Rain, trees and cake

I was plotting on Monday but I have to admit that it was a bit half hearted as there were too many people mowing, rotovating and strimming.  Since then there’s been rain every day so I only had a quick squelch round yesterday morning. Thankfully the forecast is for drier, sunnier and warmer weather from tomorrow through to at least Monday.

The plum treeThe plum tree is now in full leaf and I shall be keeping an eye on it to see if any fruit starts forming.

The plot hawthornOnce again the hawthorn showed no signs of blossoming so I’ve trimmed it to keep in in bounds.

The dogwood (cornus alba Sibirica) is looking interesting with lots of clusters of tiny flowers on the way.

Dogwood branch

Colour at the moment is being provided by the poached egg plants around the pond.

Poached egg plant flowers

Veg Plotting suggested in her post last Sunday that as part of the Chelsea Fringe fellow bloggers might like to do a garden and cake post this coming Sunday. What a good idea so that’s what I’ll be doing. 

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Rain, trees and cake

  1. Joanne says:

    A garden & cake post sounds fun. Its nice to see photos of your plot.

  2. Maggie says:

    Cake and garden, two of my favourite things in the world! I’m game.
    Everything looks so green and lush on your plot Flighty. Looking forward to better weather. Happy baking! X

  3. I hope your plum tree bares fruits,Flighty. Another warm sunny day here in Ireland….2 days in a row now!!!! Our bank holiday is this weekend,so we hope the weather keeps up 🙂

  4. menhir1 says:

    It’s beginning to sound like an uphill challenge to plot. There’s nowt wrong wi’ a bit o graass. xx

    😉

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it’s not that bad but at this time of year a few more days plotting, rather than armchair gardening, would be helpful. I quite agree. xx

  5. The poached egg flowers are lovely around your pond, Flighty. What is with all this rain again! We’ve had a few really hot days here in London, but mostly it’s been dull and wet here too. We need the sun to ripen up all the veggies now.

  6. Jo says:

    It’s been raining here too, definitely not gardening weather. Hope you get some plums, my tree is too young to produce anything this year, but I’m looking forward to the time when I see it bearing fruit.

  7. snowbird says:

    You seem to have similar weather to us, I do hope it picks up. Fingers crossed that you get lots of plums, my fruit is setting nicely.

    I do love those poached egg plants, I’ve grown lots from seed this year and have just begun planting them out.xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird it’s better here today, with a good weekend forcast.
      These were one packet of seed sown a few years ago which I just let self-seed every year. xx

  8. elaine says:

    My poached egg plants aren’t in flower yet – it must be that bit warmer down south. May be your hawthorn is a male plant.

  9. CJ says:

    Squelchy here in the SW too. I have a few tiny plumlets on the tree I put in on my plot, I will be thrilled if there are actual plums. Cake in the garden on Sunday sounds wonderful. We are excellent at cake in the garden here…

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it’s been dry today and the plot wasn’t too bad. There were a few marble sized ones on mine last year so this year…. Well done, I’m sure that it’s due to lots of practise. xx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    How sweet those poached egg flowers look. Can’t imagine squelch gardening to be much fun. But hopefully better this weekend!

  11. VP says:

    Thanks Flighty – it’ll be lovely to ‘see’ you on Sunday 🙂 Shhhh – the weather’s just got warmer!
    x

  12. Your poached egg plants look wonderful, mine are still diddy and far from flowering, though I have so many I shall use some to brighten up the front garden as well as putting them in amongst the fruit and beans.

  13. Pingback: Gardening and cake post. | quitegifted

  14. Liz says:

    Is it the rain? Everything looks so green and lush.

Leave a Reply

