Two out of three

Further to my Drier, sunnier and warmer post the week before last it’s thankfully been drier and, in the past couple of days, sunnier hence the title of this post.

However with a continuing brisk easterly wind it certainly hasn’t been any warmer with temperatures still hovering around zero once the wind chill has been taken into account.

Despite that I spent a couple of hours plotting on Friday and yesterday morning. It was okay whilst I was forking, hoeing or weeding but noticeably chilly when I stopped.

Crocuses and daffodilsA few more crocuses and mini daffodils have appeared but although there are plenty of signs of spring it seems that everything is waiting for warmer weather.

My highlights in an otherwise mostly quiet week was seeing two goldfinches out front front at home perched on one of the lilac trees, and yesterday morning whilst walking round the allotments I saw, much to my surprise and delight, a charm of them!

The forecast for the coming week is the same – dry and plenty of sun but with the easterly wind keeping it much too cold for the time of year.

My Sofa flying post today celebrates A Joyous Easter with Brer Rabbit.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Two out of three

  1. menhir1 says:

    A very pretty little clump of spring blooms. As you say, in general, everything is waiting for the temperatures to warm up. I have been undecided about whether to plant some bulbs and place bedding plants into my bowls.

  2. Hannah says:

    Definitely right about the chill. I hope that the Easter bunny came to you today, chocolate rations are a good preventative for the cold!

  3. It was a nice day here too yesterday.But as you say,if you stopped working you could feel the chill. Today is much different as the rain is lashing down and very windy,so am sitting inside sneezing away. Have a great weekend,Flighty.

  4. elaine says:

    No daffodils for me yet – I still have snow drifts in the veg plot that are frozen on top – you can actually walk on them and not go through – that’s how cold it is. Even the sun doesn’t seem to have any effect – it is all very frustrating isn’t it.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine they’ll come once we get some warm sunshine. It’s been way too cold for the time of year hasn’t it. Yes it certainly has been. xx

  5. Jo says:

    I believe it’s warmed up a tiny bit here today. It certainly helps when the sun is out, though it’s chilly when a cloud passes over. How lovely to see some Goldfinches. They seem to be regular visitors to my garden at the moment, and I’m seeing more of them together rather the odd one on it’s own, which is lovely.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo some sun and no wind makes all the difference. Yes I was well pleased to see them. They are usually seen in pairs or small flocks apparently. xx

  6. snowbird says:

    It is decidedly chilly here too, and like you say, it’s as though everything is waiting to burst into blossom.
    I do love a goldfinch, delightful little birds. Pleased to hear you’ve been able to get some work done.xxxxx

  7. Sunnier here but still very cold. Daffodils in the garden are still reluctant to open their blooms, I think they have the right idea! Glad to hear you’ve been able to get a bit of plotting done despite the wind chill Flighty xx

  8. Doris says:

    Have a good week too Flighty and thanks for the cheerful flower photo! I bought myself some lovely soft yellow tulips and they really brighten up my apartment.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Gorgeous colors, Flighty! And more to come.

  10. annie_h says:

    We need some of the warmth now! My plot still snow covered so no plotting for me, glad you’ve managed to get some jobs done. Hope you had a Happy Easter, Flighty.

  11. Lynda says:

    great photo of flowers

  12. Hope you had a happy Easter, Flighty! I’m just catching up after a very busy week so have read several of your posts at one sitting. I’ve been out in the garden every day over the weekend and you’re right, it was okay if you wrapped up warm and kept moving! Thankfully I had plenty to do and enjoyed the sunshine while it lasted – and I had a little Robin friend to keep me company! So frustrating to be back at work today with this glorious sunshine we’ve had all day – I keep thinking how much I could have got done! Despite the chill winds, I’m now going to start sowing over the next couple of weeks – surely by mid-May things will have warmed up! Have a good week – stay warm! Caro xx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I did thanks, and hope that you did too. Good to see that you had a robin for company.
      Everybody has been saying the same, as I’m sure that you know.
      You too, and I sure will. xx

  13. It’s been lovely to see a bit of sun at last, but like you say, the wind has stopped it from feeling any warmer. Great to see some signs of spring with the bulbs blooming though.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula hello, and welcome. It has indeed, but I do wish that wind would go away. It is, and I’m now looking forward to seeing the rest of the daffodils. xx

  14. wellywoman says:

    Hope you had a lovely Easter. The sunshine has been very welcome but it’s disappointingly cold. It looks like things will be turning milder by the start of next week so hopefully that will be an end to the cold weather. I’ve got quite a backlog of plants I need to plant out so next week will be a busy one. It’ll be nice to get up to the plot and get on with things as there hasn’t been much to do there recently and I’m missing it.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly I did thanks. It’s the wind that’s been the real problem. I do hope so. I think that we’ve now all got the problem of needing to plant and sow out. I know just what you mean as I’m just the same. xx

  15. The sun makes such a difference, doesn’t it. Love the daffs, you really captured the Spring joy they evoke.

  16. Liz says:

    If I’d had known, I’d forgotten about a charm of goldfinches; so I found a parliament of rooks and an exaltation of larks. Isn’t the English language strange at times?!

Leave a Reply

