The Good Life

The Good LifeEarlier this week came the sad news that the well liked actor Richard Briers had died.

He is best remembered for his role as Tom Good in the TV comedy The Good Life which was shown in the mid/late 1970’s.

It has been constantly shown on TV since and it remains a timeless, and popular, classic series which also starred Felicity Kendal as his wife Barbara, along with Penelope Keith and Paul Eddington as their posh neighbours Margot and Jerry Leadbetter.

Margo’s muddy moment is just one of many memorable highlights.

I’m sure that anyone who grows their own dreams of becoming self-sufficient at times although few ever do so.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to The Good Life

  1. Jo says:

    Such sad news. I absolutely loved that programme, as you may be able to tell by the name of my blog, and still catch the odd episode even now, as you say, they’re constantly repeated on tv because it was such a fantastic programme. I’m sure this series must be responsible for many people have a go at growing their own.

  2. Yes, I was saddened at the news. I absolutely love it even still. We always watch any repeats with fondness and laughter. R.I.P. Richard.

  3. Jennyta says:

    One of my favourite series, as is anything with Richard Briers. I read recently that he and Felicity Kendall did not get on terribly well, which surprised me and is indicative of what good actors they both were.

  4. wellywoman says:

    A lovely post. I was a huge fan of Richard Briers. I’ve lost count of the times I’ve seen the Good Life but they are always funny. I loved the flirting between Tom and Margot and agree the mud scene is hilarious. I like the Christmas one too, where Margot wouldn’t wear the paper hat because it was made from The Sun. Tom swapped and gave her his, which was made from the Telegraph. A comedy that has never really dated because most of us at some point have thought that the idea of escaping from ‘real life’ and living off the land sounds like a good idea. It would be lovely if the BBC repeat some of his other programmes as a tribute. I was a big fan of Ever Decreasing Circles. It’s sad that he has passed away but moving that he is so fondly remembered and that he will still make people laugh in the years to come. WW x

  5. Mo says:

    I love watching The Good Life, there’s always something you missed from previous viewings. I loved Paul Eddington in it too and always felt a little sad watching it after he passed. What a lovely programme to be remembered for though.

  6. snowbird says:

    Oh Flighty, I LOVED watching repeats and re-runs of The Good life…..what a wonderful actor he was! xxxxx

  7. Joanne says:

    Yes it was sad news Flighty. I don’t think I have a favourite episode of The Good Life, I still watch it avidly.

  8. annie_h says:

    Great minds Flighty, I was writing a similar post for my blog, you beat me to it. Yes I loved The Good Life and felt sad hearing that Richard Briers had died. It was definitely an inspiration for me, started the urge for me to grow my own. A real classic. So many funny moments.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    I’ve never watched The Good Life, but it sounds like a lovely show. Sorry about Richard Briers. I’ve never imagined I could possibly grow enough food to support myself — I know my limitations only too well!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki that’s a shame but if you ever come across it then do watch it as I’m sure that you’d really like it. It’s a big leap to doing that, and like you not sure that I could either. xx

  10. elaine says:

    I have to agree with what everyone else has said – a great show that inspired me too.

  11. It is sad news. I loved the show and have been watching some of the reruns quite recently. I love the one where they have veg in draws in their spare bedroom…it reminds me of our bedroom (though we sleep in ours too…how romantic, sleeping amongst spuds chitting, butternut squashes, shark fin melons etc etc lol)

  12. There are some people I feel can never die. It’s impossible that they are dead. They are a fixture in life. Richard Briers was (even is) one of them. (Derek Nimmo was another.)

  13. I used to love The good Life, and Tom in his baggy green jumper. He was rather good in Shakespeare to. I enjoyed hearing Penelope Keith talk so fondly of him.

  14. menhir1 says:

    Superb daft memories. We saw Penelope Keith (Margot) a few months ago, in a play called good grief… dark-ish humour and serious too. The trouble was, I was constantly waiting for her to do a ‘Margot’ or trot out on stage like ‘To The manner Born.’ As the true trouper she is, she didn’t do either of those things.

  15. I was inspired to write one as well. Great series. Managed to do a bit in the garden this weekend but really too cold to enjoy it! Let’s hope it warms up soon.

  16. Liz says:

    I do remember Richard Briers, although I don’t recall that they have ever shown The Good Life in the US. The YouTube clip you linked to, Margo’s Muddy Moment, must have seemed reminiscent of your own muddy summer of 2012.

Leave a Reply

