I, J and K…

continues with the sort of Plot A to Z series of occasional posts that I started back in November 2010. I see that the last one I did, H is for…, was over a year ago so this post is long overdue.

I is for Iceberg roses which are familiar, and popular, white floribundas seen in many gardens. I bought one when I took on the plot which rather surprisingly didn’t flower so after a couple of years I moved it. It then did but I was even more surprised to find that it had reverted to a Dog rose!  Nikkipolani, over in Southern California, grows this fabulous looking Iceberg rose hedge.

The Jay is a lovely looking, but somewhat elusive, bird that I rarely ever catch more than a glimpse of but isn’t one that I’m likely to see on the plot.

Jersey Kale isn’t something that most people would grow in the vegetable patch but I’m going to try this year. I’m doing so as Tony, the horticultural society trading secretary, has challenged other members to see who can grow the tallest plant and has provided some seed to anyone interested.  It can grow to well over fifteen feet so I wonder what height the winning one will be.

Have a good National Gardening Week, which starts tomorrow!

Many thanks to Glo (Porcelain Rose) for this Flighty’s I, J K Award

Flighty's I, J & K Award

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to I, J and K…

  1. Joanne says:

    The Jersey Kale sounds good fun to grow, I wish you well for it & will you be drying the stalk for a walking stick?

  2. Caro says:

    I rather like the look of the cabbage plants when full grown, a bit like edible palm trees! I think they must be similar to the cabbages grown by a neighbour here. His are placed too close together so don’t grow taller than 4 or 5 feet but apparently the leaves are nice cooked with onions and tomato. I wish you success with your challenge! Can we expect a progress report? Caro xx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro that’s a good description of them. The leaves of these are apparently okay when young but then used as cattle fodder. Thanks, and yes I will keep you updated as to how I get on. xx

  3. snowbird says:

    Oh. good luck with the Kale, I shall look forward to seeing it.

    Nicky’s roses are amazing aren’t they, I feel like moving over there….xxxxx

  4. Jo says:

    What fun to have a Jersey Kale growing competition, I bet some of them will grow quite tall. The climbing roses I got for Mother’s Day seem to be growing well and now have leaves on them, I’m looking forward to them blooming. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Jay.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it makes a change to the usual tallest sunflower. The roses should look good when they bloom. That’s a shame but I’m not surprised as they are rather elusive. xx

  5. How marvelous that the weather warms up just in time for National Gardening week, now there’s no excuse not to get out and get digging…..unless your at work all week of course!

  6. Orchardier says:

    I rather like the idea of using the stalk as walking stick!

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Wow. Good luck with that Jersey Kale! I’ve never heard of something growing quite like that! And thanks for the mention. The hedge is peaking right now and it looks like a snow bank from the windows 😉

  8. elaine says:

    Nikkipolani’s roses are amazing I wish I had her rosey greenfingers. I have heard of this kale before should be interesting to see what happens.

  9. Good luck with your Jersey Kale Flighty, what a fun competition. That rose hedge is beautiful, though I wouldn’t like to prune it. I have just bought myself a rosa rugosa, I had fancied a hedge of them out the front but the view thing is putting me off doing that at the moment since apparently they grow huge around here…

  10. CJ says:

    Jays are beautiful, but a bit raucous in groups. I used to see a lot in the city where I lived, but now I’m in a small town I don’t see any at all. Looking forward to seeing that Jersey Kale in progress. You must almost be able to see it grow!

  11. Flighty says:

    CJ I’ll take your word that they are as I only ever see one or two. It’s interesting that some people see lots of them whilst other see none. Me too, and quite likely. xx

  12. I have jays feeding from my bird table all the time Flighty. Put out some peanuts and they’re down within 5 minutes! They’re beautiful looking birds. Good luck growing your Jersey Kale!

  13. Liz says:

    Oh my! The Nikkipolani Iceberg rose hedge is magnificent (and the the remainder of her blogpost was a fun read.) I read about Jersey kale on your blog earlier, and thought that would be something different to try, so have a source and plan to order seeds for 2015. I’ll be intrigued to see how yours does in 2013.

Leave a Reply

