The new pond and more crocuses

As I mentioned recently I moved the washing up bowl pond and in doing so badly cracked the rim so it needed replacing.

Luckily I’ve been given a new pond which is about 18″ long, 12″ wide and 3″ to 4 ” deep.  I went to leave it in the shed Sunday lunchtime and ended up swapping them over.

The new  pond

As you can see I’ve put some stones in one corner and situated it close to one end of the log pile. It will be less exposed once the surrounding plants have regrown.  

I also mentioned that I’ve been waiting to see the crocuses Blue Pearl and Cream Beauty flower in the long planter. This week the first of them did but much to my surprise they’re yellow!

The long planter crocusesThankfully I like them and I’m now waiting to see what colour the other variety is!

Have a good weekend!

[Click on either picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to The new pond and more crocuses

  1. Love the pond. Mine was an old bath with Lily pads and Irises, but the newish GS pup has ripped out all the plants 😦
    Your crocuses are lovely,amazing that they came up a different colour!

  2. Mo says:

    Nice new pond! 🙂 Is it the yellow ones that the sparrows eat? They look lovely.

  3. Jo says:

    The pond looks great, I hope it attracts lots of wildlife to your plot, especially the frogs and toads who will keep the slug population controlled for you. Funny how unexpected things pop up, isn’t it? I wonder what colour the next lot will be.

  4. snowbird says:

    Great that you’ve now got the pond in, one less job eh…and fantastic for wildlife!

    How odd that the crocus came up a different colour, lovely and vibrant though, really cheering to see them.xxxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird yes it is, on both counts. If they all flower that colour it has to be wrong labelling when I bought them. Still never mind… xx

  5. elaine says:

    Great new pond – more room for more frogs eh!

  6. Doris says:

    Interesting that the crocuses are yellow. Very appealing in any case. 🙂

  7. David Ford says:

    I like the pond idea Mike think I`ll copy it I have a large bowl somewhere

  8. Glo says:

    Now that is a great pond, Flighty! It’s more like a pool, and you may see frogs swimming a few lengths 😉 Are you thinking of putting in a few tadpoles? That must have been quite a surprise seeing yellow crocuses when you were expecting blue! I think the yellow ones are known to be the tastiest. I have seen squirrels eating them in the park, and of course, deer in my own garden. Perhaps yours will not be bothered by anything and can just spread their bit of bright sunshine.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it sure is, and glad that you think so too. I hope to.
      It sure was, and I hope that these ones do survive any wildlife that fancies them. xx

  9. I love that you have a ‘water feature’ on your allotment! If I had a pond, I wonder if any frogs would make it across the concrete paving that surrounds the veg patch? I think I might just give it a go … I have an old dustbin lid somewhere. xx

  10. Do you find the pond goes really green Flighty? I’ve been eyeing up a little circular sink we brought with us and wondering about burying it as a mini water feature. The crocuses give a lovely burst of sunshine, I hope the others come up too, wonder what colour they will be!

  11. menhir1 says:

    You never know, mr F, your red and yellow crocuses may turn blue with cold nights, or, maturity. Like the new pond. It’s very flexible idea. Would it bounce up without the stone in it, or are they stepping stones for fauna? xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I do hope not as that really would confuse me! Thanks. No it’s quite rigid even without them, which are as you say are stepping stones should any wildlife need them. xx

  12. I love, love, LOVE your wildlife pond Flighty!

  13. wellywoman says:

    Loving the pond. We went for a walk last night and there were frogs everywhere. I’m hoping at least one of them will make it to my pond. I’d love to see some wildlife in it this year.

  14. nikkipolani says:

    You may have been expecting cream crocuses, but those vibrant yellow ones are certainly eye-catching. Lovely!

  15. annie_h says:

    Hi Flighty,
    Its not too bad a mixup is it, sunshine yellow to brighten up your plot. That is a good idea for a pond, might give that a try myself.

  16. Ellie says:

    Ponds are fascinating to watch – I hope a family moves into yours soon. I have never seen any frogs or tadpoles since moving to the island, but I live in hope! The crocuses are a lovely rich colour, but disappointing when you are expecting something else. Fingers crossed for the rest of them. x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie they sure are – I enjoy watching the honey bees drinking from the dustbin lid one. I haven’t seen many frogs but I’m always hopeful. Much as I like the yellow crocuses it’s as you say. Thanks, I’ll let you know what the rest are. xx

  17. Liz says:

    Surprise crocuses– I like them.

Leave a Reply

