Marley, and at home

MarleyI was at the horticultural trading shed as usual this morning when I heard the skittering of dog claws on the floor behind me. I turned round to find Marley, the Staffie, sitting looking at me patiently waiting for a biscuit or two.

Gardener's Delight, Golden Queen & Outdoor Girl tomato plantsAt home I’ve a few plants growing in pots on the window sill. There are tomatoes – two each Gardener’s Delight, Golden Queen and Outdoor Girl. You’ll notice that the leaves of the latter, on the right in the picture, are different to most tomatoes. These will all be planted out on the plot next month.

Cucumber & tomato plantsI’m also growing a couple each indoor tomatoes Red Robin and Tumbling Tom Yellow, and two cucumbers Straight Eight which germinated in just a few days.  Sown at the same time were two each courgette Nero di Milano and squash Sunburst F1 none of which have germinated so I’ll sow some more in the next day or two.

Pelargonium 'Frank Headley'The pelargonium Frank Headley that I bought a couple of months ago now has flower buds on it which is good to see.

The forecast is for unsettled weather, including heavy rain, through the coming week but I hope to do some plotting, even if it’s only weeding.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Marley, and at home

  1. menhir1 says:

    Your houseplants seem to be thriving. Mine usually do, except herbs, which, after two or three weeks attract miniature diseases and the easiest thing to do, is to recycle them and friends on a compost heap. I am anxiously looking at the current ones, gifted a fortnight past; I hope it turns out to be a need for water (they’ve been tended + watered most days) and nothing else. I am watching.

    The staffie looks great. Our local one has tempted hubby to want one just the same; it smiles when you pat it, and submissively rolls onto its back inviting you, the attentive one, to give the exposed tum a tickle and a rub!

    The coming week sounds like a variable gardening/plotting one.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir rest assured they’re not all thriving as there are some I’ve not mentioned!
      It’s a shame that Staffies have had such bad press when it’s not deserved, and sadly it’s nearly always bad owners.
      I was plotting this morning but will be lucky if I get to do much, if anything, the rest of the week. xx

  2. Jo says:

    I think all the dogs must enjoy their trips to the trading shed when you’re on duty. I’m hoping to grow Sunburst squash too. I’ve sown the seeds but they haven’t germinated yet. I grew them last year and they were delicious.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I’m there every week and always happy to welcome any four legged friends that visit. I’m going to sow a couple more tomorrow in the hope that one germinates this time. xx

  3. Joanne says:

    I hope Marley got his wish for a couple of biscuits

  4. Doris says:

    Everything looks great and Marley must be a happy dog when he sees you! 🙂

  5. snowbird says:

    Oh Marley is delightful!!! I bet you carry biscuits in your pockets!!!

    Those toms do look wonderful, my seedlings have only just germinated, I really must grow them indoors. We’ve had a week of rain and wind and much of the same forcast this week. I think you’re right, we do have to get out whatever the weather.xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird yes he really is. No there’re in the biscuit tin!
      They really need some sunshine and warmth to grow. It’s been rather unsettled here as well, and looks set to continue this week. Needs must and all that! xx

  6. elaine says:

    Aw Marley looks a softie how could you resist that little face and not give him a biccy. Your toms look very healthy – like you I will be waiting a while before I plant mine out. It has turned a lot colder here – I hope we’re not going to have a repeat of last year.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine I’m a big softie when it comes to softies like him. Thanks, fingers crossed they’re okay so far but do need to grow a bit. Cooler here as well, I do hope not! xx

  7. Hello Marley…..you are a handsome boy…Methinks Flighty has a soft spot for you 😉
    Toms looking good,Flighty, Mine are all inside the tunnel and doing real good, I love tomatoes too much to try them outside, I always had an old hothouse for them before my tunnel days. In spite of the bad enough weather “things” seem to be pressing on and upwards. Plants and seedlings seem to know when to burst into life themselves 🙂

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Look how well your seedlings have done! You’ll have to remind me which tomatoes you’ve grown before and what’s done well for you.

    Marley looks like a sweet companion.

  9. Your tomatoes are looking great, and I’m intrigued by the different leaves on the ‘Outdoor Girl’ variety, it has a wonderful name too 😉 I took the plunge and popped all my veggies outside on Saturday, the weekend rain seems to have done them the world of good. Bless Marley, he must love seeing you knowing he’s going to get a treat.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula thanks, it was recommended to me and is a very early outside variety. That was brave of you so fingers crossed for it all.
      I’m sure that he does. xx

  10. CJ says:

    I’m growing tomato “Stupice” which also has leaves without the usual serrations. Also, I picked up a “Sub Arctic Plenty” at the weekend, which is a heritage tomato, originally developed to be grown by US scientists in Greenland. It’s supposed to be one of the earliest tomatoes there is; we shall see. Will be interested to hear how your cucumbers do, I haven’t heard of that variety. Do you grow them outside? I’ve tried several varieties, and I usually stick to “Burpless Tasty Green” now. We get through dozens, so I’m always on the lookout for something really prolific. I’ve been disappointed by quite a few types, I don’t seem to have the magic touch when it comes to cucumbers.

    • Flighty says:

      It’ll be interesting to see how we do with our tomatoes. I grow mine outside on the plot as I don’t have a greenhouse or coldframe. They invariably succumb to blight, although the yellow Golden Queen ones did okay last year, and was hoping that an early variety might do better.
      I usually buy a couple of outside growing cucumber plants but was given these seeds to try. The slugs tend get them but I did get a few off one plant last year.
      I’ll be posting how I get on with both later in the year. xx

  11. Orchardier says:

    I hope Marley got his biscuit!

  12. Your toms are looking good, not too leggy like my Red Alert plants. I grew Sunshine squash and they germinated very well. However, my Hunter Butternut Squash have not germinated at all, whereas last year they were a huge success…wierd!

    • Flighty says:

      Sam thanks. I’m always pleased when I grow anything that doesn’t get too leggy. I’ve sowed some more squash. That’s a shame about yours. xx

  13. Liz says:

    You are plotter, ponderer, and —- purveyor of biscuits to furry friends. Marley looks sweet.
    How do you manage to grow such healthy looking tomatoes indoors? I am useless with indoor seed starting. Mine invariably succumb to damping off.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I am indeed. Marley is another lovely dog, but I haven’t seen him for a while.
      I guess I’m just lucky as I really keep my home seed sowing as simple as possible. It’s a shame that you don’t have much luck. xx

Leave a Reply

