A May miscellany

Potato 'Desiree' foliageOn Friday I was pleased to see that the first early potatoes Vales Emerald, which I planted a month ago, have started appearing.  This morning I was surprised to see that a few main crop Desiree, which were planted just a couple of weeks ago, have also appeared.

Red tulipI’ve at least a handful of these dwarf red tulips scattered around the plot. I shall lift the bulbs when they’ve finished and replant later on in a group to give a better effect.

Plot neighbour George kindly gave me two flower plants neither of which I know the name of at present, so I’ll wait until they flower then post photos of them.  Another one is physalis alkenkengi, the Chinese Lantern Plant, which one-time shed helper Martin gave me today. This has gone into a large container until I can decide on where to plant it out.

StanleyIt was a busy morning at the trading shed but I stopped to say hello to Stanley and share a biscuit or two with him.

Plot neighbour Trevor also called in to show us a chicken egg.  One of his hens regularly lays large eggs of around 70 grams but he was amazed when during the week he found that she’d laid one that weighs just 8.3 grams. It really was tiny being little bigger than my thumb tip, and he mentioned that the according to the Guinness Book of Records it’s only just over 1 gram heavier than the record smallest one.

Tree in full blossomOut on the main road between the trading shed and my allotment site is this wonderful looking tree in full blossom.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to A May miscellany

  1. Aegean Jan says:

    Ah, Stanley looks just like our Carlie. Cute! I love the tree – how beautiful!

  2. snowbird says:

    How lovely that fellow plotters share plants with you…and it’s exciting waiting to see what unknown plants will turn out to be.
    Stanley looks lovely, I wouldn’t mind sharing a biscuit with him!

    I’ve just got home and was delighted to see that my spuds are up too.

    Have a lovely bank holiday Flighty.xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird some plot neighbours are really generous. I just hope that those plants will get identified.
      He sure is, and tries to get everyone to share one with him.
      That was a pleasant surprise for you. I did thanks. xx

  3. elaine says:

    great news on the potato front
    I have a few red tulips too scattered about maybe I’ll do like you and get them all together for better effect
    I grew Chinese lanterns year but the slugs devoured the lot so beware
    Stanley is a lovely dog but looks as though he wants more biscuits
    my hens used to sometimes lay tiny eggs but there is no yoke inside just whites
    is that a hawthorn tree – there is no blossom on those round here yet – they look fantastic full of blossom but don’t smell very nice.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine it sure is. I think that tulips look better grouped together.
      I’ll bear that in mind but these should be okay as they’re in a container.
      He is, and just like me he always wants more biscuits.
      I don’t think that the tree is a hawthorn, and I will find out what it is. Shame about the smell of that blossom. xx

  4. Jo says:

    The trees are all starting to blossom now and they look wonderful, a fantastic time of year for walks to take in all the frothy flowers. I’m sure Stanley will have enjoyed sharing a biscuit with you, though if he’s anything like Archie, he’ll have wanted it all to himself.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo as you it’s a great time to take walks looking at trees in blossom.
      I say sharing but you’re right I don’t get much more than the crumbs. xx

  5. It’s great to see your potatoes start making an appearance. I was terribly lazy this year and never got around to planting mine. I have a few unidentified plants too, it’s always exciting to see what they turn out to be, especially if they were free to start with. I adore the frothy white Hawthorn blossom in your photo, we have it just behind our garden wall and it is in full bloom at the moment, so pretty

    • Flighty says:

      Paula it sure is. Tut! I’m always getting unknown plants either growing on the plot or given to me and it’s always great fun identifying them.
      I don’t think that it’s a hawthorn tree but I will find out. Tree blossom is always good to see. xx

  6. menhir1 says:

    It never stops surprising me what flourishes on the roads of the suburbs of busy cities. That tree is really dressed up to be a knock out, just now.
    Stanley appears to be a mature and patient spaniel.
    You could, Mr F, have your allotment outlined with flowering plants in pots if you are gifted many more! 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir there are plenty of wide road-side verges hereabouts many of which have mature trees on them. It sure is.
      He is that. That’s a good idea! xx

  7. Doris says:

    Lovely pictures!

  8. nikkipolani says:

    A lovely wander with you through the plot to see new growth, pretty flowers, and a lovely tree. Not to mention a friendly dog!

  9. Maggie says:

    Lovely photos Flighty. The first sowings I made of the pot marigolds are coming through, just thought I’d let you know and the sunflowers are getting big too. Hope it was a good weekend. X

  10. wellywoman says:

    Good to see the potatoes showing. I’m growing physalis for the first time this year too. Stanley looks adorable. 🙂 At last the blossom is out here too and it’s gorgeous. Just hoping the predicted rain doesn’t damage it all. Blossom is one of my favourite things and I’d like it too hang around for a while this year. How strange to produce such a tiny egg. I haven’t kept chickens before but I know a few people who do and it’s fascinating listening to them talking about them. Hope you had a lovely weekend in the sun. WW x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly it sure is. It’ll be interesting to see how we do with it. He’s a lovely dog.
      I agree with what you say about tree blossom, and would like it to linger longer than it does.
      Apparently it’s called a wind egg. Like you I find chicken chat interesting.
      I did thanks, and hope that you did too. xx

  11. Paperviolet says:

    Jealous about your potatoes- my earlies haven’t made an appearance yet! Nice to be given “wait n see” plants ( exciting!) I sometimes have seeds which I’ve collected & forgotten to write on the envelope ( sometimes quite obvious what they are though!) Lovely post as ever Xx

    • Flighty says:

      Paperviolet I’m sure that that yours will appear soon. Yes it is, as long as they get identified eventually. I’ve had some unknown seeds as well in the past. Thanks. xx

  12. Liz says:

    Stanley is waiting patiently for another biscuit!

Leave a Reply

