This soggy Sunday

I received a nice summery thank you card during the week along with some seeds including a packet of wallflowers, erysimum cheiri Fire King, which are something I’ve not grown before. 

BonnieThis soggy Sunday it was quiet at the horticultural society trading shed although I did meet Bonnie for the first time. She’s a lovely, and lively, rescue dog with an ever wagging tail and of course likes biscuits.

Zonal pelargonium 'Frank Headley'I bought a pelargonium Frank Headley which is something else that I’ve never grown before so I’ll be reading up how to look after it.

On the way home I had a quick look round the plot.  The long planter crocuses are providing a splash of colour but I’m wondering if I’ll get to see them open in the sunshine rather than closed in the rain.

The long planter crocuses

They’re the varieties Golden Yellow and Jeanne d’Arc rather than the Blue Pearl and Cream Beauty that I thought I’d bought!   Never mind…

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to This soggy Sunday

  1. Thank goodness for the splash of colour provided by your crocuses, Flighty! They look really pretty and there’s always next year for Blue Pearl … Isn’t this weather dispiriting? I’m stuck indoors with the flu this weekend so don’t mind at all that it’s raining – it would be worse to feel dreadful on a gorgeous sunny day, with so much to do! As it is, I’ll organise my seeds and try to do a bit of indoor sowing instead. Looks like this will be the weather pattern for the week ahead, let’s hope it clears up soon!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro yes indeed, and soon to followed by plenty of daffodils. Yes I may try again next year. Sorry to see that you’re not feeling well and hope that you recover soon. There’s little sign of sunshine to come which would be welcome. xx

  2. We’re having to be so patient with the weather aren’t we? Fingers crossed for some brighter days soon…

  3. elaine says:

    I always grow a few wallflowers usually mixed but there are always some of that orangey/red amongst them. I love the foliage on your pelargonium. And as for Bonnie, she looks a sweetie. Have a good week, despite the weather forecast.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine I look forward to growing them. It was the unusual foliage colour that caught my eye. Bonnie is a real sweetie according to her ‘mum’. Thanks, and you too. xx

  4. snowbird says:

    Oh I do love wall flowers, they’re so scented. Good luck with yours.What an interesting shrub, the flowers look lovely.
    It’s such a shame about the crocus isn’t it, mine are the same, closed tightly…..yours do look lovely, a real splash of colour.
    Bonnie…..oh yes, Bonnie by name and I bet bonnie by nature. She looks adorable.
    It’s sleeting here…..and I’ve heard talk about next week being all rain and snow…xxxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird thanks. It’ll be interesting to see the pelargonium when it flowers. Yes, and what with the rain and wind they don’t last long either sadly.
      Bonnie is all you say. The forecast isn’t good is it. xx

  5. menhir1 says:

    Bonnie has a “love,love me, do” look. The pelargonium looks interesting, I’m wondering if it will grow into something like those ruddy coloured king-sized leaf ones. I believe they’re called pelargonium Rex.

  6. Ah well, the crocuses are still a lovely burst of colour. That is a very unusual looking geranium, what colour are the flowers? I think you will really like ‘Fire King’, a lovely rich red, from memory. As to the rain, it needs to stop now, there are things to be done that require dry weather!!

    • Flighty says:

      Janet yes thankfully I do like these ones. Salmon-pink apparently. Yes I like the sound of the wallflowers. I agree, so fingers crossed for all of us. xx

  7. Hannah says:

    Your crocuses look lovely, I keep meaning to get some but can’t decide which colours will look best together.

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Well, hmmm. It’s always a risk when you buy bulbs. At least they are blooming for you. Now if we could coordinate some sunshine…. That pelargonium has great leaves.

  9. Flighty says:

    Nikki it appears that someone at the trading shed turned the box they were all in round the wrong way! Yes they all grew, and I’m sure look great in the sun. It does, doesn’t it. xx

  10. Joanne says:

    Oh your yellow crocus look lovely. I shall have to try some of them for next year.

  11. Polythene Pam says:

    Hello there, nominated your blog for an award cos I love what you do. X pam. http://plasticisrubbish.wordpress.com/2013/03/19/blog-awards/

  12. Jo says:

    It’s a shame you didn’t get the crocuses you thought you had, but they’re very cheery looking anyway. A splash of colour at this time of year is always welcome, we just need the sun to shine now so that they open up. Bonnie is a cutie, it beats me how they end up in shelters, some people are so heartless.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo yes it is but thankfully I like these. It sure is, and hope that they’re still standing when I’m next there. Bonnie sure is, and I agree with what you say. xx

  13. Glo says:

    A lovely splash of crocus there, Flighty 🙂 What a sweet looking dog Bonnie is ~ it’s always nice to become acquainted with four-legged friends. We’re in for a windy night ~ every so often we have a springlike day and then winter comes back to call. Makes life interesting, doesn’t it? Your pelargonium leaves are pretty.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks. Sweet indeed, and as you say it’s always nice to make new friends like her.
      I see that it’s batten down the hatches time over there. I hope that all’s okay once it calms down. It does, but I think that I’d rather it was less interesting. That’s what attracted me to buy it. xx

  14. Liz says:

    What a sweet-looking gal Bonnie is. Do they know what breed[s] she is?
    The crocus make a lovely splash of color.

Leave a Reply

