Plentiful plotting

After lunch last Sunday I gave the shed, pallet patio and compost bin a coat of wood preserver Woodland Green.

I’ve since plotted every morning Monday through to yesterday forking, hoeing, planting, sowing and weeding. This is what the plot looked like on Thursday morning –

Flighty's plot Thursday,18 April 2013The light coloured area on the right of the bottom area is where the raspberries grow, and which now all have new growth appearing. To the left of these are the onions some of which have just appeared. The rest of the area is for growing vegetables including beetroot, carrots, cucumbers and lettuce.

The middle area is all potatoes, which have now all been planted, and over on the right in front of the compost bin is the blackberry bush.

In the top left hand area I’ve sown some broad beans, with more to follow. In a month or so I’ll be sowing French climbing and runner beans, in a double row down along the left hand edge, along with sweetcorn and tomatoes.  The rhubarb is in the top right hand corner with the strawberries in a double row on the right next to the middle path.

The flower area is over on the top right, above the middle group of daffodils, which I shall cover in more detail in forthcoming posts.

Plum tree blossomSadly the crocuses have finished and the daffodils just starting to go over but the plum tree is now blossoming. Last year saw a few marble sized fruit for the first time and I’m hoping that it’ll do better this year.

Yesterday morning it was a sunny and warm so there were plenty of plot neighbours around. Unfortunately some were busy with bonfires, lawn mowers, rotovators and strimmers so I didn’t stay too long. Thankfully the forecast is looking good so I’ll be there tomorrow morning hopefully with just the birds for company.

Have a good week!

[Click on either picture to see a larger image]

PS…Yesterday’s Sofa flying post was The Father Anselm books.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Plentiful plotting

  1. elaine says:

    Goodness you have been busy – the plot looks great a tribute to all your hard work. Hope everything grows well for you this year. So far I have been concentrating on the garden at home which was in dire need of attention. But if the weather holds out I should be able to get round to some plotting this week.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine I sure have, and thanks. I hope everything grows well for all of us this year. If I had a garden as well I’m sure that it wouldn’t be looking quite so good. Happy plotting. xx

  2. The plot’s looking great Flighty! I’m so glad we’re getting warmer weather at last, it really has made a huge difference. I’m growing a lot of the same things as you, except I’ve decided not to go for potatoes this year. No doubt they will still spring up all over the garden anyway!

    • Flighty says:

      Paula thanks. Yes the warmer weather over the past week or two has been most welcome. Last year the potatoes weren’t much good so I’m hoping they’ll be better this year. Yes orphans always appear don’t they. xx

  3. Ellie says:

    What a transformation – thank goodness it has warmed up and dried out. You have managed to pack a lot into a relatively small area! I’ve managed to make a start but a new job has got in the way and I am way behind you. x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie thanks, and yes indeed. I’m aiming to fill the plot this year! Good for you. I hope that the new job goes well and so does your catching up. xx

  4. Jo says:

    It’s all very neat and tidy. It’s great if the weather holds out so that you can get down there little and often, it makes such a difference. I bought a small plum tree last year, but it’s not flowering yet. I don’t think it will do much this year.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks. Yes this period of good weather sure has helped. My plum has only appeared in the past few years and only flowered, and ‘fruited'(!), for the first time last year. xx

  5. alison says:

    I like the view of the first picture and the explanation of what is growing in the plot. I hope you’ll take another photo of the same view when the veggies and flowers are all grown.
    Have a good week and happy gardening! xx

    p/s: hope the birds come visit.

    • Flighty says:

      Alison I will take another photo in three months time when it should hopefully look rather different with lots of green and not much brown. It’s always good to see the birds, so I hope so too.
      Thanks, and you too. xx

  6. lynda says:

    Sounds like a productive week!

  7. menhir1 says:

    Your allotment lay-out looks like runrigs. The little grassy line breaks up the line of sight, useful for planting planning I suppose; but it also threw up a question. Do you have the equivalent of two allotment widths, or am I taken in with visual trickery?

    Some daffodils are flowering well around the locality. Not all my 50 or so bluebells have shown up; I wonder if some of the wee bulbs decided to hibernate. If some take, and it looks like there is growth, they should multiply in following years. My candelabra primula has green growth. Last year I thought I was going to see a multiplication of flowering stalks, instead, the centre one flowered and the rest gave up.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I prefer grass paths to wood chip ones. It’s only one plot, 30 feet, wide and half a plot, 60 feet long, so I think that the picture is somewhat deceptive.
      Good to see you’ve got plenty of daffodils to look at. You could well be right about the bluebells. Let’s hope the primula does better this year. xx

  8. Wow, you have been busy,Flighty. Loads of work done there.It is great to have some warmth and growth at last. We ‘ve been out all day today,even though “they” said we would have lashing rain all day!!

  9. The plot looks wonderful Flighty, well done on all your hard work xx

  10. snowbird says:

    Oh wow, it’s really coming along beautifully and all falling into place now isn’t it?

    Lovely that the hard diggy work is done and your spuds are in.

    What lovely plum blossom, I do hope you get more plums this year.xxxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird thanks, and I hope that it is. Yes planting spuds gets a bit boring! The blossom is great to see, and a few plums later on would be nice. xx

  11. Your allotment is so neat and tidy! Looking forward to your next pic 🙂 xx

  12. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, everything is looking absolutely READY for spring. The blooms on the plum are very sweet. Maybe edible fruit this year, too. I’ve had a rather dismal daff season, but maybe they’ll recover next year. Enjoy yours while they last!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I’ve been sowing lots of flower and vegetable seeds the past few days. Each blossom is really tiny. I hope so. I’m sorry to hear that your daffodils weren’t up to much. Thanks. I will. xx

  13. wellywoman says:

    Flighty your plot looks amazing. Loving your pallet patio. I need to replace a small fence at the allotment and I’m thinking of some nicely painted pallets. Good to see your plum covered in blossom. I’m eagerly awaiting my apple and crab apple blossom.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly thanks. The patio is two heavy duty pallets joined together and painted. That’s a good idea as they’re ideal for that kind of fence. Tree blossom is such a welcome sight isn’t it. xx

  14. Your post has reminded me to paint our allotment shed. Your plot looks very neat and loved, enjoying your plotting x

  15. annie_h says:

    How wonderful and tidy your allotment looks. So great that you’ve been able to plot every day. I like that colour for your shed, reminds me that I need to repaint mine. The daffodils give some lovely colour.

  16. Love the colour of your wood stain Flighty, it blends in beautifully and looks so smart, and your plot is impressively immaculate. I grabbed an hour in my kitchen garden yesterday to sow peas and mange tout along with some of your marigold mix, more of the latter to go on the long edge of my new bed. I really must post about that. Shame the noise of all those machines drove you off, hope you get another good dose of plotting without that to disturb the peace, Is there anything more beautiful than blossom on a tree at this time of year?

    • Flighty says:

      Janet I was given it but it’s the colour that I would have chosen had I bought it. An hour like that is always a most welcome distraction.
      That’s why I usually don’t plot at weekends apart from Saturday mornings. I agree with what you say about tree blossom. xx

  17. Carrie says:

    Darling Flighty, what work you have done! You put us to shame, is there even a weed anywhere near your plot?? Oh it’s lovely and the choice of green paint – you know I approve and we have a green shed now. The plum tree looks great and wish you many a fruit this year xxx
    Your marigold seeds are being planted tomorrow afternoon (I’ve been ill). How fabulous to have a little bit if you in our plots x

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie hello! I’ve been lucky being able to spend the time plotting, and yes there’s still weeds. Green is a popular colour for sheds, and rightly so. The plum tree is worth it just for the blossom.
      Happy sowing, and take care. xx

  18. CJ says:

    Oh, it’s beautiful. I do so love allotments and yours is particularly lovely. And so neat. I need to get down to mine and spend some serious hours there. I did plant a little plum tree the other day, but no sign of blossom yet. Maybe there won’t be much this year, but I am in it for the long haul so I can wait.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ thanks. I’m making a determined effort this year. My plum tree was self seeded and didn’t have blossom for the first couple of years. It’s well worth the wait. xx

  19. Caro says:

    Hello Flighty, I’m catching up and reading back through your posts – lovely to see your plot looking so handsome and tidy, just shows what regular TLC will achieve. I think I have the same daffs as you but mine are growing in my balcony window box so the tiny flowers are in keeping with the general scale of things and, being higher up in my line of sight, can be appreciated more readily. I sympathise with you wanting to leave the noisy machinery behind; for me, the best times to garden are when no-one but the birds are around!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I’ve been lucky with having time available to plot every day over the past couple of weeks.
      Those daffodils would look better if there were more of them and perhaps in a smaller container.
      Thanks, like you I’m happiest plotting with just the birds for company. xx

  20. Liz says:

    Your plot is immaculate and I agree with others, that the green shed, compost, and pallet are a great color. Had to look up Menhir’s runrigs for a definition. Hadn’t heard that terminology for land distribution before. I am a little puzzled by the picture — the plot is not only tidy, but huge! Does the photo show it in its entirety, or is the lower right hand side (I guess beside and beyond the raspberries) out of sight? The shed looks as though it is in another plot. Is that area yours too?

    • Flighty says:

      Liz thanks. The green has now faded but if I’ve any wood-stain left I’ll give them all a fresh coat this spring. It is only a half plot which is about 30 by 60 feet, and the picture shows almost all of it. You can see the left-path, a bit of the bottom one and the right-hand one alongside the shed up to the roadway. xx

Leave a Reply

