Plotting, and plotting again

I like to do my plotting in the mornings so I don’t usually do any on Sundays as by the time I get home from the horticultural trading shed and had some lunch I’m simply not in the mood.  However last Sunday I felt that I had to make the most of the good weather so I spent a couple of hours in the afternoon going over the flower patch with a hand fork! It was worth doing as I ended up with a bucketful of weed roots, along with bits of glass and plastic and some rusty nails.

Plot daffodilsLooking round at the daffodils I see that I’ve got six main groups with over ninety flowers. These are the ones alongside the path down from the roadway to the shed.

Green woodpeckered logI noticed that the log under the hawthorn tree has been attacked! I showed plot neighbour Trevor and he thinks that it’s the work of a green woodpecker that was after ants to eat. I do catch glimpses of these birds, usually flying across the site just a few feet off the ground, but have yet to see one on the plot.

It rained last night, with more to come tomorrow and Saturday, so it’s unlikely that I’ll be plotting again until next week which looks like starting out sunny and warm.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on either picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Plotting, and plotting again

  1. Joanne says:

    I’m glad of the rain. I have been scraping the bottom of the water butt. I shall be pleased once it is full again. Have a good weekend.

  2. wellywoman says:

    It’s worth making the most of any good weather when you can. In this country you never know when the sunshine will be back again. 😉 We used to live in a house with an area of grass nearby that was often frequented by green woodpeckers. It’s a little odd at first to see them hopping about on the grass looking for food. Maybe you’ll get the chance to see them soon. All the birds seem to gearing up for spring so I’m sure they’ll be out looking for food.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ it sure is. That’s so true. I have seen them very occasionally at a distance but would like a closer look. The birds here seem to be rather busy nest building. xx

  3. elaine says:

    We have had some lovely days just recently so I am not surprised you made the most of it. We rarely see green woodpeckers – lucky you – one day you may be able to catch it on camera.

  4. snowbird says:

    What lovely daffs! A green woodpecker eh? lucky you, I hope you get to see it on the plot….

    Yes, with our rotten weather we certainly have to make hay while the sun shines…..it’s still cold here, and wet….xxxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird thanks. That would be a real highlight if I do.
      Sorry to see that the weather there is still miserable, fingers crossed that it improves soon. xx

  5. David Ford says:

    shame you don`t see the woodpecker Flighty I saw a Jay briefly the other day on the plot not long enough for a photo though

  6. menhir1 says:

    Forensic eyes at work – Woodpeckers have a care!

    Taking opportunities is the way to do anything outdoors at the moment. xx

  7. CJ says:

    Love the crocus picture at the top of your blog. You are right about the rain, there has just been the most humongous downpour here, a real deluge like I have never seen before, leaving puddles on the lawn. Hope it’s a one-off…

    • Flighty says:

      CJ hello and welcome. Thanks, I try to keep the header pictures seasonal. I don’t mind rain but not when it deluges like that! The weather is never as we want it to be is it!
      I’ve bookmarked your blog and will have a proper look at it over the weekend. xx

  8. Jo says:

    I think we have to make the most of the sunshine while it’s here, we never know when it will return. I’ve never seen a woodpecker but my mum and dad used to see them in the garden in their old house. Let’s hope we get some decent weather again this weekend so that we can get a bit more done.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I’m lucky in that I can usually do that. They are surprising elusive birds, although often heard. Let’s hope so, I think I might be plotting after lunch on Sunday again. xx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Morning’s a great time to garden — I love the light, knowing that there’s more ahead if I need it. But with your changeable weather, you’ve got to take what you can get! The daffs look so springy 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I agree, and I’ve always preferred it to later in the day. Changeable indeed, wet again at the moment but some sunny, warm weather to come in a few days. Daffodils are the flower of spring aren’t they. xx

  10. I hope you get to see the woodpecker at some point. I put up two old wooden posts at the back of my garden, and the woodpeckers love to come down and attack them! Isn’t it lovely to see the daffodils in full bloom at last.

  11. Lea says:

    Lovely daffodils – so cheerful!
    Have a wonderful weekend!
    Lea, Lea’s Menagerie

    • Flighty says:

      Lea hello and welcome. It’s always good to see daffodils, which are later than usual here this year. Thanks, and you too.
      I’ve bookmarked your blog and will have a proper look over the weekend. xx

  12. After the long cold Spring I suspect most of us will be seizing any moment of reasonable weather to get out and garden, particularly as the rain has arrived with the warmer weather. Not that I am complaining, my water butts were almost empty! How lovely to find yourself feeding a woodpecker, I haven’t seen one for years, though with all the trees in the park next door I keep hoping I might one day. Hope the weather gives you lots of good plotting mornings this coming week Flighty, I am hoping to sow some of your seed mix over the weekend.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet I’m sure you’re right. The one good thing through that period was the lack of rain, if we’d that as well it would have been truly miserable. I catch glimpses of them occasionally but usually only hear them.
      Thanks I hope that we all get to do some gardening and/or plotting. xx

Leave a Reply

