That’s much better

Yesterday started frosty and sunny but by lunchtime, when I went to the plot, was really pleasant as, at long last, the cold easterly had abated.

I sowed half of the broad beans Witkiem Manita, and planted half of the onions Centurion and Sturon. Once they’ve appeared and started growing I’ll sow and plant the rest.

I also planted the first early potatoes Vales Emerald. The other varieties will follow over the next couple of weeks.

I hope to start sowing some flower seeds soon, including Chrysanthemum leucanthemum maximum Crazy Daisy which I didn’t sow last year. At home I’ll also be sowing some seeds including the tomatoes Tumbling Tom Yellow that I was given recently.
Bumblebee on a white crocus

The white crocus Jeanne d’Arc in the long planter have opened and were buzzing with honey bees and this (queen) bumblebee. I’m guessing that it’s a queen as they appear first and are larger, and this was a big one! For more information on these see the Bumblebee Conservation Trust’s website, and this article is also worth reading.

I also saw a small tortoiseshell butterfly basking on the ground in the sunshine, but sadly didn’t get a photo of it.

Here are more of the white crocuses, and the stamens really are this bright orange colour.

White crocuses 'Jeanne d'Arc'

Last Friday’s Sofa flying post was  Just for you…  where, if you don’t already know, you’ll find out that I’m a Doris Day fan!

Have a good week!

[Click on either picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to That’s much better

  1. menhir1 says:

    Dare we believe it, dare we say it, Spring might be sprung! Have you extended your plot, or, have you added another layer to it with planters on legs?

  2. Hannah says:

    Very pretty picture with the white flower and the yellow bumble bee, they compliment each other beautifully!

  3. Isn’t it great to be out and doing again 🙂

  4. elaine says:

    I am enjoying this break from awful weather while it lasts. Your white crocus look lovely and I am sure the bees appreciate their pollen as there is very little else around for them.

  5. Jo says:

    At last, some decent weather, I just hope it lasts a while. The white crocus are really pretty. I have some white ones in the garden, I’m not sure of the variety, but they’re quite washed out looking. I much prefer the variety you’ve got. I saw my first bee of the year today, the sunshine must be tempting them out.

  6. snowbird says:

    What a stunning pic of the queen bee on the beautiful crocus. Wonderful that you are getting your seeds in the ground too.I saw the sun for the first time yesterday and it almost blinded me…..seriously, my eyes were watering! I hope you get some good weather this week.xxxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird thanks. Just some broad beans so far, other things to follow soon I hope. We really haven’t had much sun at all have we. Thanks but the rest of the week looks rather rainy. xx

  7. Gorgeous photos,and wasn’t it wonderful to get out into the garden and get on with things! You just reminded me that I completely forgot to plant my potatoes up into their pots though…whoops! I think I got too carried away with the sun shining 🙂 I’ve never tried Vales Emerald before so will be interested to see what they’re like for you.

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, those crocuses are a beautiful. And they look so happy and healthy. Good for you getting your onions and beans and potatoes planted. I’ve sown your marigold seeds and planted my anemones. Still thinking about where to put those crocosmias I bought in a fit of greed.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki yes they really look good in the sunshine. Yes it’s good to have started planting and sowing. Well done, they should appear in just a few days. I’m sure that you’ll find somewhere suitable. xx

  9. wellywoman says:

    Good to see the bee and to hear you’ve seen a butterfly. I saw a few bees at the weekend whilst staying with family in the north east. I’ve got some broad beans in the cold frame waiting to go up to the plot but I’m holding back on planting them out just yet. It’s still cold here and the plot isn’t sheltered at all. Good to hear you’ve been able to get sowing at last. WW x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ I’m told that they’re two good signs of spring. It’s worth waiting just a bit longer. My plot is exposed as well, being out in the middle of the site. Thanks, I’m pleased to have got going at last. xx

  10. annie_h says:

    So glad we have some sunshine and a hint of warmth at last so that we can all get busy again! Still very cold here at nights though. The snow has finally gone now.

  11. Those white crocus are stunning, they really stand out don’t they. I spotted a Bumble Bee nestled in the center of one of my Camelia flowers the day before yesterday, but it looked very sluggish, hardly moving at all. I’m sure it was Ok, just a bit groggy after waking up. xx

  12. hillwards says:

    I came upon pots of Jeanne d’Arc flowering magnificently in our market town a month ago, and so nearly bought them. The large white flowers are so striking. I promised myself that instead of falling for a few flowering bulbs, I would buy more bulbs in the autumn for the same price!
    Our broad beans are just coming through in the greenhouse at last, it will be a while yet before we plant them out I think.

    • Flighty says:

      Hillwards hello. I bought 20 of these, and 20 yellow ones, last autumn which are all in the long planter.
      Yes a couple of weeks more should see them okay for planting out. xx

  13. Lynda says:

    Wow – bees and butterfly … signs it’s getting warmer ;0)

  14. Lovely to see bumblebees and butterflies again, and the break from that wind has been lovely! Feels good to be out and about, getting on with things x

  15. Bees and butteflies! Wonderful. I have heard a couple of bees when I have been outside, but not seen any, and certainly no butterflies. Wonderful to finally be able to get out and sow though. It’s really wet here today, so no sowing for me, except indoors. And given the way the blackbirds love to dig around in my raised beds, I think that is probably a safer option for me anyway! Happy plotting Flighty, I don’t think any of us will be missing that easterly wind.

  16. Flighty says:

    Janet wonderful indeed. I’m sure that you’ll be seeing some soon. Yes it is. It’s wet here today so I spent the morning sowing tomatoes and other things in pots.
    Thanks, and to you too. I think you’re right, and I certainly won’t. xx

  17. Liz says:

    That is a stunning Jeanne d’arc crocus.

Leave a Reply

