It’s not been much fun…

plotting this week as it’s been blustery, cool and overcast. This morning was nose-drippingly cold being only a few degrees above zero in the north-westerly wind.

Anyway I’ve concentrated on the vegetable patches and got plenty done including sowing the rest of the broad beans, the first lots of climbing French beans Barlotto Lingua di Fuoco and two varieties of runner beans, St George and  White Lady. I’ve been given a packet of dwarf French beans Canadian Wonder which I shall sow next week. I’ve only grown climbing ones before so it’ll be interesting to see how these do.

Pot marigolds on the vegetable patchYesterday and today I hand weeded all round the onion and potato patches.  In the middle of another vegetable patch are these pot marigolds which I shall leave to grow and flower.

One bright spot today was spotting two foxes wandering around my end of the site much to the consternation of the magpies.  We’re not sure how many there are resident at present, and I’ve not seen any for ages.

There’s rain due later today and most of tomorrow then the forecast is for it to be sunnier, warmer and less windy.  I sure hope so.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to It’s not been much fun…

  1. elaine says:

    It actually snowed whilst I was out shopping this morning! It would be lovely just to have a few days of sun instead of the odd one here and there. Seems summer is delayed once again. Have a good weekend.

  2. CJ says:

    It’s blowing a gale here. The ground did need a shower though, so I won’t complain about the rain. Looking forward to the sunshine on Saturday, although I don’t think there will be any plotting. Picnicking is more likely.

  3. Warm sunny spells here,but the wind is nippy.The temps are suppose to go down again,so might have to cover the outside spuds at night! I grow dwarf french beans and they grow to about 2 ft. tall inside my tunnel.Just earth them up and give them a little stake.Great work done by you,Flighty.Roll on heat 🙂

  4. wellywoman says:

    It has been a bit miserable hasn’t it? Although the weekend is meant to be warmer. Fingers crossed. 🙂 I find the dwarf beans crop over a much shorter time so successional sowing is good. I’m growing some yellow ones but are on my windowsill at the moment and desperately need planting out. Have a great weekend. WW x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly it sure has, and today has been even worse. Hopefully the weekend will be better. I’m planning on sowing them in two lots. Thanks, and you too. xx

  5. Doris says:

    Lots of rain here in Montreal right now (and forecasted for the next few days). I’m glad you saw foxes! I hope they will do well. Have a nice weekend!

    • Flighty says:

      Doris here’s hoping that we all get some much needed sunshine soon. It’ll be good to find out how many there are, and so do I. Thanks, and you too. xx

  6. maggie says:

    I was down the bottom of the garden when we had hail this morning, then I tried again this afternoon and there was thunder and lightening so not a good idea to be potting up under a garden parasol. Hope the weather is better and you have a good long weekend. x

  7. snowbird says:

    What a shame about your dismal weather, it’s pretty similar here, today it’s blowing a gale and most of the week it’s rained.
    The marigolds should be a lovely blaze of colour in the veggie patch, I have thousands of poppy seedlings in my veggie patch and really can’t bring myself to weed them out, they don’t take much from the ground….

    What a treat to see the foxes….you’ll have to try and get a pic, I’d love to see them.xxxx

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Ugh. No fun gardening in drippy weather. Maybe if you had a glass enclosure you could sit out as Snowbird did once and just observe how things are doing. Oh, some of the pot marigold seeds you sent have germinated. Fingers crossed!

  9. Jo says:

    I think you’ve done the right thing leaving the sowing until now. I sowed my beans a couple of weeks ago and they’re not doing much, a few have germinated but not many, down to the weather I think. It’s raining here today and it’s terribly windy too, I do hope it’s a nice bank holiday weekend though. How lovely to see the foxes, it’s nice to know they’re still about.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I could really have waited another week or so. Not surprisingly we all seem to be having the same problems one way or another.Not nice here today.
      Yes I was well pleased to see two of them. xx

  10. Caro says:

    I hope you’re pleased with your Canadian Wonder beans, Flighty. I grew them last year and was very pleased with them. Sturdy, prolific and tasty. A great little plant!

  11. Hannah says:

    I’m growing White Lady too, they provided plenty of beans last year. We still have some in the freezer, despite making chutney!

  12. menhir1 says:

    One thing is for sure, you won’t need to be watering anything for a bit. Another silver lining is, I believe, that slower growing plants, ( those slowed by nature!) could produce more flavourful fruits and veggies, and stronger flowering growth, when it happens. I’m not sure about perfume levels though. XX

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it’s raining today so still okay. I agree with what you say, so hopefully it could end up being a good year. Nor me, but as my sense of smell isn’t good I’m not too worried. xx

Leave a Reply

