Six years ago today…

I did the first post here on Flighty’s plot although at that time I didn’t actually have an allotment. It was another month before I did and I’ve been happily plotting and blogging about it ever since.

I’m very much a fun gardener, and not really much of a foodie, so for me it’s not the end result of eating my own vegetables that is all important. For me it’s the sheer overall enjoyment and satisfaction I get from plotting in all it’s aspects.

Inevitably there have been ups and downs, with thankfully relatively few of the later. Even last year, as bad as it was, saw some successes and like most gardeners I’m usually optimistic and stoic.

It’s sunny here today but I note that six years ago it was grey and wet.  All gardeners talk about the weather as it’s one of the most important aspects of gardening, although it’s the one thing that we have no control over.  I had to laugh  a few days ago when I saw what someone had written on one of the gardening forums…

I really like summer, it’s my favourite day of the year!

Thank goodness for a sense of humour, it’s sure needed if you’re a gardener.

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Six years ago today…

  1. elaine says:

    Congratulations for sticking it out for so long – I know your plot gives you a lot of pleasure, just being outside and pottering about with your beloved flowers and wild life. When life sometimes throws you a curved ball it is reassuring to be able to forget about things and just enjoy the pleasure of growing. Here’s to the next six years.

  2. VP says:

    Happy blogaversary Flighty! You were one of my first discoveries (and commenters!) after I started to blog. It’s great that you’re still going strong 🙂
    xxx

  3. Jo says:

    Congratulations on six years of blogging and plotting. I think enjoyment has to be the main factor in gardening, I don’t think we’d get very far if we didn’t enjoy it. It’s a lovely day again here today, so nice to have some sunshine at last. I hope we can all make the most of it.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks. I could never be a serious grower, many of whom don’t seem to enjoy it much.
      Same here, I hope that you’ve had a good day. xx

  4. Congrats on your 6th year. I think gardening is one of the best pastimes ever, being out and about,fresh air and exercise,and one with nature.The eating of the harvest is an added bonus.
    Continued happy gardening for many more years to come,Flighty 🙂

  5. Caro says:

    Time flies when you’re having fun! Jolly well done on six years of blogging; I’m glad you have persevered, I especially enjoy reading your blog, Flighty, it’s always such a nice gentle read with the pleasure that you derive from your plot written into every post. Caro xx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Think of all you’ve learned over these six years. And all the creatures who’ve visited your plot — not to mention all the creatures of the human variety via this blog! Congrats, Flighty.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki that’s another aspect to it which has been good. I’ve been amazed at the variety of wildlife I’ve seen. As for friends here you’ve all been wonderful. Thanks. xx

  7. Doris says:

    Congratulations on your six years of blogging and plotting. I hope you enjoyed your six DAYS of summer in all that time! Ha! Ha!

  8. Jenny Aspin says:

    Congratulations, Flighty. Please note, we have, this weekend, had two consecutive days of summer this year. You being in the south east, could well have most of a third day tomorrow. 😉

  9. menhir1 says:

    An allotmenteer, six years young…great stuff! may you continue to be able to quietly plot away. I like the weather comment. I think we’re still crossing our fingers for a steady period of Spring. 🙂

  10. Charlotte says:

    Congratulations! I have always enjoyed reading your posts and I hope to enjoy reading more in years to come! Here’s to many more years of plotting and blogging.

    • Flighty says:

      Charlotte thanks. That’s nice to know, and I hope to continue both for a good while yet. You kindly sent some seeds when I first started so if I can ever repay the favour please let me know. xx

  11. David Ford says:

    Well done Flighty your blog is fun light hearted and not overly long always a pleasure, here`s to the next milestone 10years

  12. CJ says:

    Wow, six years, congratulations Flighty, that’s fantastic. And six years of allotmenting too. It’s all good! Thank you for your blog, I love reading it, it’s a happy place to visit. Keep going please!

  13. Alison says:

    Yay!!! 6 years!!! I wonder how long have I been reading your blog posts and plotting? I do so enjoy reading and seeing photos of veggies, flowers, birds, frogs, foxes, butterflies… all of them. Looking forward to reading more. xx

  14. Maggie says:

    Well done to you Mike. Such a great blog you have nurtured like your plot. Thank you also for being so generous with your time and knowledge. X

  15. snowbird says:

    Awww….how lovely! Congratulations. I’m with you here, whatever the weather and outcomes gardening and wildlife are an addiction and once you start it’s impossible to stop. I’m glad I found you last year.xxxx

  16. Wow, that’s impressive Flighty, and your enthusiasm for plotting still shines through. And you are so right, a sense of humour is the most important tool in any gardener’s arsenal.

  17. Joanne says:

    Congratulations Flighty. I think a fun gardener is the best type to be. I know my dad used to be quite serious about his & was always frustrated by my stick it in & see philosophy. Also many thanks for the help you have given me this past twelve months.

    • Flighty says:

      Joanne thanks. My mum was a fun gardener, which really annoyed one of her neighbours who was far too serious. You’re most welcome, I’m always happy to help if I can. xx

  18. Happy Blogiversary Flighty! Six years is a long time, you have a wealth of knowledge now and it’s great that you are sharing it so generously. Here’s to the next six years 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Paula my apologies I’ve only just noticed that I never replied to your comment! Many thanks, it’s gone by quickly and I’ve always been happy to share what I know as I do. xx

Leave a Reply

