tea in our house came after bath time, 5 kids one after another with the same water, me being the youngest was always last. Glad you had some tasty treats Flighty. Thanks for the inspiration. X

    • Flighty says:

      Maggie it’s a fine tradition. I bet that you were glad to have tea after your bath!
      So am I. You’re welcome, and thanks for doing a post. xx

  3. snowbird says:

    Lol….delighted to hear that you DID get some cake after all. The descriptions of the homemade cake had me salivating.xxxx

  4. CJ says:

    Childhood tea on the lawn sounds wonderful. Something I should try with my little people I think. I meant to have cake in the garden today, but ended up picnicking at Portishead. There was cricket, football, rowing on the boating lake and cookies. We did do a little gardening before we went though, putting out tomatoes and cucumbers. Just forgot to eat any cake. The one you had looks delicious. There’s nothing so exotic at our trading shed unfortunately.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it’s something that people don’t seem to do much nowadays. Mind you having a picnic sounds nearly as good. I have to say that it’s usually just biscuits at the trading shed. xx

  5. Jo says:

    That looks delicious, but I don’t think you can beat home baked. I try not to make too much at the moment as it only makes me want to eat it and it’s not doing my waistline any good at all.

  6. Uummmmm, cake. Delicious.

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Sunday tea on the lawn sounds just the ticket. Mmmm. I was so inspired by your anticipation of cake that I made some little financiers tonight. NOTHING like fresh cakes warm from the oven with a bit of crispy edges…. and a cup of tea. Glad your friend Colin came through πŸ™‚

  8. Polythene Pam says:

    Cake! Hooray!

  9. How very civilized to have cake at the allotments, ours never had anything so good!

  10. Mmmm, yum, that looks like a great cake. You can’t beat a homemade one, they knock spots off shop bought versions πŸ™‚ Saying that, my mum didn’t bake when I was growing up, so we always had French Fancies for Saturday tea.

  11. wellywoman says:

    I love the sound of Colin’s cakes. I’m drooling at the thought. πŸ™‚

  12. You tantalised us with descriptions of all sorts of delicious home-made things but then displayed a bought cake. It looks a very nice bought cake though. (You’ve made me nostalgic with your description of tinned fruit and orange squash.)

  13. Liz says:

    The descriptions of cake sound mouth-watering. My mother made a a Victoria sponge every week. I can see her now, creaming the butter and sugar with a wooden spoon and then adding the eggs and the flour mixture with a metal spoon. No electric gadgets. How did she do it? For my birthday each year, she’d make a 3-tier sponge, one layer plain, one red, one chocolate with raspberry jam between the layers and a lemon icing topped with 100s and 1000s and silver balls. Was I one lucky girl?!

Leave a Reply

