Leap into spring…

is also the title of last Friday’s Sofa flying blog post, although I doubt if anyone will be doing it quite so dramatically as this.

The past few days have seen sunnier, and slightly warmer, weather which has been reflected in friends posts including CarrieMo and Snowbird.

The next couple of days are expected to be even better so I’m hoping to do a few must do jobs. I recently moved the washing up bowl pond and in doing so cracked the rim so I’m replacing it.  My original Michaelmas daisies, on the left in this picture, now needs digging up, separating and replanting. I’m going to move the smaller ones, just visible on the right in the same picture, as I’ve now decided that they’re in the wrong place. 

Most importantly I’m hoping to empty the compost heap and spread it over the vegetable growing areas, all of which have been forked, or hoed, over in the past couple of weeks. 

Once that’s done the plot will be just about ready for planting and sowing which I’ll be starting towards the end of the month, providing that ground conditions and the weather are okay.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Leap into spring…

  1. Sounds like a great plan Flighty. The better weather is wonderful, isn’t it. Love your cheerful banner! Think I will get some marigolds sown ready for greenhouse and raised beds.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet thanks. Yes, and thankfully I’ve been able to make the most of it. I’ll probably be changing it soon to crocuses or daffodils. That sounds like a good idea. xx

  2. Jennyta says:

    It’s so nice to have a few days of dry weather. I’d almost forgotten what it’s like!

  3. Ellie says:

    Very jealous – still dry but no sun or warmth here! I shall follow your example and empty the compost heap – that should warm me up. Thanks again for the seeds – sweet peas already sown! x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie fingers crossed that you get better weather soon. I emptied mine this morning, it’s something I’m glad that I only do once a year! You’re most welcome, and good for you. xx

  4. wellywoman says:

    Yesterday was lovely but back to grey today. looking forward to tomorrow though. Do you have any oxygenating plants in your pond? I had all sorts of problems last year with my pond getting quite stagnant. Hope you get a chance to get lots of jobs done. It looks like a wet end to the week so we should make the most of the next few days. WW x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly it was sunny here yesterday and today. No, and I don’t generally have any problems with them stagnating. Thanks, yes I’ve been busy plotting and will be again tomorrow before the weather changes. xx

  5. Jo says:

    It’s been lovely to get outside this weekend. The ground is starting to dry out a little, so jobs have been started. Let’s hope the milder weather continues for a while now.

  6. snowbird says:

    Sounds like you have a backbreaking job ahead of you Flighty, but it’s so good to get everywhere in shape and start planting. I’m amazed that it hasn’t rained for four days, I think I finally accepted the endless wet stuff! Here’s hoping we get a fantastic year….I can’t wait to see your new pond!xxxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird I emptied the compost heap this morning and was glad when I’d finished! It’s now nearly ready for planting and sowing. More rain due here later in the week! I second that! There’ll be a picture of the new pond in the next post. xx

  7. elaine says:

    Something seems to have gone wrong with my blog list as I don’t get your sofa flying posts any more – will check it out!. It has been great to get out and do a bit – and like you have been doing a bit of re-organising, still loads to do but at least it’s been a bit warmer, but the ground is still very cold so I can’t see the point of sowing anything direct until it warms up a bit.

  8. nikkipolani says:

    There’s always something to do in a garden isn’t there? That is, if the weather cooperates! Otherwise, it’s books and biscuits and tea.

  9. Glo says:

    A busy and productive time ahead, Flighty, getting ready for spring plantings. Isn’t it wonderful to see some sunshine? I’m a bit sad that the original washing up tub-pond has to be replaced as Frog Newton used to live there ~ however, perhaps this new pond will be a new location for adventures. So happy to hear your weather has enabled you to plot and plan and potter.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo yes, particularly April and May. Some sunshine really does make such a difference. The rim badly cracked when I moved it but the new one, not a washing up bowl, is better and bigger. It’s been good that I’ve been able to take full advantage of it to do just about all I wanted to do. xx

  10. menhir1 says:

    All being well the preparations will pay off. xx

  11. annie_h says:

    It was great to get a full weekend in the garden or at the plot, and has been nice monday and tuesday but back to grey skies today. We’ve got to make the most of the weather while we can!

Leave a Reply

